Win 8.1 Backup image creation fails...

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by badrobot, Oct 30, 2013.

  1. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    I never had a problem with image backup creation before with Win 8 using the utility Windows 7 File Recovery. I am aware that this utility is gone in Win 8.1 and the same utility is now under File History. I've tried using this new utility last night to create a backup image of Win 8.1 and it failed 4x until I gave up and used Macrium instead. Is the image created in Macrium fully supported in Win 8.1? I know it works with Win 8. But Win 8.1 is a total overhaul and I just wanna make sure I have an image that will work when I need it. Thanks.
     
  2. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    When considering questions which may have catastrophic outcomes in case of failure it's best to run some real trials. I'd create a backup using macrium, I'd create second one using Acronis (not free but you can a get a full trial for a month). The Acronis one is to ensure that you can recover as I am using it tried and tested on 8.1. Having got a belts and braces pair of images I'd then run a full restore from each to test them. Once you have established that both is ok you can decide which to run with.
     
  3. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Were you getting an error message about there not being enough room to create the shadow copy?

    If so, the problem is being caused by a Winre.wim file in the Recovery partition growing to a size that does not allow for shadow copies. Using a third party imaging software, increasing the size of the recovery partition, or perhaps replacing the larger one with a smaller one are the three options I can think of. The larger file appears to be adding files, probably driver files from the current install and thus, increasing in size.
     
  4. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    It says something about the backup drive is not detected which is very weird because I was able to select that particular partition on an external drive before starting the imaging process. If I can select it, that means it is being detected. But somewhere along the process it stops and gives me that error message. I've been doing the very same procedure with win 8 before and this is the first time I am having such problem.
     
  5. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
  6. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Another option for backing up your computer is Paragon Backup and Recovery free edition.
    I've used it twice with Windows 8 and it worked fine both times, with no issues.

    Mike
     
  7. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    Thanks for this.

    I've also tried wbAdmin and it gives me the same exact error. That is even after wiping out the partition clean (deep cleansing with no recovery) and performing partition alignment.
    I've just finished creating a clone of my Win 8.1 installation on a separate drive (using Free Macrium) and I am going to mess up with it. I will try the 2 image backup tools that I have and do system image recovery and I will get back here to confirm which 3rd party backup tools work with 8.1. I have Macrium and Paragon. I'll see if I can get an Acronis.


    ..
     
  8. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    You may want to add this arrow to your quiver of free backup tools. It's called Aoemi Backupper and a lot of people have suggested that it is a very good free option.
    Personally I'm a big fan and user of Acronis True Image and have been using it since somewhere around version 6.... but it's not free (except for the 30 trial).
     
    badrobot likes this.
  9. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    The Wbadmin utility might be relevant to you in that it would allow you to pick which partition you want to image, just in case there was a particular one.

    Could you get us a picture of the error you are getting?
     
  10. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102

    Ok thanks. Will try this out also.
     
  11. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    Well, it's a different day, different luck. My HTPC was playing tricks on me. The native Win 8.1 back-up imaging worked today.


    20131031_231003-kdcollage.

    But I am still interested in testing out the four tools I have: Macrium, AOMEI Backupper, Paragon Back & Recovery and Acronis True Image 2014.

    In fact I already have all the images backed-up on my test disk. I just need to fire them up when I get a chance.


    images.









    ...
     
    #11 badrobot, Oct 31, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2013
  12. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    I've had good luck with Acronis also. They do have a very good forum if you have a problem. I have seen them bring in their software engineers to resolve problems.

    Joe
     
  13. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    It seems if you have Disk Management open when you try to create the Image, it will throw an error about the drive is not accessible. But it if works now, perhaps the reboot cleaned something out.
     
  14. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    I had several different versions of Acronis, the last was version 2012 it think.
    This was probably a fluke but the only time I really needed Acronis to come through it didn't.

    It said that it couldn't open either of my 2 backup files that I had created with it at different times, that's when I quit paying for backup and switched to Paragon which has worked every time I used it.

    And as I've said before, I'm cheap if I can get it for free, why not.

    Mike
     

Share This Page

Loading...