Login Screen = Black Screen

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Newb4Life, Jun 8, 2010.

  1. Newb4Life

    Newb4Life New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,

    I am new to these forums and I have a bit of a problem:

    My Windows 7 system will not load the login screen. It shows the "Windows is Loading" screen and then goes black with the cursor being the only thing visible.

    Please help me out. I am using my Linux system right now and it would be frustrating to have to reinstall everything again, IF I can even manage to get disks.


    I have tried the recover console which claimed to of found errors but apparently we're the right ones.

    I have tried ctrl alt del

    I'm hoping for a boot disk image or something that will fix this.


    PS: I used Tweak 7 to change the login background a couple of weeks ago but never gave me problems.

    This error began after I logged out of my gaming account to log into my normal account (but have different startup schemes) and never got that far.
     
    #1 Newb4Life, Jun 8, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2010
  2. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    Welcome to the forums :)
    What happened when you pressed Ctrl-Alt-Del? Were you presented with the Task Manager?
     
  3. Newb4Life

    Newb4Life New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Nope

    Thanks! :eek:


    Taskman Didn't start up at all.

    When the screen does show up: After about 3 seconds the cursor changes into the busy symbol for about 1 second. Not that that really helps any but it was a little interesting.
     
  4. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    Have you tried booting in safe mode?
    Press F8 after the BIOS screen in displayed and select "Safe Mode with Networking" followed by pressing enter.

    If that works, once logged in open command prompt and type in "Sfc /scannow"
    This will scan for integrity violations and other file system problems and automatically fix them.
     
  5. Newb4Life

    Newb4Life New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sry

    Sorry I didn't mention it before but, yeah I tried safemode as well. No luck.
     
  6. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42
    do a repair install from CD and it should be fixed that way
     
  7. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    To add to Agent Data's post, try the "start-up repair" mode of the repair disc.. though not sure if that will work since the problem is technically occurring after the boot process.
     
  8. RAK

    RAK Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    126
    Get into the bios (F8 on initial boot). If your bios has such an option, change to VGA mode. If you can then boot up into the Desktop, change the resolution to the recommended highest and try a reboot. It is possible the game changed your resolution.
     
  9. Newb4Life

    Newb4Life New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Bios

    The only option that Bios had was LCD System only, or Auto Select.

    I set it to LCD Sytem only and it did not work.

    I now have it back to Auto Select.

    ALSO: The laptop did not come with any disks. : /
     
  10. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,051
    Likes Received:
    302
    For what it's worth I have had this a few times.

    I ran the start up repair option and it sat for a while and then said that it couldn't fix the problem.
    I then booted normally and it loaded right up.

    This happened every time in spite of the fact that it always said it couldn't fix the problem .

    Mike
     
  11. Newb4Life

    Newb4Life New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Tried it

    Eh,

    Thanks for the help but I tried that too. It said it found the problems and 'fixed' them but it didn't work.
     
  12. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,051
    Likes Received:
    302
    You may have to run a repair install, that shouldn't take more then 30 minutes, 20 on my computer and you should not have to reinstall any of your other software, but it should correct the boot problem.

    I'm not sure of the exact terminology but if you put in your Widows DVD it should ask you what you want to do and say something like repair install as opposed to custom install which will delete everything.
     
  13. Newb4Life

    Newb4Life New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thats the thing

    Thats the thing: This laptop did not come with any disks.

    I've been scouring the internet for a disc image so I can make one myself.

    The best I found was this: Download Windows 7 System Recovery Discs — The NeoSmart Files

    I am hoping it will work.

    I am also trying a program called "Paragon rescue kit" before I try the Win 7 repair disk image, reason being: I burned it before I found that image.

    Wish me luck!
     
  14. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,051
    Likes Received:
    302
    Good Luck

    I did find a link to .iso files for various versions of Windows 7 by searching on Google.
    I searched for "Download Windows 7 ISO". I won't post the link here since I'm not sure that it is legit. These are supposed to be links to download sites of retailers who sell Windows 7 online.

    I would assume that as long as you have a valid serial number you have the right to install one of these but whether it will be recognized by Microsoft or not, I don't know.

    It really bugs me that manufacturers don't supply Window install disks when you buy a new computer, I suppose that they have to pay Microsoft more if they do, otherwise what's the cost of a DVD.

    Mike
     
  15. boatsterboy

    boatsterboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine does that also

    Perhaps it is just taking a very long time to load Windows. When I start my machine I get the windows logo rather fast, then the screen goes black for 1 min. and 35 seconds. EVERY TIME! , then the logon screen comes on and all is fine. I've tried a few things to fix this but my knowledge is limited. One thing I do know, Windows 7 is pretty much an expensive mistake for me. Pat
     
  16. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42
    depending on the underlying hardware the boot process can be longish - for my part it takes 35 seconds to log-on screen.
     
  17. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,051
    Likes Received:
    302
    I get push the button to desktop showing in about a minute.
    There is some loading continuing after the desktop shows but it's much faster then XP was for me.
     
  18. Newb4Life

    Newb4Life New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks

    I ended up burning the Win recovery disk and used system restore to go back a few days and it worked.

    Looks like my next step is going to be using Toshiba's recovery disk utility to make one for future use.

    Thanks again for the help. ;)
     
  19. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42
    Great you got it sorted


    ..and, yes, 7-repair from CD is very powerful! Always worth to give it a try.
     
  20. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    And in the event you don't have the recovery disk and can't make one, this might save you:
    Download Windows 7 System Recovery Discs — The NeoSmart Files
    Can't even explain how greatful I am for that blog post. :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...