Googlebar not working in IE 11

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by nichosi, Mar 24, 2015.

  1. nichosi

    nichosi Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Google bar in IE 11 (w8.1) is enabled but does not show up, instead I get an X on left hand side.

    Anybody knows how to get it to work?

    __________________
    Asus P5K Premium WiFiiFi, Intel Core 2 Quad Pro 2.4GHz, OCZ Cpu Cooler, 2x2GB, DDR2 800 PC2-6400, GeForce 9800 GTX (PCI-E), sata 160gb, OCZ 600W Psu, XP/Win8.1
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Hi Nichosi,
    have you looked under the settings tab for 'manage add-ons'? You should see Toolbars at the top and any related apps which hopefully should just need enabling.
    I feel I must also warn you though that app such as Toolbars do make your system more open to attack as these are sometimes used as a way into the system. Please make sure your running decent anti-virus apps.
     
  3. nichosi

    nichosi Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Went there disabled everything & nothing happened, still the same.
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Did you see the actual Google Toolbar listed? If so was it enabled?
     
  5. nichosi

    nichosi Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes was enabled.

    With w8.1 what will happen if I use my w8 dvd will it repair my system?
     
    #5 nichosi, Mar 24, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2015
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    It will also return your install back to 8 instead of 8.1. Have you tried re-installing the Google Tool bar? Got to Programs via the control panel and remove the Toolbar then simply re-install.
     
  7. nichosi

    nichosi Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanx,

    1. I did that with g.bar several times already with no use. I'll try repair.

    2. Now with win8, from what you said if I use the w8 dvd it will get rid of 8.1 & revert to w8? it sounds simple.

    I read that once 8.1 is in you cannot uninstall it.

    This 8.1 was forced upon us without knowing it was upgrading.

    I inserted the DVD in the w8.1 laptop, it asked for the ID nos. I made sure twice I typed them correctly, took ages to check them & then said are not the correct ones.

    Did the same on my PC, typed same ID, it was accepted & proceeded to install but, I was not sure if the "Repair" would come up so aborted the install.

    If it did not asked to repair & went installing w8 would I loose all I had on the system? ....nick
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
  9. nichosi

    nichosi Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanx

    The Enhanced Protected Mode was already Turned OFF (UNTICKED), further more I turned it ON & then OFF again with no result.
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Hi Nichosi,
    try running this app:
    https://www.malwarebytes.org/

    Find command prompt right click on it and run as admin. Type:
    sfc /scannow
    Press enter and await results.

    Another thing you could try... If you can remember a time when the tool bar worked then you could go back to that time using System restore if you have the restore points in place.
     

Share This Page

Loading...