Beware: Do Not Install

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by Kyle, Jan 20, 2009.

  1. Athlonite

    Athlonite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    10
    for all those wanting a cd/dvd emulator use winmount 3.2 or as above ultraiso
     
  2. blegs38552

    blegs38552 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    HP All in One

    I have an Officejet 6310 All in One connected to my router via Ethernet. Printer installs in Win 7 fine through the Add Printer function, but I can't install the HP software to get the scanner to work so far. HP says it will support in the final release, but does not necessarily support beta releases.

    Correction - for whatever reason, I was able to install the HP software a couple of days ago. I installed in VISTA computability more and ran the setup.exe as administrator. I thought I had tried that before, but it worked this time, and I am now able to scan into Adobe Acrobat 9.1 Professional.
     
    #22 blegs38552, Apr 2, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2009
  3. Rediew

    Rediew New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    These app works:

    Power iso (latest) for Vista (x64 if possible)
     
  4. francoeurdavid

    francoeurdavid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can we know if the problems is an OS killer or if we can fix the problem.

    Because I'm installed Photoshop CS4 but didn't use it yet so I shouldn't?
     
    #24 francoeurdavid, Apr 7, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2009
  5. aztm2

    aztm2 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0

    Well i just installed windows 7 and installed Adobe Master Collection CS4 and every thing is working but my windows update does not want to look for new updates and it did that befor i installed Adobe Master Collection CS4
     
  6. whoosh

    whoosh Cooler King
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25,700
    Likes Received:
    379
    Will roll back not work to repair the problems with installing software ? :confused:
     
  7. brandonM3

    brandonM3 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    MagicDisc works fine

    poweriso.. same thing - haven't had any problems with virtual drives yet
     
  8. jatboydelhi

    jatboydelhi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Power ISO works like charm with me, buddy. No installation hassles, no problems. Just click the set up and its done. TC
     
  9. whoosh

    whoosh Cooler King
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25,700
    Likes Received:
    379
    Rollback so easy :)

    I put this as a question b4 and said will rollback not work ? Well I will answer my own question it will ;)

    If you install software that will not work on windows 7- causes BSODs or crashes do a rollback !

    Insert windows 7 disk get to the repair windows bit and return to a time b4 you had the software installed that caused the problems .
     
  10. francoeurdavid

    francoeurdavid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could you edit the list on the first post with all the OS killers?
     
  11. Doc_Okidoki

    Doc_Okidoki New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    that is not so simple i gues ..
    the OS killers are not the same for every build of Win7 ..
     
  12. whoosh

    whoosh Cooler King
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25,700
    Likes Received:
    379
    There are I believe lists on this forum of OS killers as you say . Do a search on here and via google and you should turn up answers :)
    Guess everything is very fluid for now but in windows 7 Ultimate and pro they will be including windows xp mode so the things that at the moment cause BSODS may well be overcome :)
     
  13. OS_W7

    OS_W7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    HELP! I Tried to install Adobe Photoshop CS4, and Windows Update doesnt work! But the Photoshop CS4 did not even install?!
     
  14. Freeze

    Freeze New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!

    I just installed Win7 RC build 1100, and concluded that my Terratec Aureon 5.1 PCI works otherwise fine with the latest driver & software pack for 64-bit Vista from the manufaturer (v5.12.1.8) released 2007 *ahem*, but trying to access it's control panel from system tray causes OS to hang instantly with no error messages. Even the mouse cursor dies almost completely.

    The situation is repeatable, and verified by some other users also, so I suppose this is a manufacturer software glitch.

    I've emailed international@terratec.de asking for support, and I'm waiting for reply....

    Edit: Reply goes as follows:
     
    #34 Freeze, May 3, 2009
    Last edited: May 5, 2009
  15. whoosh

    whoosh Cooler King
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25,700
    Likes Received:
    379
    Hey anyone tried running the conflicting programs in windows xp mode ?
     
  16. carol_s

    carol_s New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    26
    No problem here - I installed the full Premium Design Suite CS4 - which includes Photoshop CS4, InDesign CS4, Dreamweaver CS4, Flash CS4, Acrobat CS4 and Illustrator CS4. All working perfectly and the Adobe updater worked fine too. Although this probably isn't the cause, did you deactivate your PS CS4 before re-installing on Win 7?? I say it probably isn't the cause because it should re-install and then tell you it cannot activate as you have exceeded your limits - in which case simply telephone the activation line and explain the situation and they will reactivate it for you.
     
    whoosh and (deleted member) like this.
  17. whoosh

    whoosh Cooler King
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25,700
    Likes Received:
    379
    Great post gotta give rep : Well done :)
     
  18. Koby

    Koby New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alcohol 120%

    Installed Windows 7 RC x64 on 5-01-09 and I have my copy of Alcohol 120% working perfectly and with no side effects thus far. Perhaps the problem resides with 52% only? Only software I am currently having problems with is Nero Recode 2 and Nero Showtime 3. Also AVG Free 8.5 doesn't seem to report properly to the OS.
     
    #38 Koby, May 4, 2009
    Last edited: May 4, 2009
  19. Suffix

    Suffix New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    nice posts guys, i was wondering if any of you had problems with the latest version of PowerISO?

    i havent installed it but im not going to untill i get an all clear, because magicdisk is the same kind of programme and has caused faults, please keep me posted, thanks.
     
  20. Master Chief

    Master Chief New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    3
    Not sure if any of these have been posted before, but here I go:

    O&O Defrag Professional: Causes major slowdowns when defragging (and sometimes when running idle) unless it's running in compatibility with Vista/XP.

    CamStudio: Stay faaar away from this one. When you install it and record something, the screen starts rapidly flashing random colors and crashes the computer. Not really an OS-killer, but still not to be installed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...