Windows 7 Crysis and Grand Theft Auto 4... No Go

Discussion in 'Windows Games' started by mightymilk, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. SLiM PiCKiNS

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    for the record, i've got it working perfectly now, installed from the disc and whatnot, then updated to 1.0.2 and everything works perfectly, aside from random (but rare) crashes which i can't really attribute to anthing just yet.
     
  2. haddonfield04

    haddonfield04 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem with GTA 4

    I just installed Windows 7 and it says GTA 4 incombatiable. Any reason for this? Anything I can do Thanks?
    My system specs are:

    Nvidia 8600GT
    4 GB Memory
    Core 2 Duo 2.8
    750 GB Sata Hard drive
     
  3. MikeEx

    MikeEx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    For me on 7077 x64, Crysis 32bit worked perfectly as is, 64bit exe had to be set to vista sp1 compatibility to work.
     
  4. haddonfield04

    haddonfield04 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gta 4

    Yes, I understand. But with all due respect, I'm referring to GTA 4. Not Crysis. This is driving
    me nuts. All because of an operating system, I can't install my sound card and my game. So
    I'm forced to revert back to XP. I'm trying to find a reason not to revert back. If anyone has
    any solutions to the GTA 4 incompatiable issue, I'm all ears.
     
  5. MikeEx

    MikeEx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try windows 2000 compatibility on GTAIV.exe. I just browsed a few forums and that was a frequent suggestion with success.
    Sorry but I don't have the game to confirm.

    What is your soundcard?
     
    #45 MikeEx, Apr 12, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2009
  6. haddonfield04

    haddonfield04 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    sound card

    The soundcard is an X-Fi extreme gamer card, by Creative. Very good card for its time.
     
  7. MikeEx

    MikeEx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    #47 MikeEx, Apr 12, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2009
  8. haddonfield04

    haddonfield04 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I finally got sound now. Thanks a lot for the help. What a pain. Windows 7 takes a lot of updated
    drivers to run everything, but its a great improvement over XP. The only other issue I'm having is how to
    make the icons smaller and how to create a quick launch menu. The icons are so big, its actually annoying.
     
  9. MikeEx

    MikeEx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. brandonM3

    brandonM3 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    had probs with Crysis Warhead - no probs with GTA 4

    Crysis kept locking up on me while it would load new levels. Really irritating.. uninstalled it and haven't tried to put it back on yet. - GTA4 worked fine once I ran the setup with XP settings -
     
  11. EntryTeam

    EntryTeam New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got exact same problem with Crysis and UT3 ! It's freaking me out! Tryed compatibility mode... It doesn't work.
    Config:
    Windows7 RC 7100 x64, nvidia driver 190.38, Comodo internet security antivirus.
    I think that antivirus is messing all up - I have played UT3 succefully while I had avast! antivir installed. The problem is that I hate avast! and it's not really 64-bit app.
     
  12. haddonfield04

    haddonfield04 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gta 4

    GTA 4 doesn't work with Windows 7. You need to revert back to or install XP, service pack 3.
    I wish it worked on Win 7. If anyone finds a new solution to that, please let me know.
    Perhaps the creators of GTA know something by now. If not, I know they're working on GTA 5,
    and that should be compatiable with Windows 7.
     
  13. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    What build are you using? I have had no problems with my beloved GTAIV in 7 since 7100. Do you get a problem with the install or when you try to run it?
     
  14. haddonfield04

    haddonfield04 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, I had no problem installing GTA 4 on 7. The screen just goes black. If I remember
    correctly, I think I looked it up and it said not compatiable with 7. This was a few months
    ago. I even tried the compatiablility settings. Do you set it under a set operating system,
    such as 2000 or win 98 or something else? I currently am using it with XP service pack 3.
    But don't get me wrong. I'd like to go back to Windows 7 eventually. This is the only
    reason I went back to XP. I actually liked 7's graphics. It seems to have Mac graphics and
    better organization, unlike XP. While I'm on the subject, what do you prefer about it?

    Devin
     
  15. Alder

    Alder New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have Win7 build 7600 and I have installed and playing Gta IV, Crysis and Crysis Warhead without problems AND without compatibility. So I just installed them, cracked `em, and it work fine.
     
  16. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    My GTA4 works perfectly fine, so it must be down to drivers you have installed, I havent even added any compatiblity to the launchers...everything was straight install of the dvd, updated and good to go. The only thing I have installed in regards to protection check was the officially leaked (for a half day then removed off the server) no-dvd launcher (still need your real key etc for the GFWL online play) that was actually posted by the securom website...guessing one of the staff there got fired the same day...lol.

    As for Crysis, Warhead and Crysis wars....no issues them straight out the box ether, once updated and setup firewalll properly for punkbuster.
     
    #56 Highwayman, Sep 4, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2009
  17. JohnJ

    JohnJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only problem I have had with GTA:IV is downloading through Steam. It would take days to download because the download kept restarting (I'm still not sure why it did that). Anyways, I am running Windows 7 64-bit.
     
  18. Alder

    Alder New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    is it true that X82(32b) is better for games than x64, because X64 had issues with games(like crashes and others...):confused:
     
  19. JohnJ

    JohnJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't really had any problems with games. They tend to run fine for me.
     
  20. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    thats misinformation from the luddites who want to keep people using 15 year old pcs
     

Share This Page

Loading...