Win 10 Pro GA-Z87X-D3H 32 GB RAM random BSOD

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by mtrakal, Jun 25, 2016.

  1. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    81
    Personally, I'd ditch the Crucial ram and go with G-Skill ram.
     
  2. William B

    William B Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    34
    Gskill is overall better IMO. Crucial is great but they really stick to Inte/AMD chipset*processor limitations. What that means is that you will many times have a hard time going over spec. In this case with all 4 banks populated that crucial ram is probably limited to 1333 @ 4 banks and 1600 mhz would take some finagling. I have been there more than a few times.
     
  3. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Hi,
    Remember me ..... :) ? As you have now re-installed make sure you update these drivers:
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck A, {ffffd000dd4a2f6b, 2, 1, fffff800a0b6618f}
    
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for win32k.sys
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for win32k.sys
    Probably caused by : memory_corruption
    
    Followup: memory_corruption
    Hi,
    looking over the dump files you have bugchecks which point to driver issues as well as bugchecks which point to hardware. You have a number of drivers which are old and possible culprits.

    iaStorV Intel RAID Controller Kernel 11.04.2011: This relates to your storage driver and in fact the first dump file I looked at mentioned storage in the stack text so it needs updating. Use the version off your motherboard support page:
    GIGABYTE - Motherboard - Socket 1150 - GA-Z87X-D3H (rev. 1.x)

    gdrv gdrv Kernel 13.03.2009: Gigabyte Easy Saver - mobo power utility driver. Please remove.

    ssadbus SAMSUNG Android USB Co Kernel 12.05.2011: Samsung Android USB Composite Device driver please update:
    http://www.samsung.com/us/support/downloads/SGH-T849ZKATMB

    Regarding your RAM. Technically this is two 16GB matched pairs and not four 8GB sticks matched together. This may have some bearing on the bsod and I would try testing the sticks again but test them as two individual 16GB matched pairs and not all four sticks at once.

    Post any new dump files
     
  4. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    81
    Yeah, I too ran into issues with Crucial Ballistix ram back when I built my first pc. That was like almost 6 years ago now, as it was in August 2010. Since then I've had numerous G-Skil Ripjaws kits and the only issue I've had is a AMD issue with this board not liking the DDR3 2400 timings. DDR3 2133 timings work fine with it, though. I'm pretty sure that's a AMD issue, though, as the DDR 2400 settings are XMP settings are Intel settings, not AMD supported.
     
  5. William B

    William B Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    34
    Yes that is what I noticed over the years as well brkkab. Although XMP settings are Intel specific, it can also work with AMD boards too as long as the vendor (board maker) implements is correctly with the BIOS. With AMD it's chipset specific though. For instance a 760g board will only attain 1333 MHZ. I had no problems getting DDR3 1866 memory to 2400 MHZ on an MSI GD80 motherboard with an FX8350 @ 5.0 GHZ. It did take a custom loop to keep the CPU cool though.
     
  6. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    81
    Yeah, I did have a similar issue when I got a second set of my original G-Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 ram on this pc in 2010. Even, though the 2nd kit I purchased was the same G-Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 kit, but a few month's later on, it's timing's were different. Your really better off buying a 4 pack 32GB kit at once, not at a different time. Not even 2-3 month's later like I did my very first time.
    This pc's current Ripjaws DDR 2400 ram I purchased in a 4 piece kit with 4GB sticks.
    I too got a 32GB kit, but it's going on my new Intel build, not this older AMD one.
    My new Intel build is Skylake based build, as when I started getting part's for, AMD had talk of new chipset, cpu's, blah, blah, but they didn't have any of it when I started getting parts for the build last September. The only high-power cpu's compared to the AMD FX-8350 cpu I'm susing now are only maybe .3 -.4GHz faster, but they also have a higher 220 watt TMP with there 2 newest FX- based cpu's since my FX-8350, have used a higher TDP than 125 watts.
    I heard about way too many issues people had with both of those FX cpu's.
    Granted AMD supposedly has a newer chipset and cpu's coming, but it's also funny how when they had they're AMD event last month, they only spoke about for like 5 seconds about it. If I remember it was one sentence.
    The only thing they talked about for more time was it's RX 480 video cards coming on June 29th.
    Personally for me they waited too long in a lot of areas. Intel's motherboards support DDR4 ram, M.2 ssd's, USB 3.1 and they've done so since August 2015.
    AMD's current high-end chipset is still 990 FX from 2009 or 2010. That's when they also released the FX-8*** cpu's. Not good considering it was almost 6 or 7 years ago.
     
