Windows 10 windows 10 wifi in safe mode

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Help and Support' started by bwpbruce, Feb 28, 2016.

  1. bwpbruce

    bwpbruce New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't get wifi to work in safe mode. Is there a fix for this?
     
  2. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    366
    Are you selecting Safe Mode with Networking?
     
  3. bwpbruce

    bwpbruce New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes. I've been using Windows since XP, so I know how to use Safe Mode with networking. Do you have Windows 10? I'm looking for people who have actually had this issue of Wifi not working in Safe Mode with Networking and figured out how to fix it. If it's already working for you, then you may not know how to troubleshoot this.
     
  4. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    366
    It should work, wlansvc is listed in safemode w/networking
     
  5. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    366
    It appears the Network UX Broker service doesn't work in safe mode. This is the pop up menu that allows you to pick and connect to a wireless network. You can however connect from netsh.
    • Open an elevated command prompt
    • Type netsh
    • Type wlan
    • Type show profiles, you should see your wireless profile here for this example we'll called MyWifi
    • Then type connect name=<profilename> ssid=<ssidname> the profile name and ssid are generally going to be the same.
      • connect name=MyWifi ssid=MyWifi
    • You should now be connected
     
    bwpbruce likes this.
  6. bwpbruce

    bwpbruce New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll try this and get back to you. Thanks
     
  7. bwpbruce

    bwpbruce New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I uploaded a pic of what I tried. Says there is no wireless interface on the system, but wireless exists and works in normal mode.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    366
    Is your wireless nic available under network adapters in safe mode, or does it use a third party utility to connect with?
     
  9. bwpbruce

    bwpbruce New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a built-in wireless adapter built into the tablet, not some third party device. So it should be available, but when I go into safe mode, the adapter is not available. I'll post the state of my device manager here. Give me a minute.
     
  10. bwpbruce

    bwpbruce New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here are some of the data I gathered. I'll post the rest in another post.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. bwpbruce

    bwpbruce New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's the rest.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    366
    You may want to start by seeing if there are any driver updates for the NIC.
     
  13. bwpbruce

    bwpbruce New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    All of my drivers are up to date. I made sure of that before I even attempted to investigate this problem.
     
  14. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    366
    So in one of those pictures it shows the wireless nic is on "Intel SD host controller", if you can locate this device in Device Manager, go to properties > Driver > Driver details and list the drivers it uses. Also does the SD host controller show any error codes under Device Status on the general tab?
     
  15. bwpbruce

    bwpbruce New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    In safe mode, the SDHC shows no error codes anywhere, however, in normal mode 3 SDHCs are shown. In safe mode, only two are shown. Any ideas why?
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    366
    I don't know, but it's very possible that the missing one is the controller the wireless is using. If that is the case then that is why the driver won't initialize.
     
  17. bwpbruce

    bwpbruce New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you suggest that I do going forward.
     
  18. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    366
    Back in the XP days I believe you could add drivers to boot in safe mode by adding a key for your driver to HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\SafeBoot\Network. I do not think this works anymore. I did test it with a vmware driver and it was a no go. Ultimately if the SD HC that is not present is in fact where the nic resides you would need to figure a way to force it to load. This may not be possible and I am unable to direct you on getting that to load in safe mode. You may be SOL.
     
  19. bwpbruce

    bwpbruce New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

Loading...