Windows 10 Boot disk failure message on first boot attempt

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Help and Support' started by Graham Matthews, Jun 21, 2016.

  1. Graham Matthews

    Graham Matthews New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Apologies if I am duplicating an issue here.

    Just recently I bought a new copy of Windows 10 64 bit and a Toshiba Q300 480g SSD.

    I removed the old HDD (which was still running XP), connected the SSD and tried to install Windows 10. No luck at all - it did not identify the SSD drive and wouldn't install.

    I replaced the old HDD and it installed straight away and perfectly but I wanted the installation on the SSD so I cloned the new installation from the regular HDD to the SSD.

    I disconnected the HDD and reconnected the SSD and fired the machine up. I got the message "Boot disk failure - insert system disk and press enter".

    I turned the machine off and turned it on again straight away and it booted up with no errors at all in double quick time. I figured that my problem was a one-off but no; every time I shut down correctly it will NOT start again on the first boot attempt but if I turn it off and on again it boots through no problem.

    If I put the old HDD back in it boots straight up.

    Today I tried a clean install on to the SSD and before I began the install I formatted the partition I was going to install on (partition C).

    The install went great but I am back to square one with the boot error message - at the first attempt I still get the disk boot failure error message, I turn it off and on again straight away and it boots through.

    It also boots straight through on a 'restart'; it is only the clean boot from cold that gives me the problem.

    I tried he online support. They sent me an email with some suggestions, none of which worked and most of which were not relevant.

    I have Google'd this issue until my eyes started bleeding (metaphorically speaking) but simply cannot find an answer anywhere.

    So, if any of you out there in Windows 10 land have a fix for me I shall be eternally grateful.

    Graham
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,788
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hi Graham,
    I'm just wondering how old your machine is if it was running xp?

    Can you post the make and model of your machine please.

    SSD's always run better on AHCI mode as opposed to IDE so check in your Bios to see if you have that option.

    Also up to date SATA drivers would help. Did you install any drivers for the storage controllers?
     
  3. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    360
    Provide the computer make/model, it may not support Windows 10.
     
  4. Graham Matthews

    Graham Matthews New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0

    OK - does this help:

    OS Name Microsoft Windows 10 Home
    Version 10.0.10586 Build 10586
    Other OS Description Not Available
    OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
    System Name DESKTOP-I2VGBM8
    System Manufacturer DIXONSXP
    System Model Ei 307
    System Type x64-based PC
    System SKU
    Processor Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz, 3000 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
    BIOS Version/Date Phoenix Technologies, LTD 6.00 PG, 18/06/2007
    SMBIOS Version 2.5
    Embedded Controller Version 255.255
    BIOS Mode Legacy
    BaseBoard Manufacturer Foxconn
    BaseBoard Model Not Available
    BaseBoard Name Base Board
    Platform Role Desktop
    Secure Boot State Unsupported
    PCR7 Configuration Binding Not Possible
    Windows Directory C:\Windows
    System Directory C:\Windows\system32
    Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
    Locale United Kingdom
    Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "10.0.10586.420"
    Username DESKTOP-I2VGBM8\Graham Matthews
    Time Zone GMT Summer Time
    Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 3.00 GB
    Total Physical Memory 2.75 GB
    Available Physical Memory 1.02 GB
    Total Virtual Memory 4.00 GB
    Available Virtual Memory 1.83 GB
    Page File Space 1.25 GB
    Page File C:\pagefile.sys
    Hyper-V - VM Monitor Mode Extensions No
    Hyper-V - Second Level Address Translation Extensions No
    Hyper-V - Virtualisation Enabled in Firmware No
    Hyper-V - Data Execution Protection Yes


    I have tried update in the storage controller but it tells me that the optimum driver is installed.

    I will have to shut down/restart and check the BIOS.

    Thing is, it's running Windows 10 perfectly! The only problem is the clean boot message. And as I said earlier, if I put the old HDD with Windows 10 back in it boots with no problem.

    Graham

    Add - can't immediately spot anything relating to AHCI in BIOS but then again, not too sure quite where I might find it.
     
    #4 Graham Matthews, Jun 21, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2016
  5. Graham Matthews

    Graham Matthews New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Clearly it does support Windows 10 because I am running it right now. It is just the clean boot issue which is troubling me.

    Graham
     
  6. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    In your bios can you change it from Legacy mode to EFI/UEFI mode.
     
  7. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    360
    EFI mode will only work if Windows 10 is installed as such which can be determined by looking in disk management and see if there is a ESP partition. I would say this issue is due to how the old the BIOS is on the board and since it's such an old board there probably isn't any update to fix the issue.
     
  8. Graham Matthews

    Graham Matthews New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well since the consensus seems to be that it's the age of the board maybe I need to look at upgrading the board or *choke* building a new machine....... :)

    I hate built in obsolescence.

