appsvc.exe?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by kyler211, Feb 24, 2014.

  1. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    my anti-virus (Trend Micro Titanium)
    has been blocking a process called "appsvc.exe" saying it is a "TROJ_HIDEFIL.BMC"
    i have located it but i cannot delete it saying that i need permission from my user to delete it. I am currently logged on as my user but i am unable to delete it saying the same error message. i have also tried to use the hidden administrator account using "net user administrator /active:yes"
    but that account also needs permission from my user.
    it constantly tries to open every 5 seconds and i cannot stop it. i can end its process from the task manager but it still continues to try starting itself up again. please help.
     
  2. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Try booting into safe mode and suggest you first try renaming it to "appsvc.exe.bak" rather than deleting it just in case you find you need to restore it.
     
  3. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    Agree with patcooke, plus:

    Not all that easy to define the problem. It can be a Trojan, but most likely it's not a hostile one. It's likely to be connected to a new driver installation, that has gone wrong and / or has an attachment to it = when you install something, you get some extra stuff, mainly something that collects information; not dangerous, but unwanted, thus considered a Trojan. And your Anti Virus reacts to it.

    I would suggest that you check latest updates, uninstall them, and reinstalling them be careful with any additions that may come along.
     
  4. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok i shall boot into safe mode right now
     
  5. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    it still said the same error message. i still need permission from my user.
    how do i uninstall my latest updates?

    it is also in a hidden folder that i cannot see even if the show all folders option is ticked, i see the other hidden folders except the folder it is in, so the only way i can access it is manually typing the directory on the address bar
     
  6. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Simplest act would be to run a system restore back to some date before the problem arose. First make sure that your system is set to disallow automatic updates by telling you that updates are available but allowing you to manually select which to install.
     
    Pauli likes this.
  7. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    Fully agree with pat.
     
  8. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    my system has not updated anything on the day that the problem starting appearing (which is this morning)
    how do i do a system restore?
     
  9. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Control panel, system and security, advanced system settings, system protection, system restore.
     
  10. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    it says system restore could not start
     
  11. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
  12. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    Need to think.
     
  13. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    when i try to open it it says the system cannot find the specified file "directory\mbam.exe"
     
  14. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    The mbam.exe should be in C:\Program Files (x86) \ Malwarebytes Anti Malware, or something. You may have installed it in the wrong place?

    Extra note: Windows 7 is secure for several hours, without extra Anti Virus. Turn off your Trend, and any other security programs you may have, reboot, be sure they aren't running, and try System Restore. By the way, you shouldn't have several securities running.

    Later on, reboot, and start Trend. Most evidently, I think, you have a collision in your system.
     
    #14 Pauli, Feb 24, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2014
  15. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    it still says that it cannot run system restore
     
  16. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    what are the chances that it will not harm my pc or take any valuable information such as credit card info/internet cache's/account details?
    if the chances of it not doing anything like that are high then i will just exclude it from my anti-virus so i dont get those annoying pop up messages
     
  17. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    That would be dangerous and very inadvisable when we have yet to identify if it is a threat. Have you still not managed to run mbam? If you are still having problems there we must pursue them to run a full malware check. I installed correctly you should have a folder called malwarebytes in either your program files or program files (x86) folder on your C drive.
     
  18. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    i kept it in program files (x86) but it keeps saying it cannot find the file specified
     
  19. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    So you download mbam, installed it and then ran it? At which point does "it" say it cannot find it?
     
  20. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    when i double click the exe
     

Share This Page

Loading...