Insider Preview Right clicking on any drive in Windows Explorer minimizes.

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Help and Support' started by MikeHawthorne, Apr 3, 2015.

  1. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,045
    Likes Received:
    300
    Hi

    This is a weird one, I'm pretty sure it wasn't doing in the morning.
    If I right click on the root of any drive it minimizes Windows Explorer.

    It doesn't crash, just minimizes to the task bar.

    That stops me from looking at properties etc.

    I can right click on any other folder or file just not the root of the drive.

    I'm not that worried about getting it fixed, I'll be updating to the next version in a few days anyway, but if anyone knows what's happening, and how to fix it, I'll give it a try.

    Mike
     
  2. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    125
    I'd be interested in seeing what's happening to Explorer using Process Monitor at the time of the right click.
     
  3. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,045
    Likes Received:
    300
    Hi

    Well I have Process Monitor on my computer but I don't have a clue how to get to the pertinent information.

    After a few minutes running it's showing over 800,000 events and I don't know how to separate out what Windows Explorer is doing.

    It adds stuff so fast you can't keep up with it.

    This appears to be the time when I opened it, right clicked on the hard drive and it closed.
    And I was wrong, it doesn't minimize it, it closes it.

    [​IMG]

    Mike
     
    #3 MikeHawthorne, Apr 3, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2015
  4. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    125
    Right click an entry by Explorer.exe and choose the "Include Explorer.exe" option. This will limit it to explorer.exe only. CTRL+E turns capturing on and off.
     
  5. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,045
    Likes Received:
    300
    Hi

    OK, I did that.

    What I did was open Process Monitor, tell it to monitor only Explorer.exe, stop it, clear the list, and then open Windows Explorer and select the C:\ drive.

    Then I started Process Monitor, right clicked on the C:\ drive in Explorer, and as soon as Explorer closed I stopped Process Monitor.

    I can't believe that in .08 seconds it recorded 21,253 events.

    I saved it as Logfile.PML to my desktop.

    I tried opening the file in both Note Pad and Word Pad but neither will display it in a readable format.
    It only opens in Process Monitor.

    I don't know how I can attach a file to this forum that isn't a video or image.

    Mike
     
  6. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    125
    The Upload a file button doesn't work? I would zip it first. It's meant to be open by Process Monitor :)
     
  7. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,045
    Likes Received:
    300
    Hi

    Never noticed the Upload File Button, I was looking on the bar at the top of the message. LOL

    Here it is.

    Mike

    PS. I decided to go ahead and install version 10049 and it's in progress right now, so I'm assuming that this issue won't exist after the install.

    But it you want to look at it, I'd be interested in what you see, but don't spend time on it if you don't want to.
     

    Attached Files:

    #7 MikeHawthorne, Apr 4, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2015
  8. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    125
    Ah yeah let's see if 10049 fixes your issue before troubleshooting, it is beta after all. That log still has a ton of captures, really have to narrow it down to the right click and a few hundred events for it to be useful.
     
  9. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Is it possible that you might have installed something recently that has added an extension to the right click menu that may not be compatible?
     
  10. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    125
    That's exactly what I was thinking, and Process Monitor should show what's going on, however since the program minimizes and does not crash, it may not show anything.
     
  11. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,045
    Likes Received:
    300
    Hi

    Well it's not a problem now, I have installed version 10049 installed and the problem has disappeared.
    As far as I know I did't install anything related to the right click drop down, but I don't know for sure.

    I did figure out that it wasn't minimizing exactly, the icon didn't have the little bar under it, but when I'd click on it, it would reopen where I left off.

    Anyway now it's hang on until version 10051 I guess.

    Mike
     
  12. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,045
    Likes Received:
    300
    Hi

    Well the problem returned after installing version 10049.
    I decided that you were probably right about it being something on the menu that was causing it.

    After a little research I found a program called ShellExView.
    It shows all the options on the right click drop-down menu and highlights the ones that are not put there by Windows.

    http://download.cnet.com/ShellExView/3000-2094_4-145729.html

    It also lets you disable and enable them.

    I went through and disabled all the non Windows ones and the problem went away.

    Tomorrow I'll start turning them back on, one at a time until I find what causes the problem.
    I was surprised at how many programs add things to it.

    Mike
     
    #12 MikeHawthorne, Apr 7, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2015

Share This Page

Loading...