    Graham
     
  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,788
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  10. Graham Matthews

    Graham Matthews New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kemical

    Here is the Speccy info on the MB

    Manufacturer Foxconn
    Model 45GM/45CM (Socket 775)
    Chipset Vendor Intel
    Chipset Model i945G
    Chipset Revision A2
    Southbridge Vendor Intel
    Southbridge Model 82801GB (ICH7/R)
    Southbridge Revision A1
    System Temperature 40 °C
    BIOS
    Brand Phoenix Technologies LTD
    Version 6.00 PG
    Date 18/06/2007
    Voltage
    CPU CORE 1.232 V
    MEMORY CONTROLLER 1.504 V
    +3.3V 3.344 V
    +5V 5.000 V
    +12V 12.032 V
    -5V -4.672 V
    +5V HIGH THRESHOLD 3.011 V
    CMOS BATTERY 3.264 V
    PCI Data
    Slot PCI
    Slot Type PCI
    Slot Usage In Use
    Bus Width 32 bit
    Slot Designation PCI1
    Characteristics 5V, PME
    Slot Number 0
    Slot PCI
    Slot Type PCI
    Slot Usage In Use
    Bus Width 32 bit
    Slot Designation PCI2
    Characteristics 5V, PME
    Slot Number 1
    Slot PCI
    Slot Type PCI
    Slot Usage In Use
    Data lanes x16
    Slot Designation PCI3
    Characteristics 5V, PME
    Slot Number 2
    Slot PCI
    Slot Type PCI
    Slot Usage Available
    Data lanes x1
    Slot Designation PCI4
    Characteristics 5V, PME
    Slot Number 3

    Couldn't post earlier as have been to work. :-(

    Graham
     
  11. Graham Matthews

    Graham Matthews New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    As a kind of update I have been loading all of my needed software (again) and tried the 'sleep' button on my MS keyboard which effectively turned the machine off.

    When I hit the on button again it booted straight through! I shall, of course, try that again and if it works again that will be my preferred method of shutdown and boot.

    We shall see......

    Graham
     
  12. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    360
    Just to be clear sleep is not shutting the computer off. Power off is the S5 power state (this is also known as soft off). Sleep will put your computer in one of the following states S1, S2, S3 depending on what your system support. S4 is hibernate. There is also a "lite sleep" S0 mode on newer computers). Lastly there is G3 which is mechanical off or when the computer is unplugged.
     
  13. Graham Matthews

    Graham Matthews New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well it must have been a one-off because the next time I got a "windows has encountered a problem" message and it rebooted itself.

    So effectively - for the time being at least - I am back to the start on the second attempt scenario. Having said that, when it does boot through it is lightning quick so happy, happy, happy with that.

    On an unrelated note, less happy with the fact that 10 does not run my 32 bit TWAIN Canon scanner.

    Still, onward and upward.

    Graham
     
  14. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,788
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hi Graham,
    can you post the full make and model.
     
  15. Graham Matthews

    Graham Matthews New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a flatbed CanonScan LIDE 20. It is quite old. I tried installing the drivers from the original CD just in case but it wasn't having any of it.

    It's amazing how you just get attached to stuff. HiFi wise I am still running a 1975 Trio amp and tuner and a set of 1978 Sansui 4 way speakers..... still sounds awesome even at their age!

    Graham
     
  16. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,788
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hi Graham,
    I checked the support page but nothing doing. It say's drivers should be with the os so you might be stuck with it
    CanoScan LiDE 20
     
  17. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,044
    Likes Received:
    300
    Hi

    Scanners for some reason seem to be the thing that they don't update drivers for.
    Back when I moved up to Windows 98 I had a professional HP 11 by 17 scanner that was pretty expensive when I bought it about 3 years before.

    It wouldn't work in Windows 98 and when I contacted HP they just told me they had no planes to update the drivers.

    I was so mad I never bought an HP product again.

    Later I had the same issue when going to Windows 7 with my Epson scanner.

    What really made my mad was that after getting more or less the same message from them, I found that there was aftermarket software that will run almost any scanner on any Windows computer.

    I had to buy it, but it did save me from having to replace another perfectly good scanner.

    I'm pretty sure that this was the software that I used back then...

    VueScan Scanner Software for Windows, Mac OS X and Linux

    You might want to check it out, I think they have a trial period so you can try it to make sure it works.

    I have an Cannon scanner now! LOL

    Mike
     
    #17 MikeHawthorne, Jun 22, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2016
    kemical likes this.
  18. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
    Yes I think that is the one I used for the same reason. Now I just get multifunction printers. Don't really have the need for the large format scanners anymore.
     
  19. Graham Matthews

    Graham Matthews New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well here's an update to the booting issue, and how strange is this?

    I had to dismantle everything the other day to add a second drive for additional storage which meant all cables were pulled including the power cable.

    When I plugged everything back in and turned it on it booted straight through without any 'boot disk failure' message and it was lightning fast boot as well.

    So after I shut down again I pulled the mains plug and plugged it straight back in. I noticed a small light on the front panel was then lit and concluded from this that what I thought was 'off' wasn't really off, it was 'almost off but not quite.' :)

    Anyhow, I have worked out that as long as I pull the mains plug after shutdown it will boot properly when I switch on again.

    Happy bunny!
     

Share This Page

Loading...