Windows 7 Installation Problems Solved!

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Tutorials' started by Vadim Cool, Jan 21, 2009.

  1. Vadim Cool

    Vadim Cool Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    6
    Indeed, very true, and also useful if you want to copy your Windows on the same harddrive when normally some windows files are write or copy protected. :) Nahh, don't do that unless you really have to or a pro! Because the reversing process might be a bit harder to do with 1 and only main harddrive. :D

    Anyways, also I need to correct Microsoft ONCE AGAIN!
    Installation of Windows 7 doesn't require 16gb, but less than 9gb actually!
    That's almost half of what they say we'll need as MINIMUM. Total non-sense!
    Don't believe everything that your read, but keep an open mind though!
     
    #21 Vadim Cool, May 9, 2009
    Last edited: May 9, 2009
  2. Jormanks

    Jormanks New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi.
    As you can see, I'm new here, but been reading this forum and I think you could help me.
    You see, I have this laptop (a compaq, don't remember the model) with vista in it and a second partition form HP with all the stuff I need to reset the computer to factory defaults.
    Well, that laptop had vista, but I chose to format that partition (previously saving my files and stuff on my desktop PC) and do a clean install of Windows 7.
    As I was working on it I decided to make 3 partitions (4 altogether) just in case i decided to install Vista Again, and everything went smoothly, my laptop was running win 7 and I loved it!
    but when I was installing stuff, it crashed and erased everything. Rebooted, and was empty. I mean, it does log in to windows but it has no programs installed. Not even the games!
    I formated and reinstalled, but this happened once again. So, why this does happen?
     
  3. RiPPeN

    RiPPeN New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys i'm having issues installing windows7... i have a Compaq PresarioM2000 Laptop, i'm trying to install it and when it does "Starting up windows..." it comes up with a bsod, that says IRQL_ROOT something or other ... any ideas?
     
  4. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Excellent job my friend! :) A very thought out guide.. I've been lucky and haven't encountered a few of those problems as well.. ;)
     
  5. Chuck E

    Chuck E New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Installation Requirements

    Hi, I have two questions. The first is; how will the RTM (final to public) edition have to be installed. Can it be installed over the RC as the beta was over Vista, or will it have to be more a repeat of the horrible situation with RC over Beta? I say horrible because in the full image backup i lost all traces of both Windows and Outlook, including all files and the address book in Outlook. Both of these were the 2007 version and I have been left essentially helpless. If it can go over the RC then things might not be so bad. Does anyone have any idea how I might recover any of those files? I would really appreciate the help. The backup was done onto a WD 160GB My Book hard drive and was about 60GB in size.

    I would dearly hate to have something similar happen this time around, I'm just hoping that the RTM is close enough to the RC that a direct installation like the one from Vista will be adequate. Thanks. For the record I am very pleased with W7.
     
  6. Vadim Cool

    Vadim Cool Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    6
    hehe

    Well I don't think there are anyone yrt that have RTM besides Microsoft.
    And therefor no one knows. And btw, if you want to make a real image backup, do it manually.
    By booting from another Win with Win7 on a 2nd HDD and not copy, but convert and compress the whole Windows 7 folders into a zip/rar/7z or into whatever archive file format from your 2nd drive where you have your Win7 installed unto C drive of your current booted Windows or unto a 3d HDD. But that is if you are not using a Laptop PC.
    If you are using a Laptop PC, then I'm not sure on how to make it boot from an external HDD or if it will even be possible to copy any files from the main HDD unto another external HDD. So can't help you much there. Then you'll have to do what you have to do mate.
     
  7. degal

    degal New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice topic!

    :) :D :p

    Windows 7 really has some bugs but its a good system
     
  8. dubie76

    dubie76 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I am new here and having an issue. I hope you all can help. I have an ISO burned to DVD. I insert disk, it opens and I get the window that asks install now or check compatability on line. I have already run the compatability manager and I am ok to install. I click install and it runs then I get an error

    "Windows was unable to create a required installation folder. Please reconfigure your boot.wim file to use flag 9 settings for the first image, and restart your installation. Error code 0x8030002F

    Google search is no help.
     
  9. markberkel

    markberkel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Error message installing Windows 7

    Hello Vadim Cool (or some one else),

    I Wanted to install the new Windows 7, but I got on error when installing.
    The error is: Windows could not set the local offline information. Error code 0x80000001.

    I already installed windows service pack 1. I've got a Dutch version of Windows vista, and I got the Dutch version of Windows 7.

    Can somebody help me with this problem?
    I already searched the web and google, but i couldn't find anything.

