Autoruns missing entry

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by JimL, Oct 26, 2013.

  1. JimL

    JimL Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    OK, I should have known to be more careful when I removed some entries from autoruns. It is so maddening to have every software company on Earth trying to stick something on my computer and auto run it. Yes, they often do it without asking. Or ask about something else, then stick their junk in secretly.

    Anyway I didn't recognize a couple files that should be auto starting and removed them.

    I've read that Autoruns will add anything that's running to the list. Not true. Still, is it possible to ADD something to Autoruns manually?

    Jiml
     
  2. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Yes, provided that you know the exact format of the entry together with any required parameters. The best way to use autoruns in the circumstances you describe is to just uncheck the run box next to the entry to test the effect and to ensure you've got it right. After a time of testing you can permanently delete the entry when you are confident it is ok to do so.
     
  3. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    You mean Autoruns, like Cds and DVDs, not Autostart = programs starting automatically when Windows starts?

    Always reminding there are no stupid questions, this might be one... :redface:
     
  4. JimL

    JimL Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    So where is the file that needs adjusting? I assume the format would be in the file. Of course if the developers have gone down the "proprietary" path and coded everything under encryption, it's not worth the effort.

    I've been into computers since before "PC" hit the market, and have protocols hanging out my ears - including some actual machine language programming before I moved to assembler. I think I already indicated that I screwed up by not using a "time of testing". It just gets tiresome after so many decades and I get sloppy.
     
    Pauli likes this.
  5. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Autoruns removes the items from registry entries, and they are now gone, do you remember what entries you need back? If we know which ones, we can probably replace it using out systems as reference.

    Doing a restore might replace the entries..
     
  6. JimL

    JimL Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm talking about an app called Autoruns.
     
  7. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Autoruns will only allow enable/disable/delete entries. Once deleted you will need yo manually re-enter them using something like regedit.
     
  8. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Or perhaps wouldn't simply uninstalling and then reinstalling or even just reinstalling the program with the missing entry over top of itself maybe set things right again?
     
  9. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    I agree with Trouble. Uninstall and reinstall, only be careful not to uninstall personal settings, if that option is given, and you want to keep those settings.

    The hard way could be to simply reinstall, no uninstall, that is, but it may fail or delete your settings.
     

Share This Page

Loading...