Insider Preview Problem with ISO file of windows 10

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Help and Support' started by Baset Kh, Jul 8, 2015.

  1. Baset Kh

    Baset Kh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an ISO file of windows 10.
    can i install it directly from hard-disk, without mount it. I have no CD/DVD Drive on my Desktop.
    I don't know how to do that or who can help me.

    Please help.

    Baset
     
  2. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Sure...you need to download Rufus and use that software to create a bootable USB drive. Once done the process is just like install from a disc.
     
  3. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I saw someone mention if you want to do an upgrade install, you can mount the file without needing a DVD.

    I don't know what exactly you mean by mount, but right click the file and select mount. It will now be available as if you had it on a DVD in a drive.

    Doing as bassfisher suggests is always a good idea if you wanted to keep the file and use for a clean install at some point.
     
    bassfisher6522 likes this.
  4. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Another way, Baset KH, is to create another partition on your existing HD. Make it at least 20gbs. Make a folder there called setup (for your convenience)
    Expand the iso file into the new folder. You can then run setup.exe from there

    I use my external, just for that purpose, so that I can revert back to previous builds when needed.
     
  5. Baset Kh

    Baset Kh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank a lot all of you for Helping me. You people are so friendly kind.

    Thanks you so much.
     
  6. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    125
    I didn't even mount it last time to do an upgrade, as long as your within Windows already you can just extract the ISO with something like 7-zip and run Setup.exe
     
    Drone1x likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...