Windows 10 Windows search directories permissions removed again and again

echandon

Hello everyone,

I have this problem many people have had, it seems: Windows search stopped working all of a sudden. It may be because of a Windows update, it may not, I couldn't say. I've tried everything I could find on Google but no luck. The problem seems to be located at the search directories level (C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Search\Data) - at least that's what the troubleshooter says. And indeed, upon checking access rights on this folder, it appeared that I didn't have them. So I followed the procedure and gave them to my user (I'm an admin on my PC) for Data and all its sub-folders, with full control. I rebooted and I was able to check that, upon restarting, I still had them. But then, first time trying a search, bam, the rights were removed again! What is that about?!
Does someone know anything about this? I've had this PC for years, it has always worked well, so why on Earth has it become so troublesome suddenly?
Any help greatly appreciated.
Thanks,

ec

Ah. But I'm an admin user, not just a regular one.
So what should I do then for my Windows search to work again?

Right and even admin users as a regular user until UAC is invoked. I would try resetting the search app.

You can try running the following in Powershell
Code:
$package = Get-AppxPackage -Name "*Microsoft*Search*"

if($package) {
    $InstallManifest = "$($package.InstallLocation)\AppxManifest.xml"
    if(Test-Path -Path $InstallManifest) {
        Add-AppxPackage -Path $InstallManifest -Register -DisableDevelopmentMode
    } else {
        Write-Host "Could not locate install manifest"
    }
} else {
    Write-Host "Search application not found"
}

under the current microsoft default a admin user is a regular user and the true admin account is system i.e, that is why Microsoft are allowed to make changes to your computer without telling you ;)