    #26 brkkab, Jun 26, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2016
  7. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    81
    Follow kemical's advice and test each ram kit separately.
     
  8. mtrakal

    mtrakal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I remove (on original WIndows which I used) iaStorV (it's upgraded to iaStorA), remove Samsung drivers (not used anymore, don't need update).

    Now I get BSOD in ACPI when try use 1600 MHz (1333 MHz works still OK), more in dump.

    About testing only one RAM kit: it was first what I do after buy rams. Because this ram is 3rd piece. 2 new kits I return in warranty, because Memtest show a lot of errors on them (everytime just one piece of ram fail). So I test everytime kit (2x8), later single module for check which one fails. And when no one fails, I insert back my old working kit for test both kits together.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. mtrakal

    mtrakal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Next cleaning and upgrading drivers... a lot of unused and outdated removed
     

    Attached Files:

  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 3B, {c0000095, fffff803ce8ca123, ffffd00022132d90, 0}
    
    Probably caused by : memory_corruption
    
    Followup: memory_corruption
    
    Hi,
    the above dump file was caused by the exception below. What actually caused the exception is a little unclear.

    Code:
    EXCEPTION_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc0000095 - {EXCEPTION}  Integer overflow.
    This driver:
    SbieDrv.sys Mon Sep 21 20:08:08 2015: Sandboxie Kernel Mode Driver. This driver has quite a few known conflicts and is probably worth removing to test:
    Sandboxie - Known Conflicts

    IntelHaxm.sys Mon Nov 16 01:31:49 2015: Intel Hardware Accelerated Execution Manager (involved in Android app emulation) please remove to test.

    Your drivers are in need of updating. Please use the support page to update everything including Intel engine management and chipset 'inf'

    Post any new dump files.
     
  11. mtrakal

    mtrakal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried to uninstall HAXM and Sandboxie.

    My INF and IME are the latest which are provided by Gigabyte (but a year old) :(.

    I enable driver verifier and it start crashing with 1333 MHz and 1600 MHz too on igdkmd64.sys which is Intell HD Graphics, so I upgrade on the latest and now I can boot with 1600 MHz into Windows! :)

    Still with enabled verifier get one time some BSOD: win32k.sys. But dump said that it's hardware error (wtf?)


    Code:
    Microsoft (R) Windows Debugger Version 10.0.10586.567 AMD64
    Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    
    
    Loading Dump File [F:\Users\mtrakal\Desktop\W7F_26-06-2016_verifier_enabled_new_graphic_driver\062616-11500-01.dmp]
    Mini Kernel Dump File: Only registers and stack trace are available
    
    
    ************* Symbol Path validation summary **************
    Response                         Time (ms)     Location
    Deferred                                       SRV*C:\SymCache*http://msdl.microsoft.com/download/symbols
    Symbol search path is: SRV*C:\SymCache*http://msdl.microsoft.com/download/symbols
    Executable search path is:
    Windows 10 Kernel Version 10586 MP (4 procs) Free x64
    Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS
    Built by: 10586.420.amd64fre.th2_release_sec.160527-1834
    Machine Name:
    Kernel base = 0xfffff802`bf28c000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0xfffff802`bf56acf0
    Debug session time: Sun Jun 26 23:15:24.840 2016 (UTC + 2:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 0:00:21.549
    Loading Kernel Symbols
    .
    
    Press ctrl-c (cdb, kd, ntsd) or ctrl-break (windbg) to abort symbol loads that take too long.
    Run !sym noisy before .reload to track down problems loading symbols.
    
