Can't open minimized windows on taskbar

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Danny1, Aug 5, 2013.

  1. Danny1

    Danny1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    Whenever I hover over an open application to open one of it's windows that minimized, the preview flickers and I can't reopen it. I can get to those windows by choosing Cascade Windows or one of those other options but I can't open them when I click on the application. Any ideas?
     
  2. BIGBEARJEDI

    BIGBEARJEDI Honorable Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,778
    Likes Received:
    214
    Hi Danny:
    Does this also happen in Safe Mode with Networking (or just Safe Mode if you can't get SM with Networking to work)??

    BIGBEARJEDI
     
  3. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    I've ran to the fact that it could be something as simple as to defrag the disk. Not sure, but not the biggest task to perform.
     
  4. Danny1

    Danny1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    I tried Last Known Good Configuration and the same thing happens.
     
  5. Meleotta3

    Meleotta3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try safe mode.
     
  6. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    I repeat: Do a defrag.

    Run antivirus in safe mode, and an anti spyware too, perhaps Malwarebytes, http://www.malwarebytes.org/

    Question: Can you remember when this started?

    I've recently noticed that more and more problems happen because unwanted programs get installed as attachments to programs one downloads and installs, and they are not necessarily noticed by security programs - I had four of them myself, causing pop-ups, not noted by security, but they had to be uninstalled. You might do a service to yourself by checking if you have some "unknown" installations, lately. Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Programs and Features, click the "Installed on" so that you get the latest installation first.

    Hope you get it working.
     

Share This Page

Loading...