Does Windows 10 default to 59Hz refresh rate.

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Graphics and Gaming' started by Saltgrass, Aug 1, 2015.

  1. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I have two systems, one running Nvidia and one Intel graphics. On both systems, the default refresh rate was selected as 59 Hz by Windows 10. The monitors are rated at 60 Hz and the screen appears clean at that refresh rate where it appears fuzzy at 59 Hz.

    Is Windows 10 incorrectly deciding on a refresh rate? I thought it was supposed to get that info from the monitor, but it appears something may be wrong with that process.

    Thanks
     
  2. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    I just checked mine and it is set at 60 hertz. I don't know if running dual or more monitors makes a difference or not. I only have the one monitor.
     
  3. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Both of mine are single monitor. I noticed the last Nvidia update seemed fuzzy, so maybe they had already been set that way...

    Thanks
     
  4. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    I ran into that in Windows 7 I think I had to go in and create a custom profile to fix it.
    Joe
     
  5. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Thanks Joe, I have also seen it off and on. I don't why it would select 59 instead of 60 unless that was more compatible with more systems.

    I think I will start watching more closely because I could certainly tell the difference on the 2560x1440 display.
     
  6. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    I just checked mine and it shows the options as 60, 100, 120 and 144 Hz, all even numbers.

    Mike
     
  7. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Uhmmm.. I wonder why mine seem to default to 59 Hz.

    Thanks, Mike.
     
  8. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
  9. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Thanks Mike, I will have to keep that in mind. After I set both systems to 60 Hz, they stayed there. I know during the Preview, there were some reports of a fuzzy monitor. Possibly it was tied to this situation, because that is what happened to the 2560x1440. And that system does not run Media Center but does have the Cyberlink Power DVD software installed.

    Next time I watch Netflix or a DVD I will look very closely for the video presentation quality.
     
  10. Robert Miker

    Robert Miker New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also ran that into windows 7.
     
  11. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I was using the system yesterday and the Desktop and lighting must have been exactly right, but I could see noise lines running down the screen. Since that indicates a timing problem, I put it back to 59p Hz and the interference stopped. Perhaps an Windows update was involved, but the screen looks better so I will have to leave it on 59p Hz for a while to see how it goes.

    The other strange thing is the Refresh Rate shows as 59p Hz or 60p Hz, which I assume means progressive scan... Since my Nvidia system doesn't show the "p", maybe that is an Intel special designation or perhaps the higher resolution monitor uses it.

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...