cannot access router setup at 192.168.5.1

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Networking' started by weeder, Nov 25, 2015.

  1. weeder

    weeder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Since installing W10, I cannot get to my Linksys E1500 router setup page. Firefox states site not found.
    I have verified the gateway address is 192.168.5.1 and added this address to the Firefox exception list.
    I am at a lost as to why this is happening.
     
  2. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    Have you done this by pinging the address from a command prompt?
    Have you tried using other browsers?
    Have you tried both wireless and wired connections?
     
  3. weeder

    weeder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Pat,
    Thanks for the reply.
    I can ping OK to 192.168.5.1 from a PC running W10, both on a wired and wireless PC.
    I have used Foxfire and Google chrome but both give page not found.

    It seems like something is blocking access.

    I can on a Linux PC using Foxfire which is also on my home network and get to the router setup
    page successfully.

    I am at a lost to explain this problem.
     
  4. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    I assume you have no problem accessing any other web pages? What IP address is being assigned to your PC?
     
  5. weeder

    weeder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, I can access other web pages.
    The IP address of my W10 PC wireless is 72.238.27.146.
     
  6. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
    That IP is not the same as your router, going to modem/router supplied by your internet provider????

    do an ipconfig /all on this PC and post the result here
     
  7. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    This IP address is not on the network which your router is on. The IP address must start with 192.168.5. The router cannot have supplied this address using DHCP - you should turn on DHCP for your wireless adapter and the router should supply a compatible IP address.
     
  8. weeder

    weeder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Pat,

    I do not understand your last entry. My Linux PC can bring up my router set up page
    by going to 192.168.5.1.

    helpifican,

    I do not know how to snipp and paste the ipconfig window to the forum.
     
  9. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    Yes, 192.168.5.1 in the browser address bar will take you there but for this to work your router and your pc must be on the same LAN which is defined by the IP address and 72.238.27.146 is not on the same LAN as 192.168.5.1. The problem is that an IP address comprises two parts. In this case the network is defined by the 192.168.5 part and the device on the network is defined by the last number which must be in the range 1 - 126. This requires your pc to have an address in the form 192.168.5.* where * equals a number 1 - 126 which is not already in use by any other device on the network. If you set your pc to have an ip address assigned automatically your router should supply such an address. Alternatively, if you set the address of your network adapter manually in compliance with these rules that also should work.
     
    #9 patcooke, Nov 28, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2015
  10. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
    What Pat said your PC MUST have an IP in the same range either manually or by DHCP than it will work. Post the IP of your Linux PC a it should be in in the same range as you router.
    Right now based on you IP address you are not connected to the router, but some other device.
     
  11. weeder

    weeder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have found why I cannot get to 192.168.5.1 but I do not know how to fix
    the certificate problem.

    My Linksys router E1500 is setup as https only and there is a problem between W10
    and Cisco as to a certificate. A google search (Linksys, router, https) shows other
    people are having the same issue. Either Cisco or Microsoft need to fix this.

    I added to the router setup http and rebooted the router and now I can bring up the router
    configurator from my W10 wireless PC.
     
  12. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,541
    Likes Received:
    318
    Cisco likes to have a wired network for security (by default) because they assume business usage/ needs and doesn't like letting wifi access to the router... this is by design and not a Windows 10 issue.
     
  13. weeder

    weeder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    ussnorway,

    I had the same problem on a W10 PC that is cabled to my router.
    Sorry, I do not agree with you and other users have the same issue.
    Do a google search. linksys router https
     
  14. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,541
    Likes Received:
    318
    The old https cert system used has been turned off by Microsoft as part of the 2003 end of service... ref Microsoft page = https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/kb/2643584

    The issue is not a Windows 10 problem and Cisco may or may not spend the time to put out a firmware update that meets the curent standards but thats not really the point... If you still need some help I'd suggest you try setting a static 192 address eg 192.168.5.200 using a firefox browser instead if iexplorer still can't get past on the certificate then firefox should allow you to make an temp exception.
     
    #14 ussnorway, Nov 29, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2015
  15. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    366
    It's a Linksys problem. I have a Linksys router with the same issue; an expired cert. If you can get to the configuration on a Linux box, enable http access. You don't really need https on in a home setting.
     
  16. Kash

    Kash New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Certificate and everything else will come later. To put this into terms you may Understand...
    72.238.27.146 is your Public Address, and the 192.168.x.xx is your internal address. one cannot talk to the other unless you make a routing table modification, which is out of the scope of this forum.
    Forget about everything else, make sure your W10 machine is set to DHCP, that you can see the Network, and have the correct security key.
    From what you have written, I dont even think you are on a wifi network, coz that IP address is not private.
    K
     

Share This Page

Loading...