BSOD at start up 3 to 4 times per week.

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by parishpete, Oct 1, 2010.

  1. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Yeah, you could try a restore to see if the Realtek shows back up in the device manager now that you know the external hdd was the cause of the bsods.
     
  2. parishpete

    parishpete New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    I just logged into safe mode and a message came up to say audio drivers installed successfully. back into Win 7 proper and they aren't.....

    Pete
     
  3. parishpete

    parishpete New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    Torrent

    Just a note to apologise for taking up so much of your time. I didn't expect for one moment that the driver issue would be so resilient to repair.

    In the 20 odd years I've run windows machines I've never come accross such an insurmountable problem.

    What is odd is that the original drivers on the OEM disc fail to load also.

    Other than Azailia Audio and the 2 choices of audio sets it gives there is no other reference to audio in the bios. I did make the mistake of seeting the defaults when I upgraded the bios but audio was enabled and OS PnP off. whether that has had any bearing on further installation I don't know.

    I do hope you can assist further.

    kind regards

    Peter
     
  4. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Pete, Plug and Plah OS should be on. What is the state of your PC right now? Bsod's?
     
  5. parishpete

    parishpete New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    Cybercore,

    It's fine except for audio. but then BSOD's only ever came at startup & the external was permanently attached.

    It's just a thought, but OS PnP was set to off in the BIOS when the main chipset drivers were installed.

    The chipset software also loaded Nvidia ethernet, SMU and away controls in addition to RAID & display. The first 3 weren't originally installed.

    Does this have any bearing?

    regards

    Pete
     
  6. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Not that I have personally experienced this dependency, I don't think so. What is your sound card exact model, let's try to install the driver. Realtek, correct? 5.1 or 7.1?
     
  7. parishpete

    parishpete New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    It's just on-board 8 channel audio, no card installed.

    It may be part of the issue where the DVD drives suddeny had no drivers, I presume this was down OS PnP being off. MATS cured that ok.

    regards

    Pete
     
  8. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    1. Uninstall your audio

    2. Reboot

    3. In SAFE MODE mode,Driver Sweeper for Realtek

    4. Install the latest, Realtek

    It's High Definition Audio Codecs you need, Vista, Windows7 Driver (32/64bits) Driver R2.52, 2010/9/6.
     
  9. parishpete

    parishpete New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    The bad new is:

    Torrent already suggested running Guru in safe mode which I did and swept all trace of Realtek.
    Then I installed in normal mode the drivers you recommend (downloaded this morning).

    Drivers weren't successfully installed.

    I'll give it one more try and if it fails again I think a gamble is called for. Having set the BIOS correctly earlier today, I'll reinstall the Nvidia chipset drivers which should catch any PnP issues, then I'll install the audio drivers.

    If that fails I'll set a restore point now & roll back the system to friday and see what happens

    Do you agree?

    regards

    Pete
     
  10. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    That means your audio is not Realtek (perhaps Intel or VIA?), or is disabled, or broken.


    WHAT IS DEVICE MANAGER CODE FOR THE HD AUDIO DEVICE?
     
  11. parishpete

    parishpete New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    The Asus download is Realtek for M/B M4N78

    If you mean error code it's 39

    Pete
     
  12. parishpete

    parishpete New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    Torrent & Cybercore,

    Good news. System restore has brought back sound! Though it is an MS HD driver which is in place. It has also put me back to where I started save for the Bios update.

    I'll go through the raft of driver updates and set restore points before each change. If I mess up I can take a step back.

    There are still some quirks. Aero seems to stop working now and again, sometimes needing a restart.

    I think I can probably leave you in peace for a while!

    One final question. As we've found, the Freeagent Pro is probably the source of my woes. It's probably my fault as I haven't installed the software (it wasn't properly supported for ESATA) and just let it connect as a drive though I assigned a permanent drive letter so that MS Synctoy could find it irrespective of other devices being assigned letters. I will see what updates are available.

    When I tried to set chkdsk running on it the path chkdsk /r H: was invalid. any thoughts?

    Thank you both so much for your patience and effort in helping me.

    I attach the driver file since restore so that you can cast an eye over it.

    Kind regards

    Pete
     

    Attached Files:

  13. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Now that sound is back, I'd simply try installing the Realtek driver from the linked page. Use the auto-installer version.

    If H: is accessed as a normal drive in Explorer, no reason that command shouldn't immediately work well. Run the command prompt as administrator. Right click the shortcut and choose that to do so.

    Perhaps make a screen shot of the invalid error as it might jog a memory...sometimes pictures can help better than the actual error message.

    Very welcome...glad things are going better now.
     
    #53 TorrentG, Oct 4, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2010
  14. parishpete

    parishpete New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    I think I've reached the goal. I'm back to where you wanted me to be but I can hear it!!

    I attach the 'after' driver list. I know there are the few oldies in there but unfortunately they are part of latest software.

    If the Cam drivers are still on the list ignore them, they've gone.

    On the way through, the DVD drivers got knocked out again but MATS put them right.

    I checked the seagate site. As far as I can see there is no new software for the freeagent pro which is considerably disappointing for a 3 year old drive.

    I'll install the proper seagate software and see if it updates.

    Many thanks

    Pete
     

    Attached Files:

  15. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Cool, yeah, there's a thing or two I don't like in there but if you aren't getting bsods, then no issue I suppose.

    If there are any crashes, post them. Other than that, all that's left is to enjoy the machine bsod-free. :)

    Good job.
     
  16. parishpete

    parishpete New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    Tried installing seagate software, Win 7 didn't like it - BSOD - so restored back. There is no new software.

    Currently running chkdsk on it (BTW correct format is chkdsk H: /r. not /r H:) lucky I still own a DOS manual!

    I'll see what it has to say. I just have time to repaint the house while it's running!

    I think the probem comes at shutdown and results in startup BSOD so if I do use the drive I'll disconnect before shutdown. I could try USB rather than ESATA connection. This drive never did have proper ESATA support.

    regards

    Pete
     
  17. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Cool, yup...doesn't matter which way it's ran

    H: /r or /r H: does the same thing.
     
  18. parishpete

    parishpete New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well the scan of the freeagent completed reporting no errors and no bad sectors.

    The event viewer shows NTFS for this drive at RAID port 0. I can't help thinking it's a RAID/Non RAID issue in the way the disks are handled.

    The drive is only 2 years old but in ESATA terms it was very early on and support for it was pretty dire. Unfortunately that situation hasn't changed.

    I have started a thread on the Seagate forum to see what turns up.

    I'll give it a break for a week or so and try it on USB connection.

    Many thanks

    Regards

    Pete
     
  19. parishpete

    parishpete New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    I just had to copy this to you. It is a quote from the moderator of the Seagate forum and relates to someone else's problem with the same model drive I'm using. enjoy.

    "Part of the problem is that the FA Pro is the first generation of FreeAgent drives and is not really all that great with Windows 7. That is, we generally expect it to work but it won't always, and the software is even more problematic. Thing is, the software might work."

    Clearly a politician!

    regards

    Pete
     
    TorrentG and (deleted member) like this.
  20. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    lol yeah, right?

    Thanks for the post telling what the deal is. What the heck is wrong with them?

    Seagate, hire someone to write new software compatible with Win 7. [sarcasm] It's only been out since RTM over a year now. [/sarcasm]
     

Share This Page

Loading...