Windows 7 Games that Work and Games that Don't.

Discussion in 'Windows Games' started by xNIAx1, Feb 6, 2009.

  1. Datagg

    Datagg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Probably allready stated as a working game...... BUT I fired up left 4 dead for the first time across the 7 builds and my god the visual quality of it. Deeper colors, flashlight reflections, You name it... I was just floored at how it looked in comparison to Vista and that is nothing to shake your head at either.....

    Has anyone else seen this difference yet, or is it just me?

    Current build 7057
     
  2. mogiman

    mogiman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    working

    working
    css
    age of empires 1,2 +exp
    empire earth 3
    combat flight sim 2 wwII pacific
    cfs3 battle for europe
    diablo 2+exp , with patches
    Tiger W 2005 in vista mode no admin
    BF2 in vista as admin(explore cd, change bf2.exe into vista compat mode or xp, run as admin)
     
    #22 mogiman, Mar 30, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2009
  3. Jeffyo

    Jeffyo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Farcry 2

    Can't seem to change the video settings. I want 1600x1050 and high settings. I have a BFG9800GTX+. It just locks up and becomes windowed for some reason. Like its stuck. I installed it through steam. Don't know if their extra crap they install like directx10 or anything like has anything to do with that.

    UT3 works - steam
    Left4dead Works - steam
    BF2 works
     
  4. BL4CK

    BL4CK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works:
    Prince Of Persia 2008
    Wanted : Weapons Of Fate
    Sniper Elite
    Devil May Cry 4
    Mirror's Edge (but hangs alot of time)

    Doesn't Work:
    NFS Undercover
     
    #24 BL4CK, Apr 3, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2009
  5. Drone1x

    Drone1x Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    3
    Here the Gamez I got Working So far......

    -Mirror's Edge
    -Tomb Raider Underworld
    -Silent Hill Homecoming
    -NFS Carbon
    -DuesEx GOTY Edition
    -X-Blades
    Prince of Persia 2008
    -F.E.A.R 2

    They ALL run GREAT with NO probs...lol
     
  6. Jaxx89

    Jaxx89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey @SLiM PiCKiNS how did Farcry 2 work
    it doesnt work for me
     
  7. pikolo75

    pikolo75 Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not working:
    Age of empire 3 - some problem with installshield , cod-1628.

    PS.
    The error was in the disc. I used a different version of the game and works well. Window 7 32 bit 7068
     
    #27 pikolo75, Apr 4, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2009
  8. blakegriplingph

    blakegriplingph New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    WORKING:
    * GTA IV (compatibility issues on setup; can be fixed by setting the compatibility mode to XP or Vista)
    * GTA San Andreas (works with no issues)
    * Need For Speed Undercover
    * The Sims 2
    * GTA Vice City

    NOT WORKING:
    * Any Asian MMO with GameGuard protection (SpecialForce, RAN, etc; besides, they look horrible :D)
    * Madeline 2nd Grade Math (crashes after Creative Wonders splash screen; compatibility mode doesn't work)
     
  9. Con

    Con New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anarchy Online works good.

    Having trouble getting Empire Earth to work well, it worked one time no problem but after that it is acting odd.
     
  10. dooglo

    dooglo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've noticed that no one has entered the following...

    WOW
    Diablo
    Diablo II
    Diablo II LOD

    These all installed and work fine on Win 7 build 7000.



    running on..

    ASUS m3n Pro
    AMD 6400 Black AM2
    4 GB PC6400 DDR2
    EVGA 8800 GTS
     
  11. brandonM3

    brandonM3 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    build (7048) x64 - Got MAMEx64 running too

    So far, these worked for me:

    Far Cry 2
    Fallout 3
    Cod 4
    Cod 5
    GTA IV
    Godfather II
    Burnout Paradise The Ultimate Box
    WOW
    Dead Space
    Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway

    The only game I've had probs with is Crysis Warhead, keeps freezing during the level load screen - just hangs.. changed compatability for vista and xp, still no luck

    Although Multiplayer has been giving me issues regardless of the game - singleplayer, no issues - online has been kicking me--

    Mame is nice though, been kicking some ass in Tekken 3
     
    #31 brandonM3, Apr 16, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2009
  12. hasi15

    hasi15 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    ='( i only got games that i wasnt able to start...
    COD2(only in multiplayer mode)
    diablo II and diablo II: LOD

    i sure could use some help if you know how to get these games started:confused::confused::confused:
     
  13. StMichael

    StMichael New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Drakan Order Of the Flame -Working
    Chaos Legion -Working
    X-blades -Working
    Quake 3 arena -Working
    Counter strike 1.6 -working (only on D3D-game crashes if you try to change the video options)
    Counter strike Source -working

    Mobile Forces -Working
    Need For Speed Undercover -Working
    AudioSurf -working
     
    #33 StMichael, Apr 17, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2009
  14. brandonM3

    brandonM3 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    some other ones

    Working:

    Unreal Tournament III
    Godfather I
    Max Payne
     
  15. -null-

    -null- Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thought I'd add the games I've managed to get to work

    Empire: Total War
    Command and Conquer 3 Tiberium Wars
    Command and Conquer Red Alert 3
    Command and Conquer Red Alert 3: Uprising
    Company of Heroes + Opposing Fronts
    World in Conflict + Soviet Assault
     
  16. jefins

    jefins New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    Add not working games if you have any.
    Windows 7 is beta. It is better to know what is not working, so we can search for problems and how to solve them.
     
  17. SLiM PiCKiNS

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    farcry 2

    are you on x86 or x64?, and what build are you using?

    i'm using x64, build 7000. sadly i don't have it installed anymore, but when i did, i think i just ran it in compatibility mode with vista, and then ran as admin on the exe.
     
  18. jefins

    jefins New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4

    Why to click allways that "eun as admin"?

    Right click on *.exe or *.exe-shortcut >> choose properties in context menu >> then compatibility tab >> then click in anything you want and "run as admin" too
     
  19. Massu

    Massu New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    With regards to The Sims 2, has this been tested on the x64 build of 7? I've had all sorts of issues getting it to work on the x64 build of Vista, and wanted to try it on 7.
     
  20. shadowmoose

    shadowmoose New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guild Wars works.

    You can install both, open, and play them, but after a few moments the game acts like its loosing serious FPS and drops down to like 5. If anyone can confirm this I'd like to hear.
    Halo 1 PC
    Halo 1 CE

    On 32 bit Win7
     

Share This Page

Loading...