Windows 7 Firewall and ICMP (ping)

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by ddecoursey, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. ddecoursey

    ddecoursey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    In XP you had to allow ICMP so you can ping a PC.....still the same in WIN7 ?
    some are claiming you can "ping right out of the box" with no settings on the firewall being "tweaked"



    let me know

    thanks
    ddecoursey@eriecountygov.org
     
  2. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    You still need to create an exception rule in Windows firewall to enable ping echo requests.
     
  3. ddecoursey

    ddecoursey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    TO BE SURE ....YOUR ANSWER IS.......JUST LIKE XP YOU CANT PING A WIN7 PC RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX..UNITL YOU "ALLOW" IT


    THANKS
     
  4. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    ICMP echo requests, used for ping command are blocked in Windows 7 firewall by default. If your talking of a pc connected directly to the internet then the pc's IP address will be the external address assigned by your ISP and it will be dependent solely on your firewall for defense. If you are connected via a router then the NAT in your router which translates messages from the external address to your private internal address protects you as internal addresses cannot be seen outside of the router. You may find though that the router itself responds to ping requests, depending on the make and model and how you have configured it.

    If you want to assess your machine state try running a full set of tests on your pc at shields up:

    GRC | Gibson Research Corporation Home Page

    For the "shields up"tests click on services and Shields UP. There's a lot of other things there worth looking at also.

    https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2
     
  5. ddecoursey

    ddecoursey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    A-Ok nope just looking to verify if ping is enalbled on the FW by default .... answer is No just like XP

    thansk to all........case closed
     

Share This Page

Loading...