BSOD at start up

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Bryan Dillon, Mar 4, 2012.

  1. Bryan Dillon

    Bryan Dillon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes i am. what would u suggest i do next?
     
  2. capez

    capez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    How many sticks of ram are there in the machine 2 or 4? If you have 4 shut down and remove 2 of them and then reboot to see if you get the BSOD again, then swap them with the 2 that you pulled and try and get the Bsod again. It could be as simple as loosing a modual on the stick or as bad as an overvolt condition. If you get a BSOD both times do the smae procedure with the empty slots with both sticks. That should tell us if either sets of the sticks are bad or if a socket is bad. If it turnes out to be a socket you need to send it back to Dell, if it's just a stick, then you can buy a new stick or set of sticks. Its tiedious but it might clear up what is going on.
     
  3. Bryan Dillon

    Bryan Dillon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok so i figured out it was one of my ram slots. i have 6 slots with 2 gb sticks so missing one isnt that big of a problem.
    no more blue screens thanks alot guys!

    but i still have a few problems that i thought were related to the ram but apparently are not
    1. when ever i play gpu intensive games like bf3 or crysis 2, my computer freezes and crashes about 10-15 min in. drivers r all up to date and it is not over clocked.
    2. windows update wont update. says the service is not running to and restart my pc, and when i do, same thing
    thanks for the help in advanced

    bryan
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  5. Bryan Dillon

    Bryan Dillon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Capture.PNG

    this is running bf3. the highest it ever got was about 60c. ati 5770 card forgot to mention
     
  6. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    With the Dell System BIOS Utility being incredibly restrictive as to what you can actually do regarding some system settings I'm not sure you can do this but have a look in the BIOS for anything regarding EIST (Enhanced Intel SpeedStep Technology) and see if you can turn it off (disabled).
    Additionally while in there look for anything that might refer to C-States and likewise turn them off or disable.
    Test and see if that impacts your problem at all.
     
  7. Bryan Dillon

    Bryan Dillon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    i disabled the eist, but could not find c-states. still crashed :(
     
  8. Bryan Dillon

    Bryan Dillon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    bf3 still doesnt work. can anyone help?
     
  9. usasma

    usasma Fantastic Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    83
    Could you post a fresh set of the reports from here please: http://windows7forums.com/blue-screen-death-bsod/38837-how-ask-help-bsod-problem.html

    Have you installed SP1?
    Have you tested the system without the wireless USB network adapter?
    Have you fixed the memory problems (the red stuff at the bottom of the Memtest screenshot here: http://windows7forums.com/attachments/blue-screen-death-bsod/20326d1340840736-bsod-start-up-1340840269824.jpg )? If uncertain, run Memtest again (it looks like it only took 4 minutes to generate 400 errors).
     
  10. Bryan Dillon

    Bryan Dillon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I fixed the memory problem by removing a stick of ram that was causing the problem.
    It is frustrating that I cant seem to fix this.View attachment W7F_04-11-2012.zip
     

    Attached Files:

    #30 Bryan Dillon, Nov 5, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
  11. usasma

    usasma Fantastic Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    83
    SP1 isn't installed, please do the following:
    You have a NETGEAR WNDA3100v2 N600 Wireless Dual Band USB Adapter - Win7 doesn't like these devices, especially when combined with older (Vista era) drivers. Here's my rant on the subject:
    You only have entries in the System log file from Event Viewer up through 31 July 2012

    Lot's of license activation failures in the Application log file from Event Viewer. If this is a pirated copy of Win7 it's possible that we won't even be able to fix it. The reason for this is that the modifications made to make a pirated copy work are sometimes the very things that cause problems inside the OS.

    No evidence of BSOD's in the reports tho. As such I'd have to wonder about hardware issues. Please try these free diagnostics: Hardware Diagnostics
     

Share This Page

Loading...