Fixing Widows Start and Apps don't work?

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Help and Support' started by MikeHawthorne, May 14, 2016.

  1. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,183
    Likes Received:
    330
    Hi

    My friend called and his apps and start button don't work.
    I had him run SFC /scannow and that didn't find anything.

    The next solution was to reinstall all the apps.

    He is trying to do this through the command prompt by running.

    Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers | Foreach

    {Add-AppxPackage

    -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register

    "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

    But when he tries to run the last line it always says it can't find path.
    Unspecified path.

    I'm assuming that it should say something in the "InstallLocation" but what?

    I got this information from this post....

    Has your Windows 10 Start menu stopped working? Here are four ways to fix it

    Anyone know what's going wrong here?

    Mike
     
  2. holdum333

    holdum333 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    148
    BIGBEARJEDI likes this.
  3. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,183
    Likes Received:
    330
    Hi

    That's seems to be exactly the same as the lines above, and it won't run the last line.
    The first 3 lines work.

    I'm trying to not have him reset his computer, but it may come to that.

    I think this may be do to an update, but I'm not sure.

    Mike
     
  4. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,183
    Likes Received:
    330
    Hi

    Got it fixed, it was tough getting to the settings screen without having the start menu work, but once there I had him look for Windows updates.

    There was a new update available and after running it the computer was working after rebooting.

    Mike
     
  5. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    3,035
    Likes Received:
    470
    To the Add-AppxPackage part of that command the Path part, if not declared with the positional switch -Path, needs to be the first argument.


    Get-AppxPackage -AllUsers | ForEach { Add-AppxPackage "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppxManifest.xml" -Register -DisableDevelopmentMode }
     
    MikeHawthorne likes this.
  6. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,183
    Likes Received:
    330
    Thanks that makes sense, as I said we did finally get it fixed.
    A Windows update caused it and another one fixed it.
     
  7. BIGBEARJEDI

    BIGBEARJEDI Fantastic Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,220
    Likes Received:
    267
    Yes, "We" did, but I think we also got a little lucky on this one... :clover::clover: ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...