    Greetz Mark
     
  10. cryspler

    cryspler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have the exact same problem.. anybody can tell us what to dooooooo ?? :<
     
  11. Imtiaz383

    Imtiaz383 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you help me? : (

    The final instance that shows completing installation shows an error, "windows setup could not configure windows to run on this computers hardware".
    I've done usb burning and booting.
    Both Upgrade and Custom.
    Intel Centrino 2, Core2duo, 4Gb Ram, Vista home premium.
    Can you help?
    Google's a bitch, it's got nothing.
    PLEAASEE!!!! help me!!
    i don't think i have a faulty hard drive, i previously did but i'm done with the replacement...2nd of all, why wouldn't my pc support this 7 ultimate, home premium and basic?
    Toshiba Upgrade assistance justifies "This model does not support upgrade to Windows 7".
    Windows upgrade advisor displays BEHOLD the "Update available" for most drivers in my computer. And i've done all i can.
    DO yoU have a solution to this problem????
    i took it to the mechanics, but those bullshits won't fix it because i downloaded and illegal OS from the internet.
    NTFS, 60Gb for custom install was done but i was unlucky to get the problem solved.
    Vista setup utility at start up, i changed the SATA controller from there and setting it to "Compatibility" from "AHCI" mode but lost my boot up screen with a vista BSOD, Blue screen.....
    I disabled USB Legacy mode and was unsuccessful.
    I've tried all i can, is there anything else you can sujjest to this problem?
    i don't think my ATI Radeon video card is causing the problem. Upgrade advisor did show "reinstall after upgrade", but it still doesn't fix the problem. PLEEAAASSEEE reply me as soon as you can, it's been a month...
    My old computer works well on the first try, this one is much more latest than of that. I have no idea what else to say.
     
  12. Bugerion2

    Bugerion2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    ''Windows cant retrive information about disks on this computer'' this is the text i get when on screen appears ''setup is starting'' anyone knows what is the problem I tryed with drivers and something with virtual disk but still nothing.If someone can solve this he would be helping not just me but also a lot of other people.
     
  13. boarderxtrm

    boarderxtrm New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    windows 7 installation error

    I've gotten windows 7 now that its out. I've tried installing the 32 and 64 bit versions, but neither installation has been successfull due to the same problem. The setup seems to run fine until then end when finalizing the installation. The Error cmd.exe; please insert disc into drive. I click try again, or continue, and it then shuts down. After this my asus laptop restarts and tries to run the windows vista setup from the recovery partition (the computer came with windows vista pre-installed).

    Any ideas?
     
  14. PaulSniper

    PaulSniper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey i'm having a different problem when upgrading to windows 7 from Windows vista...after setup has finished copying files, and setup is about to start, an error message comes up saying "Windows cannot determine which language to install"...my computer is in English...so i'm really not sure what else i could possibly do...
     
  15. FeistFan

    FeistFan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, I was trying to install Windows 7 and it'll get about halfway through the 'Expanding Files' stage (at about 44%) and will then freeze. The percentage won't change by 1% for hours, what can I do?
     
  16. Vadim Cool

    Vadim Cool Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    6
    Having problems?

    You could try to install the same Windows 7 disc or using the same installation method on other computers and see if it will work. Ask your friend if you and he has a laptop or insert your harddrive into his stationary PC if you and he has a stationary one.

    And finally if all that fails, you have 3 choices.
    1. Ask someone else for help, like your PC manufacturer.
    2. Get a new PC with a pre-installed Windows 7.
    3. Buy an original Windows 7 disc after you bought a new PC compatible with Windows Vista or 7.

    Computers are getting more powerful and yet for the same price or even cheaper.
    Just buy a new one... :p
     
    #36 Vadim Cool, Jun 12, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2010
  17. shtani2000

    shtani2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried all the things described in the thread but nothing worked. I did find a solution for Windows 7 not installing! It seems I was having problems with the partitions. My main partition was set as E: not as C:. I tried using DISKPART to fix this, but couldnt since the pagefile is on E:. I couldnt format it either. So I had to use the Acronis Disk Director on a cd, booted from it and did as follows: Delete all partitions; create necessary partitions; format all partitions; set main partition (one that will have Windows 7) as active, and the rest primary( if planning on having dual or triple boot, set rest of pertitions as primary, if not, then logical is fine, or leave as primary). Apply changes. Main partition should be seen as C:, and active and primary partition. the rest are either primary or logical, but not active. Reboot PC. Load Windows 7 disc. Go to the part where it allows management of the partitions. Press Shift+F10, and enter DISKPART. List volumes and check if main partition is C:. If it is, continue with installation.
     
  18. Vadim Cool

    Vadim Cool Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    6
    There are two choices of 3 letters that comes into my mind. Either WOW or LOL. Not sure which one I should use...:)
    But I can imagine you had a long day...:D
     
  19. gosenta

    gosenta New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got problem while installing Windows 7.
    I choose Format Drive C while setup progress (choosing where windows will installed on), but after format done, setup was stop with message "setup was unable to create a new system on partition or locate an existing system partition".
    How I can solved this problem ?
    gosenta@yahoo.com.sg
     
  20. gosenta

    gosenta New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem solved, must unpluged flashdisk n other external device
     

Share This Page

Loading...