Do You Use Windows 7 Back-Up?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by alfred01, Jul 6, 2011.

  1. alfred01

    alfred01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    77
    Hello. I was just wondering if you use the built-in Windows 7 back-up utility and what you think of it. I don't know much about computers and need something to use for back-up that kinda does it itself. I don't even know if that's an accurate description of Windows 7 back-up. Thanks to anyone who can share their experience with me.

    David
     
  2. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    194
    I use the built in windows backup, is nice and easy to setup. Does the job. I create a system image and then do incremental updates.
     
  3. alfred01

    alfred01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    77
    Thank You nmsuk. First let me congratulate you on your promotion. Now, if you don't mind me asking you a couple questions. Where does it save the backup to and is this place accessable if you have a system crash and you can just reinstall from this backup.

    Thanks, David
     
  4. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    194
    You can configure it to the store the backups where you want eg removable usb hdd, yes you can restore with the images. Using a windows 7 restore disc. You can create the windows restore boot disk from within the backup util.
     
  5. alfred01

    alfred01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    77
    Thanks again nmsuk. David
     
  6. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    194
    No problem. I'm here to help when I can.
     
  7. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,045
    Likes Received:
    300
    Hi

    Me too, and my Windows 7 restore disk boots my computer and accesses it with no problems.
    I've never actually had to use it but I'm pretty sure it would work it it needed to.

    Which reminds me, it's time to update my backups.

    Mike
     
  8. JMH

    JMH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    30
    Hi All;

    I do use win 7's built in backup utility in addition to using Acronis (just in case) and find each has both its pro's and con's but over all I think I like Acronis a bit more. If the OS is "stuffed" and one does not have the win 7 dvd (a common occurrence these days) Acronis is a clear winner.

    JMH
     
  9. Ciara

    Ciara New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,352
    Likes Received:
    53
    No ... seamed a bit slow to me ... still depends on how much your backing up !
     
  10. geek

    geek New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used to back up with Windows 7 Backup, it's a good solution, but now I use Handy Backup for windows 7 backup, very easy to use and full featured backup software.
     
  11. bru

    bru New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is where I get confused. In the Backup and Restore utility I can create a System Repair Disk which I believe is different than a restore disk. Or are you talking about System Image which I don't create on a disk. I also have System Recovery Disks created but I know those are different.

    View attachment 15418
     
  12. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,045
    Likes Received:
    300
    Hi

    If I remember this correctly the System Repair Disk will boot your computer and let you access your system image which is saved elsewhere.
    I.e. on an external hard drive or DVDs.

    You still need to create the backup separately but the System Repair Disk will let you restore a computer that's unbootable.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    A system Restore Disk it a copy of the operating system, that you can create on computers that come to you without a Windows Install disk.
    I'm afraid this is true of most new computers now.

    It shouldn't be, every computer should come with a Windows Installation disk.
    Too many people never get around to creating the Restore Disk and when there computer crashes they have no easy way of restoring Windows.

    Mike
     
  13. bru

    bru New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hope I'm not completely missing something but it's clear that the System Repair Disk is created in Backup&Restore. Then you mention a System Restore Disk. Where is this disk created?
     
  14. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,045
    Likes Received:
    300
    Hi

    Usually on new computers there is a utility someplace that starts the process.
    This is added by the Manufacturer I think and is not really part of Windows.

    On my wife's Dell there was a link in the list when you open the Start Menu that said something like Create System Restore Disks.

    When you clicked on it it told you to label a DVD, System Restore 1 or something like that, and insert it in the drive, then is said Next and started coping the Windows Installation files to the DVD, I think it took two disks on my wife's computer.

    You don't need to do this if your computer came with a real Windows Install disk as my computer did, but on lap tops they usually don't.

    What kind of Computer do you have?
    You could try going to you computer manufacturer's site and look for Create System Restore Disks and see what you find.
    I know Dell has a page devoted to this. The terminology is kind of mixed I think they call it a System Recovery Disk.

    Note that running a system Restore usually formats the hard drive and installs a new copy of Windows so you don't want to do it unless it's the last resort.

    Mike
     
  15. bru

    bru New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a HP desktop and it didn't come with any Windows disks. I really don't know too many that do so if you got one that's good. Even my desktop I bought seven years ago didn't come with genuine disks.

    When I first got this computer I created what HP calls "Recovery Disks" which took 3 DVDs. So that's the same as what you did with your wifes computer. The "System Repair Disk" is what I created in the Backup and Restore utility. So I guess my "Recovery Disks" is what this thread is calling "Restore Disks". Using the "Recovery Disk" will put it back to factory condition. The "Repair Disk" just repairs Windows. And on top of that I have a recovery partition to use as well. It gets confusing for sure.
     

Share This Page

Loading...