How do I install something on Windows 8?

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by gigman7, May 27, 2015.

  1. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Yes..... well, that is not new or unique to Windows 8.1.
    That's pretty much been the default install locations for software for a while now.
     
  2. strollin

    strollin Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    36
    It puts it in the exact same place that it put it in previous Windows versions, "Program Files". The only "twist" is that on a 64-bit system, it puts 32-bit programs in "Program Files (x86)". It has been this way since Win XP 64-bit came out.

    There really isn't a huge difference between Win 7 and Win 8 other than the optional Start screen and the absence of the Start menu. If lack of a Start menu is a major obstacle for you, install Classic Shell as suggested by bassfisher6522 above.
     
  3. gigman7

    gigman7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    I realize that. But the thing about Windows over DOS is that it is easier to get to. If I have to get to it that way, I may as well be using DOS.
     
  4. gigman7

    gigman7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    All I want to know is how the hell to get to it. There's no point in hiding it.
     
  5. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Not sure what you mean by "get to".
    If you mean "using it" then the short cuts to the programs are on your start screen / all apps list. The down arrow on the bottom left of your start screen.
     
  6. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
  7. strollin

    strollin Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    36
    More than likely, the programs you installed also put an icon on your desktop so you can access it that way just as in previous versions of Windows. Nothing is hidden.

    I encourage you to learn to use the search function. Search for the program you are looking for such as Excel or Word. In the list of results, click on the one you searched for to invoke it or you could right-click on the program you searched for and select "Pin to Taskbar" to put an icon for it on the Taskbar.

    What version of Windows was on your older computer?
     
  8. gigman7

    gigman7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    You would think Word would be under W. Or maybe O for Office Word.
     
  9. gigman7

    gigman7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    #49 gigman7, May 28, 2015
    Last edited: May 28, 2015
  10. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Software Suites are generally in the All Apps Menu as a Group.
    The Group in this case is generally called Microsoft Office and can usually be found by scrolling to the right in the all apps menu screen and there you should see Word.
    There's a learning curve..... what can I say.
    Use the right click context menu and the "pin to" option or the go to file location option and from there right click again and you can "pin to taskbar", "pin to start", or "Send To" / Desktop (create shortcut).
    It all works just takes time. After a while it'll be second nature and then when you switch to Windows 10, you'll be wanting the Windows 8.1 Start Screen back.
     
  11. gigman7

    gigman7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, like anything else. But Windows has been known for making things user friendly. I've been using linux at home and an old Windows at work. I only logged into Windows at home to use something like Photoshop. Windows took lessons from Mac and made it better. Now they need to take lessons from Linux and combine the two.
     
  12. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    I'll leave you to opine over the whole Windows vs. Mac vs. Linux debate, as I really couldn't care less.
    This is a Windows Forum and we try to provide courteous remarks and help, when possible regarding specific Windows issues.
    I'll leave the Macs to people who have more money then me and the Linux Distros to people who are smarter than me.... or think they are.
     
    Caz and gigman7 like this.
  13. gigman7

    gigman7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ubuntu Linux isn't much different than something like Windows Vista. It is simple and straight forward. it is hard to make it crash and no known virus problems. You really don't have to be any smarter but there is a small learning curve. There are even ways to make Windows programs run on it.
     
  14. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    315
    Wow!

    It's the same place as before mate but as Trouble pointed out, it's only a default path that can be reset to somewhere else.
     
  15. gigman7

    gigman7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, that same place doesn't exist.
     
  16. gigman7

    gigman7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow! After about 20 times of trying, I got Photoshop to install.
     

Share This Page

Loading...