Backup and restore single domain controller

Discussion in 'Windows Server Forums' started by sacredboy, Aug 18, 2016.

  1. sacredboy

    sacredboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    Today I tried to test backup/restore of single domain controller. The test was performed on virtual machine Windows Server 2012 with the following roles: AD DS, DNS, DHCP and Certificate Authority. Below are the steps I did:
    1. Created backup of System state.
    2. Deleted disk with OS and created new one.
    3. Installed Windows Server 2012.
    4. Booted in DSRM mode and restored System state.
    5. After restoration of System state booted in normal mode.

    After restoring System state AD Domains and Trusts, AD Sites and Services and AD Users and Computers tools are not started. The reason is the same "The specified domain either does not exist or could not be contacted".

    It is said that mostly it's related to the missing connection with Global Catalog, but in my case it seems to be accessible on restored domain controller.
    Code:
    C:\Users\Administrator>dsquery server -domain corp.netdoc.com.au -isgc
    "CN=SYDHODC01,CN=Servers,CN=Default-First-Site-Name,CN=Sites,CN=Configuration,DC
    =corp,DC=netdoc,DC=com,DC=au" 
    Could you, please, explain why backup of System state turned to be not enough for full restoration and if it is possible to restore domain controller properly in this situation.

    Thank you.
     
  2. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    314
    I would assume the Mac address will be different as Hyper-v gives a new one to each system by default... why did you delete the system and what software made step 1?
     
  3. sacredboy

    sacredboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Highly unlikely because I did that on the same virtual machine (btw, I did it on VMware). I deleted the disk with OS just to imitate the scenario when OS is lost completely.
     
  4. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    314
    vmware also generates Mac addresses but just replacing the hdd will not be the issue correct... when you say you made a backup of the system, are you talking about a snapshot because that will be stored with the hdd
     
  5. sacredboy

    sacredboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't take a snapshot. Just made backup of System state.
     
  6. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    360
    Was this the only DC or do you have multiple DCs and which DC roles do you have on each?
     
  7. sacredboy

    sacredboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it was the only DC as I wanted to test the scenario when the only DC fails. It has the following roles installed: AD DS, DNS, DHCP and Certificate Authority.
     

Share This Page

Loading...