Remove windows 8 64 bit computer password?

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by pasadenapete, Jul 19, 2013.

  1. pasadenapete

    pasadenapete Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 2 machines both win8 64 bit. I need to remove the main computer password on one and install one on the other. Please help me. Thanks
     
  2. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,053
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    If you know the current Win 8 login password, it's very easy for you to remove the password.

    Click on Start and then Control Panel.

    Click on the User Accounts and Family Safety link.

    Click on the User Accounts link.

    Click on Make Changes to my Account in PC Settings.

    Click on Create a Password.

    Now I'm guessing a bit, because I don't have a password and can't see what you will, but I believe that you will see a option to remove an existing password by typing in your existing password and clicking remove, at this point.

    Hope this helps.

    Mike

    PS, I found this video...

    How to remove Windows 8 password on startup - YouTube
     
  3. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    It would likely help everyone if you could tell us exactly what you mean when you refer to "main computer password".
    Generally speaking we might associate this term as being used with your primary user account on a particular machine but it could also mean something you've done within the system BIOS to configure boot time security or perhaps the computer account with respect to a member of an active directory domain or even some third party software that you might be using.
    So a clarification might be called for.

    Additionally if you are using a Microsoft Account ID to authenticate then that password information is locked to that account usually your hotmail.com or outlook.com username and password and will need to be addressed through the account settings and not actually locally on your computer.

    In any case I would recommend you create a second administrators group account or activate the default administrator's account before you find yourself locked out of your computer. Better safe than sorry.
     
  4. Andrea Borman

    Andrea Borman Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    7
    I never have a password on any of my computers and I don't have one on Windows 8 either. If you don't have a Microsoft account you can have an ordinary Administrator account. The same as you do on Windows 7 and other versions of Windows where you don't have to have a password if you don't want one. Makes life much easier,then you don't have to worry about being locked out of your own computer!
     
  5. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,053
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    I use a regular account too, the more independent of Microsoft I can stay the better.

    I hate how everything from Windows and your browser to your software and games want you to log into an account to access anything.

    I try not to log in to Google, or Microsoft if I can avoid it.

    With games it's Steam now, you can hardly run anything without logging into Steam.

    I can't even open my Adobe software without them wanting me to communicate with them, and upload data.

    A lot of stuff won't even run without an internet connection anymore.

    Mike
     
  6. Andrea Borman

    Andrea Borman Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    7
    If you are the administrator of your computer and have an administrator account you don't need a password. Not on any versions of Windows. It's the same on Windows 8 and even other user accounts don't have to have passwords. If you are signing in with a Microsoft account, it's different, then you do. But just use an ordinary Windows account.
     
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    This is fine if your an advanced user and are used to dealing with settings like these. I wouldn't personally recommend this way of using windows to the average user not only that but you also lose some functionality using windows 8.
     
  8. Andrea Borman

    Andrea Borman Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    7
    Well there is another administrator account on Windows that is hidden. Unless you enable it with a command prompt. I am not talking about that which in fact the real admin account. I am on the normal administrator account not the hidden one.
     
  9. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    I think you are talking about a password that you use for signing in. As for the administrator account that is a separate password. I don't have an admin password but I do use my Microsoft account to sign in with. I have bypassed that. For the admin password I can just go to my bios and set one up there if I wanted. Not sure if all bios' is set up that way.


    Capture.PNG
     
  10. Andrea Borman

    Andrea Borman Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    7
  11. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,053
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    Yeah, I have a password on my Microsoft Administrator account, but not on the one I log in with.
    I just don't use the Microsoft account, unless I have to for some specific reason.

    Mike
     
  12. Andrea Borman

    Andrea Borman Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have a Hotmail account which I used to sign into Windows Live Messenger with before they retired it. Now Hotmail has been replaced with Outlook Mail which is very confusing to use. I mean the web mail Hotmail which is now called Outlook. Absolutely horrible. I won't use that to connect to my Windows PC.
     
  13. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    My old Hotmail account is what I use. Outside of that I don't use it for anything other than that.
     
  14. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,053
    Likes Received:
    303
    I use my Comcast email account, which I have had for years, and I access it using Mozilla Firefox.
    I used Live Mail for a long time but had problems with it and switched to Firefox about a year ago.
     

Share This Page

Loading...