    ..............................................................
    ................................................................
    .............................
    Loading User Symbols
    Loading unloaded module list
    ............
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 3B, {c0000005, fffff960f9d62012, ffffd000204a00d0, 0}
    
    Probably caused by : hardware ( win32k!NtUserInternalGetWindowText+2 )
    
    Followup:     MachineOwner
    ---------
    
    1: kd> !analyze -v
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION (3b)
    An exception happened while executing a system service routine.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: 00000000c0000005, Exception code that caused the bugcheck
    Arg2: fffff960f9d62012, Address of the instruction which caused the bugcheck
    Arg3: ffffd000204a00d0, Address of the context record for the exception that caused the bugcheck
    Arg4: 0000000000000000, zero.
    
    Debugging Details:
    ------------------
    
    
    DUMP_CLASS: 1
    
    DUMP_QUALIFIER: 400
    
    BUILD_VERSION_STRING:  10586.420.amd64fre.th2_release_sec.160527-1834
    
    SYSTEM_MANUFACTURER:  Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
    
    SYSTEM_PRODUCT_NAME:  Z87X-D3H
    
    SYSTEM_SKU:  To be filled by O.E.M.
    
    SYSTEM_VERSION:  To be filled by O.E.M.
    
    BIOS_VENDOR:  American Megatrends Inc.
    
    BIOS_VERSION:  F9
    
    BIOS_DATE:  08/25/2014
    
    BASEBOARD_MANUFACTURER:  Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
    
    BASEBOARD_PRODUCT:  Z87X-D3H-CF
    
    BASEBOARD_VERSION:  x.x
    
    DUMP_TYPE:  2
    
    DUMP_FILE_ATTRIBUTES: 0x8
      Kernel Generated Triage Dump
    
    BUGCHECK_P1: c0000005
    
    BUGCHECK_P2: fffff960f9d62012
    
    BUGCHECK_P3: ffffd000204a00d0
    
    BUGCHECK_P4: 0
    
    EXCEPTION_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc0000005 - The instruction at 0x%p referenced memory at 0x%p. The memory could not be %s.
    
    FAULTING_IP:
    win32k!NtUserInternalGetWindowText+2
    fffff960`f9d62012 428700          xchg    eax,dword ptr [rax]
    
    CONTEXT:  ffffd000204a00d0 -- (.cxr 0xffffd000204a00d0)
    rax=0000000000000000 rbx=ffffe00150605240 rcx=00000000000201a2
    rdx=0000009ac088f880 rsi=0000000000000000 rdi=0000000000000020
    rip=fffff960f9d62012 rsp=ffffd000204a0af8 rbp=ffffd000204a0b80
    r8=0000000000000100  r9=0000024242e0d600 r10=fffff960f9d62012
    r11=0000009ac072b000 r12=0000024242e0d600 r13=0000024242e0d600
    r14=0000024242e20920 r15=00000000000201a2
    iopl=0         nv up ei pl zr na po nc
    cs=0010  ss=0018  ds=002b  es=002b  fs=0053  gs=002b             efl=00010246
    win32k!NtUserInternalGetWindowText+0x2:
    fffff960`f9d62012 428700          xchg    eax,dword ptr [rax] ds:002b:00000000`00000000=????????
    Resetting default scope
    
    CPU_COUNT: 4
    
    CPU_MHZ: c79
    
    CPU_VENDOR:  GenuineIntel
    
    CPU_FAMILY: 6
    
    CPU_MODEL: 3c
    
    CPU_STEPPING: 3
    
    CPU_MICROCODE: 6,3c,3,0 (F,M,S,R)  SIG: 1E'00000000 (cache) 1E'00000000 (init)
    
    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1
    
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  WIN8_DRIVER_FAULT
    
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x3B
    
    PROCESS_NAME:  dwm.exe
    
    CURRENT_IRQL:  0
    
    ANALYSIS_SESSION_HOST:  MTRAKAL-DESKTOP
    
    ANALYSIS_SESSION_TIME:  06-26-2016 23:33:08.0594
    
    ANALYSIS_VERSION: 10.0.10586.567 amd64fre
    
    MISALIGNED_IP:
    win32k!NtUserInternalGetWindowText+2
    fffff960`f9d62012 428700          xchg    eax,dword ptr [rax]
    
    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from fffff802bf3d90a3 to fffff960f9d62012
    
