Windows 7 Windows 7 audio not working?

LittleMiss

I have read about this happening a few times but none of the threads seem to have helped.

I have an HP m7170n desktop and I installed Win 7 32-bit. When I run device manager on the PC it shows two errors under other devices, one "ethernet controller" and the other "multimedia video controller". I am assuming these have nothing to do with the sound, but then again - I am a noob when it comes to the guts of my PC.... under sound, video and game controllers it shows "high definition audio device" but there is no error, shouldn't this mean I should have sound?

I am not too sure what brand my sound card is so I downloaded Belarc Advisor to see if I could find my device type and it only says high definition audio device... would there be a universal driver software I can download? Or does this PC type have a brand name audio device that just isn't showing? I'm thinking maybe it only says that because I haven't installed a driver for it, yet?

I actually tried that by downloading the drivers and putting them on a flash drive to install onto my PC before I got my wireless working... it gave me an error and never installed.

When I go down to the sound part - there is a little red X over it and I can't do anything with it. Also, when I go to device manager and try to update, I still have no sound. I think i'm about ready to just give up and re-install XP on this old junk, lol.

Yea, purchasing anything to fix this not really an option for me. I'd rather just go back to where it was and eventually get a PC that comes with 7 on it. Thanks, though.

I actually tried that by downloading the drivers and putting them on a flash drive to install onto my PC before I got my wireless working... it gave me an error and never installed.