Windows Error 0xc0000005

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by NarWhat, May 15, 2013.

  1. NarWhat

    NarWhat New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys, I have a PC that's being a little glitchy. So far in some applications I get the error code 0xc0000005. I can't seem to find the dump file though. I've tried searching by filetype, manually looking through all of the Windows sub-folders, but I can't find the minidumps. The first step to finding the problem is finding where the heck the darn dump files are. Then I need to find out what is wrong w/ the system itself, using the dump files. I've run MemTest86+, but it didn't find anything wrong w/ my RAM. My PC specs are correct, so I hope you can help me. The only modding I've ever done is overclocking my CPU to 3.15GHz. Besides that, I can't think of anything else that is messed with/modded.

    Thanks in advance,
    NarWhat
     
  2. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    The first thing to do, in my opinion, would be to set the BIOS to default, even perhaps by taking out the CMOS battery, that being the most secure method. "Overclocking may damage your computer and components" - that's the universal rule.

    Not the perfect solution, I know, but one has to start somewhere.
     
  3. NarWhat

    NarWhat New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I'll try resetting the BIOS. I'm starting to wonder if it has something to do with my registry. Is there any way to completely rebuild the registry? (well without a full system restore).Thanks for replying,NarWhat
     
    #3 NarWhat, May 17, 2013
    Last edited: May 17, 2013
  4. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    The only way to completely rebuild the registry is, as far as I know, to re-install Windows from the bottom. A program most commonly recommended to work with the registry is CCleaner, CCleaner - PC Optimization and Cleaning - Free Download

    Personally, I've used for many years and continue using Free Window Registry Repair, Free Window Registry Repair: a windows registry repair freeware.. I think it's done a good work.

    Both above mentioned may solve issues, but it's not certain. Anyways, I've lived this far!

    Best wishes. :)
     
  5. NarWhat

    NarWhat New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks ^.^ I'm running CCleaner right now, like all the tabs XD
     
  6. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,051
    Likes Received:
    302
  7. NarWhat

    NarWhat New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    One question before I perform a repair install: will reinstalling Windows also remove all my programs? Because I have a LOT of recording / editing using Sony Vegas and recording with DxTory.
     
    #7 NarWhat, May 21, 2013
    Last edited: May 21, 2013
  8. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,051
    Likes Received:
    302
    Hi

    Doing a repair install the way it's described in the link will not delete any data from your computer.

    It's possible that some software may need to be reinstalled even though the installations are still in place, because the associated registry entries are missing.

    I've done it many times on a number of computers with no problems, and usually most of the software will still run fine.

    I think that some software just rewrites the registry entries the first time you run it.

    You will probably have to renew all the links by going to the .exe files and making an icon for the desktop.

    You will end up with what looks like a fresh install of Windows, the default desktop etc.
    You'll have to redo all your Windows settings over again.

    The whole process should only take about a half hour or so.

    If you have an external drive, or a second hard drive, I'd still make sure I have any data backed up. Images, music files, video clips, text files whatever you can't replace.

    I never have my data on my Windows drive.

    If you need to you could partition the Windows drive using disk manager and make a partition to back your data to, but the best bet would be an external drive.
    They are pretty cheap insurance, I never have only one copy of anything important.

    It's better to be safe than sorry as the old saying goes.

    Mike
     
  9. NarWhat

    NarWhat New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay thank you! I currently have my HDD partitioned 4 ways->Partition 1- Windows 7 (NTFS)>Partition 2- Personal Data (FAT32)>Partition 3- Recorded Videos (FAT32)>Partition 4- Ubuntu 13.04 (ext4)So there's no need for backing up my data :) But I'll still do it... you never know if something could go terribly wrong and there's a nuclear winter. Lol.
     
    #9 NarWhat, May 22, 2013
    Last edited: May 22, 2013
  10. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,051
    Likes Received:
    302
    Good Luck.

    I don't do this anymore with the later versions of Windows, but through XP I used to create a new user ID.

    Then I would boot in as the new user, start the reinstall from within Windows using the new User profile and installing it on my second drive, forcing Windows to do a complete new installation while leaving my old one intact, and picking up nothing from the old one.

    Then once I had everything configured, I would remove the old one from the boot menu and delete it.

    That way I never lost anything or had to worry about the install going bad.

    I could alway boot into the old install and retrieve things until I was sure that I had gotten all my mail lists, etc.

    Mike
     

Share This Page

Loading...