Windows 10 Error 0x80070002 and 0x80080005: Windows Update doesn't work and its service can be started

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Help and Support' started by Deses, Jan 16, 2016.

  1. Deses

    Deses New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi chaps!
    For the last several months I've been unable to update my Windows 10 installation and use App Store, and I'm not sure if it's related but the only App I have installed (Readiy) doesn't start.The error code given by Windows Update is 0x80080005, and when I try to manually start the Windows Update service the error code is 0x80080002.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]So far I tried to run sfc /scannow and DISM /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth and no problems were shown nor fixed... I'm not able to upload nor link to the sfc cbs log. Yay!
     
    #1 Deses, Jan 16, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2016
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Deses likes this.
  3. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    363
    Almost sounds like your Windows Update service is missing. Errors that end in 0002 and 0005 see below.
    ERROR_FILE_NOT_FOUND
    2 (0x2)
    The system cannot find the file specified.
    ERROR_ACCESS_DENIED
    5 (0x5)
    Access is denied.
     
    Deses likes this.
  4. Deses

    Deses New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I tried that, but it said that everything was fine and dandy...

    Yup, looks like there are missing files. How are they gone? I have no idea. I remember using some random tool to get rid of default non-uninstallable Win10 apps (like OneNote, Health and whatnot) but I find unlikely that it delete the Windows Update Service.

    Anyway, how could I reinstall it... without reinstalling Windows if at all possible? I have a Windows 10 VM, I could copy the files from there.
     
  5. Deses

    Deses New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    363
    I don't think there is a way to re-install Windows Update.
    You may one to try sfc /scannow if it prompts you for installation media then it may fix the issue. Otherwise I would say you are going to need to do a soft Windows install.
     
    Deses and kemical like this.
  7. Deses

    Deses New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sadly I already tried that command and it did nothing useful. :(

    In English, that would mean that nothing is corrupt and Windows is OK.

    You break my heart. :(

    What are the implications of a soft install? I understand it leaves the programs and my files, but does it reset the registry, effectively breaking almost all the programs installed? (Thank goodness I mostly use portable programs nowadays.)
    Is it ok to "soft-install" an ISO with build 10586 if I have currently installed the build 10240?

    Thanks for the assistance!!
     
  8. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    363
    You may also want to try
    Code:
    DISM /Online /Cleanup-image /RestoreHealth /Source:pathto_install.wim
    The install.wim or install.esd file should be on the Windows install media under sources. There is an option in the re-install to keep data and applications, it should not affect your data or programs. I'm not sure if it maintains the registry or not. I believe it would if your applications are intact.
     
    Deses likes this.
  9. Deses

    Deses New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    That command sounds excellent, I'll give it a go this Friday after I clone my C: drive to have a backup... better safe than sorry!
     
  10. Deses

    Deses New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, clonezilla image done and iso unzipped... gonna try that command with the "install.esd" file as I don't have an "install.wim". Wish me luck!

    Edit: I ran H:\> ISM /Online /Cleanup-image /RestoreHealth /Source:install.esd and it didn't work, it took a while but I'm still having the issue.
     
  11. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    363
    I also ran into that with the .esd file my thoughts on it are that either you need to have the correct esd / iso file for your current build or you can install NTLite and try converting the esd to a wim
     
    Deses likes this.
  12. Deses

    Deses New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Welp, I ended up reinstalling Win10 on top Win10 maintaining all the files and Windows Update works again... No amount of DISM or managed to work. :( I hope nothing broke!

    Neemobeer, I tried converting the esd to wim and using the ISO from my current build instead of the newer ISO and it also did nothing. Anyway, I want to thank you for taking the time to try to help me, you are awesome. :D

    I hope that whoever comes here in look for help fares better than me.
     
  13. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    363
    No problem. I also tried getting the current ISO for my install and doing the same thing because IE is broken. I probably won't reinstall because I never use IE anyways.
     

Share This Page

Loading...