Blue Screen on Shutdown?

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by MikeHawthorne, May 15, 2014.

  1. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi Guys

    I'm getting a blue screen when I try and shut down my computer.
    I get the normal "Shutting Down" screen and after a minute or so a blue screen pops up.

    It shows this error message.

    Driver Verifier IOManager Violation UIMbuss.sys

    Then the computer says that it has to restart, and it reboots putting back at shutting down again.

    I'm running Online Cleanup ScanHealth right now, that's taking a long time.

    I'm leery of trying to use a restore point because the computer needs to restart while restoring and I might get stuck in some kind of loop in the restore process.

    The computer boots and runs fine, but I can't shut it off.
    I had to use the button to shut it off manually last night.

    Anyone have any ideas.

    I've thought about turning off Driver Verifier at least while doing the restore point thing but I've never had this issue before so I'm not sure if that's a good idea or not.

    Anyone have any ideas?

    The command window just came up and said the component store is repairable so I'll run repair, and see what happens.

    Mike
     
    #1 MikeHawthorne, May 15, 2014
    Last edited: May 15, 2014
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
  3. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi Kemical

    I Have the dump file but it's 1.5 GB in size!
    I don't think it will be small enough to post even if I compress it but I'll try.

    I ran the repair thing, using the command...

    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth

    After running for an hour it said "Source File could not be found".

    I do have Paragon Backup and Recovery installed on my computer.
    So what you suggested sounds like a possibility.

    Mike
     
    #3 MikeHawthorne, May 15, 2014
    Last edited: May 15, 2014
  4. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    If I delete the Dump file and then create the error again will it create a smaller dump file?
    I can't even get this to open in Word Pad.

    It's been sitting on opening at 1% for 10 minutes.

    Mike
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Hey Mike,
    if you change the settings thus:
    Go to Start and type in sysdm.cpl and press Enter

    Click on the Advanced tab

    Click on the Startup and Recovery Settings button

    Under the Write Debugging Information header select Small memory dump (256 kB) in the dropdown box

    Ensure that the Small Dump Directory is listed as %systemroot%\Minidump << where your .dmp files can be
    found later.

    Click OK twice to exit the dialogs, then reboot for the changes to take effect.
    (Thanks to Randy for the above)

    When you get another dump file it should be ok to load up.
     
  6. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    Thanks I'll do that.
    I deleted the old memory dump file and created a new one, and it was 1.5 gigabytes just like the old one.

    I'll be back after I do what you suggested.

    Mike
     
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    I'll grab a coffee while you do that.. :)
     
  8. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi again.

    I did that and I can't find the file now?
    Here's a shot of the window.

    [​IMG]

    It previously showed up and "Memory Dump.dmp" in the Windows directory.
    I ran a search with Agent Ransack and it didn't find any Memory Dump file.

    I did fine a Minidump file but it's gibberish....

    PAGEDU64 ð# p pݶøÿÿ JÔ¶øÿÿ€Ñ¶øÿÿd† É PAGE& ð/V€øÿÿd‚€ùÿÿ PAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGE ÛζøÿÿPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGEPAGE € + + S + F É & É ø¤Ú
    €øÿÿd‚€ùÿÿ & ð/V€øÿÿd‚€ùÿÿÌR·øÿÿ
    d‚€ùÿÿ @ ð/V€øÿÿ ä€úÿÿ@$¶øÿÿ ÿ  €

    Got any ideas?

    I have to go out now, I'll check back in later this afternoon.

    Thanks for the help.

    Mike
     
  9. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Should be in the C:\Windows\Minidump folder.
    But if you just run the utility that Kemical linked you to earlier, it should find it and include it in the results, which you can then zip and attach.
     
    kemical likes this.
  10. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    Thanks for the input, I did find the above file in the Minidump folder but I can't seem to find a way to get it to interpret in readable language.

    I rebooted again and got a new file with the same type of info dated at the time I rebooted so I'll do as you said.

    Gotta run now, I'm already late, can't stop working on this. LOL

    Mike

    I did download the applications I'll post the results after 5 O'Clock.
     
    #10 MikeHawthorne, May 15, 2014
    Last edited: May 15, 2014
  11. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    You need the actual debugger Mike in order to read the dump file but do post it when you next get the chance and we'll take a look.
     
  12. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    I have the files all saved from the diagnostics tool, I compressed them into a WinRar file, but I can't upload a WinRare file to this forum.

    When I click on upload file neither a WinRar or 7Zip files show in the selection window.

    I can upload the .dmp files individually, here are several from after restarting today ...

    The EventApp text, and EvenSys.txt files are too big to upload without compression.
    I tried compressing them individually instead of in a folder but they are invisible when viewed by the Upload File utility.

    If you need more let me know.

    Mike
     

    Attached Files:

    #12 MikeHawthorne, May 15, 2014
    Last edited: May 15, 2014
  13. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Maybe this will work...

