[SoS] Blue Screen [SoS]

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by heartsurfer008, May 16, 2010.

  1. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    64
    My thoughts are to disable the on board grahics and put in a new Graphic card. People more knowledgeable than me can recommend a good one for that board. I do not think your on board graphic card is a good fit tor W7 are you running 64 bit or 32 bit W7. I am personally a fan of Nvidia chip-set cards, many others here will tell you ATI is better. To me it 6 of one and half dozen of the other when it comes to Graphics cards.
     
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    If you think it is the Video driver for your onboard system, you need to check if you have the latest. I am showing several revisions of your board, so only you can tell. You would need the Chipset/VGA/SATA drivers.

    If Win 7 is replacing the ones you download, you might try to stop that. Once you decide which ones are best, you can use those.

    I also noticed some of the bios updates affect the VGA settings. These would be F3 and F4, so you might want to check if you have those. But once again, this might be revision specific.
     
  3. heartsurfer008

    heartsurfer008 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    You mean to say is that I must not update driver from windows..???
     
  4. heartsurfer008

    heartsurfer008 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Should I update my BIOS..???

    Please also tell me if its risky & the procedure to do it..!!!
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,817
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Follow these instructions and you should be fine..:
    @BIOS

    Your motherboard can be found here:
    GA-MA78GM-S2H (rev.1.1) - GIGABYTE - Support&Download - Motherboard - BIOS

    Notice in the screenshot I've arrowed the revision numbers: make sure you get the right board. You'll find the revision number on the actual motherboard so do check as it's extremely important. I'd flash with the most current bios for your board and do please follow the instructions to the letter. Using @Bios (link above) the process is pretty much automated so it easier than normal flashing..
     
  6. heartsurfer008

    heartsurfer008 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I have the following updates for my BIOS, which of them do you think is really necessary..!!!

    GA-MA78GM-S2H (rev.1.0) - GIGABYTE - Support&Download - Motherboard - BIOS
     
  7. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    What I am saying is bios update F4 and maybe F5 has VGA updates. If you have those or later, do not worry about it.

    Micorsoft does not always supply the best driver. If your system is working, you may want to consider whether to allow Microsoft to update a driver. At least keep track of the drivers and be ready to roll back to a working driver in case Windows does give you a bad option.

    Which bios are you currently running?
     
  8. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    Sorry I'm a bit late to the party as I only just noticed this thread :eek:

    looking over your posts I doubt this is hardware and feel this is most likely to be a software issue ?

    this latest .dmp file when run through windows debugger comes up with
    when debugger states KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED it's very likely a driver initiated by a process, which in this case was Chrome then references an illegal address and this crashes the NT kernel > ntkrnlmp.exe ?

    (ntkrnlmp.exe = "NT KeRNeL, Multi-Processor version" (Windows) BSODs frequently get attributed to ntkrnlmp, purely because it was dealing with bad data ! )

    the first steps to cure this is to find the offending driver and update it ?

    these two drivers named in the crash are a year out of date
    Rt64win7.sys is your realtek network card driver ?
    atikmdag.sys is your ATI gfx card ?

    install the latest version of BIOS available for your motherboard ?

    also what antivirus and or third party firewall are you using ?

    to help eliminate the possibility this could be hardware please test your memory, and I get consistent results by burning to CD (using an ISO burner) & running from boot memtest86+ for at least 5 passes and moving the sticks between slots running them together and singly to verify motherboard ram slots work as well as each ram stick ?

    there are more steps to take if this doesn't solve your problem as ideally we could do with a crash .dmp that names the offending driver , but for now update those old drivers and run memtest86 then let us know how it goes ?
     
    #28 ickymay, May 25, 2010
    Last edited: May 25, 2010
  9. heartsurfer008

    heartsurfer008 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I guess I was rite about CHROME then..!!!

    I use NOD 32 64 bit Anti Virus..!!!

    & yes RTL8168 is my network card..!!!

    How do I get the info of the present version of BIOS.???

    & can you suggest me which BIOS update is necessary for my hardware..???

    I have 1 more doubt if the Blue Screen in my PC is caused by CHROME then why do I get it when I try to format my PC to WINDOWS 7..???

    But I don't get that when I format it to XP..!!!
     
    #29 heartsurfer008, May 25, 2010
    Last edited: May 25, 2010
  10. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    chrome is not necessarily the cause here but more the catalyst in this analyzed crash .dmp only ?

    follow what Kemical said and install the newest BIOS offered specific to your motherboard and revision number ?

    I would also unninstall NOD32 and replace with MSE for debugging purposes :)

    if your Realtek network card is the 8168 C then get your driver from here on the Realtek site ?
     
    #30 ickymay, May 26, 2010
    Last edited: May 26, 2010
  11. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,817
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    If you watch the screen closely when booting up then the first screen you see (the one with the HDD's listed) will have written somewhere near the top. Or try using this app found here: CPUID - System & hardware benchmark, monitoring, reporting

    See screenshot:



    Oh and as to which bios to use.... The latest one is generally the best as it contains all the latest updates..
     
    #31 kemical, May 26, 2010
    Last edited: May 26, 2010
  12. heartsurfer008

    heartsurfer008 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well the foll attachment has the details now can you please please tell me if I need a BIOS update..!???
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Captain Jack

    Captain Jack Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,952
    Likes Received:
    139
    Hello !!

    I was just going through the entire thread seems like each time it shows each problem. Most of the crashes happens by a rouge drivers what Windows some times catches it might is not recording in Minidump correctly. So what i would suggest is to delete all the MiniDumps from the folder then enable the Driver Verifier. Follow this thread and Enable Driver Verifier. Using Driver Verifier to identify issues with Drivers - Windows 7 Forums If its a software problem Driver Verifier would catch it. Also run this Tool SF Diagnostic Tool

    Note:
    Some Antivirus / Firewall are telling that SF Diagonstic Tool is Trogan its just a False postive becasue the publisher is unknown. Nothing to worry it won't harm your Computer

    When you Run the Tool make sure you Right Click on the SF Diagnostic Tool.exe and Run as administrator. It might take around 2 to 3 mins to Generate the whole report

    Once you Run the Tool it will Generate the Output under your Desktop under a Folder called "Seven Forum"

    Right Click on "Seven Forum" Folder Send To > Compressed (zipped) Folder and upload it here

    Hope this helps,
    Captain
     
    #33 Captain Jack, May 31, 2010
    Last edited: May 31, 2010
  14. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,817
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  15. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Alright, let's see here.

    Please uninstall TuneUp Utilities:

    Code:
    TuneUpUtilitiesDriver64 TuneUpUtilitiesDriver64.sys Thu Sep 17 07:54:52 2009

    Please install the latest video card driver:

    Code:
    atikmdag atikmdag.sys Fri Apr 24 06:51:57 2009 
    Drivers & Support | GAME.AMD.COM

    Please install the latest Realtek lan driver for Win7 64 bit found at the next link:

    Realtek

    Code:
    Rt64win7 Rt64win7.sys Thu Feb 26 04:04:13 2009
    Please post a new crash dump after doing these things, but I don't think it is going to be necessary. Enjoy...but we're here if it is.
     
  16. heartsurfer008

    heartsurfer008 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will give it a try, thank you..!!!
     
  17. heartsurfer008

    heartsurfer008 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
  18. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,817
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    See attached screenshot:
     
  19. heartsurfer008

    heartsurfer008 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sir but F12A is BETA BIOS..!!!

    Is it fine if I install that..???
     
  20. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Yes, that shall be fine. Anyhow, have you made the changes that I and others have suggested about drivers/software? If so, how's it been going now?
     

Share This Page

Loading...