How can I get Windows to stop "checking for a solution"?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by trog69, Dec 13, 2013.

  1. trog69

    trog69 Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    5
    As a gamer that has mods installed in many of my games, I'm well aware that sometimes things won't mesh properly, and the game will crash to desktop(ctd). My question is, how can I get around the Windows checking for a solution, which usually forces me to have to Ctrl/Alt/Del again to get it to stop.

    Is there some way for me to tell Windows NOT to check for solutions? This is certainly not a huge issue, but I just purchased a 1440p monitor, and I'm running into a couple of instances where my resolution upscaling workarounds will of course cause some minor hiccups. I'd love to be able to return to the game faster.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    125
    Control Panel, System & Security, Action Center, Change Action Center Settings, Problem Reporting Settings, Never check for solutions (not recommended)
     
  3. trog69

    trog69 Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thank you so much.

    EDIT: I've wondered about the viability of "solution checking", since it only seemed to find one or two solutions to issues, and that was many years ago. I haven't seen it provide an answer in a looong time.
     
  4. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    125
    Considering you may want every oz of resources you can get for gaming you may want to disable the "Windows Error Reporting Service" as well.
     
  5. trog69

    trog69 Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    5
    That's a great idea! I have a GTX 680 4gb FTW card running the show right now, so I've plenty of firepower, but I am pushing the card to the limit with Crysis 2's DX11 and the eye-candy at full blast. heh. Thanks again!
     

Share This Page

Loading...