Problem with the memory indexing in windows 7.

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by NAVEEN RAJ, Jan 5, 2014.

  1. NAVEEN RAJ

    NAVEEN RAJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    In my system, the size of each and every file and folder displaying the memory occupied in an odd way. here is a screen shot of my problem. please help me how to rectify it. Capture.JPG
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Your drive is too full. Lose or move some data to either a different drive or DVD's. Ideally you should leave around 25% of your drive free for it and the os to work effectively.
     
  3. NAVEEN RAJ

    NAVEEN RAJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your solution did not solve my problem. I never experienced this kind of problem in other systems in our office. Even after moving the data, still the problem persisting. Please give an effective solution. Thanks in advance.
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Have you checked for malware? Try running this application for getting rid of nasties:
    http://www.malwarebytes.org/

    Please also realise we are all volunteers at the forums and without actually having the system sat in front of you it can sometimes take a few posts to get to the bottom of the problem.
     
  5. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Since I have very little experience with international notations, is there any chance the (/) being used instead of a (.) is due to a language pack? I know some international representations use a , for the decimal. I have also seen where there are some areas they may use a slash mark.

    If that isn't it, you might check your character map to see if the full stop character shows correctly.

    Do you run any software that might modify your fonts?
     
  6. NAVEEN RAJ

    NAVEEN RAJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Saltgrass, I think i have not installed anything that changes the fonts, even then I checked once...everything is absolutely fine, except the memory indexing. Even if we consider (/) as a (.) the resultant is totally ambiguous(which means, the idea of (/) as (.) did not work for other folders).

    Hey kemical, I have installed the malwarebytes software you have shown and found two malwares in my system. Even after removing those two malwares, I did not notice any difference. So, please show me any other solution...
     

Share This Page

Loading...