    STACK_TEXT: 
    ffffd000`204a0af8 fffff802`bf3d90a3 : ffffe001`50605240 ffffe001`5027f3f0 00000000`00000020 00000000`00000004 : win32k!NtUserInternalGetWindowText+0x2
    ffffd000`204a0b00 00007ff9`55b02d54 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiSystemServiceCopyEnd+0x13
    0000009a`c088f808 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : 0x00007ff9`55b02d54
    
    
    THREAD_SHA1_HASH_MOD_FUNC:  3d502dcdcf596f4e0d45adeb6e391483a76ba25c
    
    THREAD_SHA1_HASH_MOD_FUNC_OFFSET:  ac13addbef0222e72a90feb8d00764d02e06f27a
    
    THREAD_SHA1_HASH_MOD:  14def60f802f7024de106530d89d4e395d710f43
    
    FOLLOWUP_IP:
    win32k!NtUserInternalGetWindowText+2
    fffff960`f9d62012 428700          xchg    eax,dword ptr [rax]
    
    FAULT_INSTR_CODE:  8742
    
    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX:  0
    
    SYMBOL_NAME:  win32k!NtUserInternalGetWindowText+2
    
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner
    
    IMAGE_NAME:  hardware
    
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  0
    
    IMAGE_VERSION:  10.0.10586.20
    
    STACK_COMMAND:  .cxr 0xffffd000204a00d0 ; kb
    
    MODULE_NAME: hardware
    
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  IP_MISALIGNED
    
    BUCKET_ID:  IP_MISALIGNED
    
    PRIMARY_PROBLEM_CLASS:  IP_MISALIGNED
    
    TARGET_TIME:  2016-06-26T21:15:24.000Z
    
    OSBUILD:  10586
    
    OSSERVICEPACK:  0
    
    SERVICEPACK_NUMBER: 0
    
    OS_REVISION: 0
    
    SUITE_MASK:  272
    
    PRODUCT_TYPE:  1
    
    OSPLATFORM_TYPE:  x64
    
    OSNAME:  Windows 10
    
    OSEDITION:  Windows 10 WinNt TerminalServer SingleUserTS
    
    OS_LOCALE: 
    
    USER_LCID:  0
    
    OSBUILD_TIMESTAMP:  2016-05-28 05:59:07
    
    BUILDDATESTAMP_STR:  160527-1834
    
    BUILDLAB_STR:  th2_release_sec
    
    BUILDOSVER_STR:  10.0.10586.420.amd64fre.th2_release_sec.160527-1834
    
    ANALYSIS_SESSION_ELAPSED_TIME: 39a
    
    ANALYSIS_SOURCE:  KM
    
    FAILURE_ID_HASH_STRING:  km:ip_misaligned
    
    FAILURE_ID_HASH:  {201b0e5d-db2a-63d2-77be-8ce8ff234750}
    
    Followup:     MachineOwner
    ---------
    
    
     

    Attached Files:

  12. mtrakal

    mtrakal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Next crash when try to play youtube video in: RTKVHD64.sys (Realtek HD Audio?)

    Hmm, link from: Win 10 Pro GA-Z87X-D3H 32 GB RAM random BSOD is a year old... :/ I'll try the driver from gigabyte website, it looks much newer.
     

    Attached Files:

    #32 mtrakal, Jun 26, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2016
  13. mtrakal

    mtrakal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally looks, that's stable on 1600 MHz, thanks all for a lot of help! :up:

    When will be some next BSOD, I'll send them here, but hope that will not necessary :)
     
  14. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Wow nice job! Sorry I'm a little unwell and am not at 100% myself so I'm very glad to see you have sorted the issue.. :) Any further issues then please post back.
     
  15. William B

    William B Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    34
    Yeah looks good. One thing I noticed from your logs is that you appear to be using the Intel I-GPU HD 4600, which is great but it can knock down 1866 to 1600 (or 1333), and 1600 to 1333 because the Intel GPU uses some system memory and the real default speed of the memory is actually 1333 it's only rated out of spec from the manufacturer and supported on your board for example the B85 and H81 do not support DDR3 1600 it will default it to 1333 speeds and no more, and in your case even with a Z board add to that all banks populated using I-GPU I can see why you had some issues but glad you got it sorted out and all dims running @ 1600 MHZ.
     

Share This Page

Loading...