Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 help needed

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by brkkab, Apr 1, 2013.

  1. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    81
    I recently got a Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 mobo to replace my 890FXA-GD70 that stopped working. I can't get the new mobo to work. The boards stanby led stays lit in green. The cpu, ram and boot device led's never light up.I've tried 2 different cpu's (Phenom 2 965 & 1100T), 2 different psu's (ZX 1250W & Corsair TX 750 V1.0), 2 video cards (HIS HD 6950 & XFX HD 5770), 4 sets of ram (Kingston Hyper-X 1866 & G-Skill Ripjaws 1600 -in single & dual 4gb. sick configs- tried al ram slots) & my ssd (Vertex 3 MaxIOPs 120 gb. & 2Caviar Black 1.0 tb. 32mb. cache -each by themselves in sata port 1). All thes parts are in working ordder and have been tested. Could it be that my Microsoft Wireless Desktop 200 is the reason, as both are usb 2.0 w/single plugin for both ?
     
  2. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,884
    Likes Received:
    318
    Do you have all the cables from the front panel connected to the header pins...positive and negative positions.
     
  3. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    81
    Yes, they're all connected properly. I have a rma for the mobo. I'm just wondering if the usb keyboard is the real issue. I'm ordering a ps2 keyboard tomorrow. I'm debating on whether to wait for it to arrive next week first or to go ahead and return the mobo this week.
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Sounds like you've tried practically everything in so far as swapping out parts. So....
    Assuming you're getting no POST screen and no BIOS Beep Codes, and you're certain you have everything plugged in correctly, personally I'd be moving ahead with the RMA as quick as I could. While happily not yet all that common, you can and do get one that's truly D.O.A.
    Besides I don't think I would want a board that required a PS2 keyboard to POST and just laid there lifelessly without an error visible on screen or no audible beep codes. Most boards that I've seen will at least POST without even a keyboard attached, they may halt on keyboard error but at least they'll inform you.
     
  5. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Is this a Gen 3 board, because the link I am providing is for a basic board. Maybe you will see something there, and there is a FAQ that includes a non-post troubleshooting guide.

    ASUSTeK Computer Inc. -Support- Knowledge SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0

    You might also check out their forums. The one for the Gen 3 board only has one post.
     
  6. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    81
    I've done all that on Asus' site per their forums. Ieven tried it with the mobo out of the case hooking a paperclip to the psu's.
     
  7. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    It sounds like you have done more that you should ever have to do.

    As long as you know the Bios supports the processors, and it should at least support the 965, and you have all the necessary power plugs plugged in, then as Trouble points out, it might be time to send it back.
     
  8. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    81
    Mobo is enroute back to Newegg. Hopefully the one I receive back has the 1304 or the last uefi update, so I can use the FX 8350 cpu I just ordered.
     
  9. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    81
    Replacement mobo should be here Tuesday. Hopefully this one works. It's gonna be a while for this build. I'm not installing the Corsair H-100 at first. I'm gonna use the noisy stock AMD heat-sink until I know the mobo is good, Windows 8, driver's and software are installed. Then the H-100 will go in. Games aren't getting installed for about 4 month's as Ihave 4 more hardware upgrades to do first.May- Seagate Barracuda 3.0 tb June- 16 gbs. ddr3 2133 July GTX 660ti or 670 August- Samsung 840 Pro 256 gb. Then all my games will fit on the bigger ssd.
     
  10. thienly13

    thienly13 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe you will see something there, and there is a FAQ that includes a non-post troubleshooting guide.
     

Share This Page

Loading...