    Ok, I get it, it has to be a zip file. LOL

    Live and learn.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    For what it's worth, I did track down the UIMBUS.sys file in Windows System 32 folder and it is associated with Paragon Disk Manager.

    It say so in the properties.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Mike
     
  15. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck C9, {226, fffff88004bb2ff0, fffff9802f834e10, 0}
    
    Unable to load image UimBus.sys, Win32 error 0n2
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for UimBus.sys
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for UimBus.sys
    Probably caused by : UimBus.sys ( UimBus+2ff0 )
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    
    Hi Mike,
    almost all your dump files are like the above apart from one which blamed Hitman Pro 3.7. Looking through your dump file I notice you have:
    AVG AV
    Superantispyware
    Hitman Pro 3.7
    The bsod might be down to conflict between the above apps? Food for thought anyway..

    BiosVersion = 2104
    BiosReleaseDate = 08/03/2012
    Your Bios has updates pending almost all to do with system stability:
    http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/P9X79_PRO/HelpDesk_Download/

    adfs.SYS Thu Jun 26 21:52:37 2008: Adobe File System Driver please update if available:
    http://www.adobe.com

    FileLock.sys Thu Mar 25 10:52:49 2010: File lock? Update if possible.

    SndTAudio.sys Mon Sep 19 16:11:03 2011: SoundTaxi? Please update if possible:
    http://www.soundtaxi.info/

    I've listed some of the older drivers above. Did you know you have two audio drivers installed too. One for Creative and another for Realtek?

    UimBus.sys Mon Dec 16 16:03:26 2013: Universal Image Mounter Controller or Paragon Hard Disk Manager please check for updates or re-install in case of corruption:
    http://www.paragon-software.com/downloads/home/

    Hope this helps and please post any new dump files.
     
  16. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi Kemical

    I'll start working my way down the list, starting with reinstalling Paragon Backup and Restore.
    Thanks for the help, I'll let you know how it goes.

    Last night I put my computer to sleep since I couldn't turn it off.
    I've never used the sleep function before, believe it or not all these years and I've not tried that.

    I'm kind of paranoid about leaving my computer on all the time.

    Mike
     
  17. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Ok Mike, good luck with everything and if I can help any further then please just ask.. :)
    Ross
     
  18. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi Ross

    I started by uninstalling Paragon Backup.
    This took for ever, for some reason the whole process was painfully slow and for some reason it didn't show in Revo Uninstaller.

    Once the uninstall (done from control panel) was finished I ran CCleaner and removes several registry entries left over.
    Then I manually removed the UIMBUS.sys files from the C:\ drive.

    When I rebooted I still got the same error.

    After rebooting I downloaded a new install file for Paragon Backup.
    The install also went painfully slow for some reason but it did finish.

    I shut down the computer and the error was gone.
    It shut down completely and restarted when I pushed the button!!!

    I'm going to run through the other items that you listed now that, that is done.
    I don't think I've ever updated the bios on any computer I've ever owned.

    I'll check it out so I do it right.

    This is a big relief, I'll have to make an up to date system image file now.

    Thanks for the help!

    Mike
     
    #18 MikeHawthorne, May 16, 2014
    Last edited: May 16, 2014
    kemical likes this.
  19. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Your very welcome and glad to have been able to help some.
     
  20. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi again.

    Well after the fix my computer was running really slow.

    Then I got another blue screen, this one also reporting a Verify Driver problem.
    This one did not define what driver was involved.

    When my computer rebooted to the desktop it blue screened again even before I did anything.
    Several more attempts with it blue screening within a few seconds of getting to the desktop.
    None of them gave any clue as to the problem other then the Driver Verify message.

    By the way this whole series of issues started right after the latest Microsoft Security Updates.
    It would appear that something in the Driver Verify process has gone bonkers, and keep throwing errors even when none are there.

    I know how to turn off Driver Verify, anyone think this is a really bad idea?

    Anyway I can report that EaseUS Todo Backup Free works.

    I put in my EaseUS Restore Disk, and after about an hour and a quarter my computer was restored to where it was on the first of the month. Lucky I made a system image recently.

    Now my computer is back up and running everything is working normally again.

    I would like to remove Hitman Pro (I have the trial version) but that seems to be easier said then done.
    When I clicked on it in the Remove Programs list the icon vanished but it made no effort to uninstall it.

    It doesn't appear in Revo Uninstaller either.
    I know where is installed, so I looked for an unistall .exe file but there isn't one.

    Anyway I'm going to streamline my security software and simplify things a bit.

    Thanks again for the help.

    If you know anything about getting rid of Hitman let me know.

    Mike

    PS. I checked at Microsoft they said that Verify Driver shouldn't be running normally.
    I also checked my current install after the refresh and it is not turned on.

    Anyway everything seems to be running really well now, no lag or errors.
     
    #20 MikeHawthorne, May 16, 2014
    Last edited: May 16, 2014

Share This Page

Loading...