Windows 7 Games that Work and Games that Don't.

Discussion in 'Windows Games' started by xNIAx1, Feb 6, 2009.

  1. Noobstix

    Noobstix New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    As I already have some of the games listed, here are some others I've gotten to work (I'm probably repeating a few):

    - Hellgate: London (trainers don't work though :frown:)

    - Bloodrayne 2

    - Sacred 2: Fallen Angel (though it doesn't help that it's a severely bugged game)

    - Neverwinter Nights 2 + expansions

    - Devil May Cry 4

    - Dynasty Warriors 6

    - *Fallout 3 (some people are having problems, I've only had it freeze up on me once)

    - No One Lives Forever 2

    - Mechwarrior 4: Mercenaries

    As far as what probably won't work, I would say that if it wouldn't run in XP (i.e. games from the DOS-early Windows), it probably won't run in 7.
     
    #41 Noobstix, May 6, 2009
    Last edited: May 6, 2009
  2. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    I formated for the first time since 7000 when the RC leaked. I play a lot of games. Installing them on 7000 was a lot of work, installing this in compat mode, download this patch for that etc. 7100 however installed all my game mint. Dont really go for older games ie pre dx9c though. But all the newer dx10 games were no hastle at all and I have yet to find one that doesnt work.

    Windows 7 have matured a lot in this area
     
  3. hotsnakes

    hotsnakes New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    nhl 09

    For me NHL 09 is not running well with Win7 RC1 x64.

    I mean instead of beeing widescreen format it's just fullscreen. It was running fine with Vista x64.

    I have the latest Nvidia driver for Win7 , I'll try the Vista x64 driver instead and let you know.

    Any other suggestions ?

    regards,

    Dan
     
  4. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Windows 7 is not the problem with that game, stoopd EA wrote the game in 4:3 and there is no way to cheat it. I took this game back aftre about 10mins of playing it. There is a way to strech it but its by no means true widescreen.
    NHL 09 Widescreen hack
    Classic console port game.
     
  5. hotsnakes

    hotsnakes New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    excellent it works ! thank you

    don't know why it seems that the default settings of my nvidia card were different from the ones under Vistax64

    best regards,

    Dan
     
  6. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    No problem
     
  7. GRIMSON

    GRIMSON New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys maybe we expect to much for a OS that actually is in beta or RC maybe the final release don't work like this one don't you think
     
  8. hotsnakes

    hotsnakes New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    agree
    but we never expected this RC to be flawless, that's why this forum exist. We are here to discuss about the problems and trying to solve them, trying to help each other...
     
  9. GRIMSON

    GRIMSON New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea it's ok and thnx to this forum cuz i'm in another world whit this OS hehe but i still wonderin why the first time i install the win7 my game run too fastt very fast it's like it has a speed gear or something hehe
     
  10. Tariq

    Tariq New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    RC 7100 64 Bit - All of the following games installed without issue and are working beautifully :razz:!

    -Chronicles of Riddick: Dark Athena
    -Crysis
    -Dark Sector
    -Dead Space
    -Fallout 3
    -Far Cry 2
    -Fear 2
    -GRAW 2
    -GTA IV
    -HL2 w/Fakefactory Cinematic Mod 9.51
    -Mass Effect
    -Mercenaries 2
    -Stalker Clear Sky
    -Timeshift
    -X3: Terran Conflict (make sure to download the latest Tages drivers though)
     
  11. tompatto

    tompatto New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rainbow Six 3: Raven Shield does not load at all, however the process stays in device manager.
     
  12. karma5012

    karma5012 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    SWAT 4 - works
    SWAT 4 - The Stetchkov Syndicate - works
     
  13. kaner

    kaner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    god father 2

    Godfather 2 is not compatible with 64bit O.S. WTFs up with that
     
  14. Lynx

    Lynx New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Need for Speed Undercover didn't work. I use 64bit RC. Installation went ok, but when I started the game there was only sound and a the screen viewed a lot of little vibrating spots. After restart the screen was normal again but I couldn't start NFS.
     
  15. SLiM PiCKiNS

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oblivion

    So I recently upgraded from Win 7 Build 7000 x64 to Build 7077 x64

    Previously to Build 7077 I had a long list of games that worked, including The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion.

    However, with this new build, when I click play, it seems as tough the game is going to load as it takes me to a black screen, but then nothing happens. After waiting 5 minutes to see if anything would indeed happen, I tried to alt-tab out. At this point it seems like the comp recognizes I've tabbed out, but the screen remains black. I hit escape and it returns me to the desktop.

    There is no crash report or error message, or any evidence that Oblivion was running or is still running in the task manager. It just disappears.

    I'm running a Quad-core, 4gigs of ram, ati hd3870

    I'm running the executable in Windows XP SP3 compatibility mode.

    Any suggestions?


    Nevermind, I tried switching the video options during the launcher. Apparently it wouldn't run in the low resolution that it was default set to. WEIRD. Anyhow problem solved.
     
    #55 SLiM PiCKiNS, May 14, 2009
    Last edited: May 14, 2009
  16. t800

    t800 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Left 4 dead is a fun game. Scares the **** out of me!
     
  17. Lumpy

    Lumpy New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Games I cant get to work on rc1 7100

    il2 1946....freezes in menu
    Tom clancys HAWX....works but with constant hangs.(on steam)

    Games that work:..for Me.

    FSX+acceleration
    COD4
    WAW
    LFD (steam)
    Crysis,all
    Fear 2
    Lost planet (steam)
    Grid
    Unreal tourn.
    Team fortress (steam)
    Mirrors Edge (Steam)
     
  18. pmm

    pmm New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Some Difficulties

    Background: I installed 7 on an older XP box running on a Athlon XP 2800+ with 3gb PC400 and an nVidia geForce 7800. All of my newer games ran fine at mediocre to medium settings on XP.

    Currently going through and installing the games on Windows 7 now. What I have so far:

    Fallout3: Installed fine. Ran great for about 20 minutes.
    Problems: 1. Graphics were...in a word...weird. Graphics were blocky, but the facial features were better defined than when running on XP. Boosted the settings but had the same issues.
    2. While the game was still running...and runing jus fine...I got a pop-up error box stating that Fallout3 had stopped running and windows was trying to determine why...but it was still running and still responding to keyboard/mouse commands.

    Mass Effect: This is the most disheartening, since it is my favorite game right now.
    Problem: Will not install. Gets to a point and says it cannot open a particular file.
    Attempted solutions: Run as administrator: No Luck.

    Any help with ME from those who succesfully installed it would be greatly appreciated. I will post updates as I try installing/running more.

    Next attempt to install...failed at the same file.
    Problem:
    Still not installing...gets to a point and stops.
    I copied the disk to my hdd so I could run it from there as admin. It got to the same point as when installing from disk and stopped.
    The Error: The error box says:
    Error opening file for writing
    C:\Program Files\Mass Effect\saferun.dll
     
    #58 pmm, May 17, 2009
    Last edited: May 17, 2009
  19. blakegriplingph

    blakegriplingph New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    GTA San Andreas - works
    Sims 2 - works with some issues (switching to compatibility mode may work)
    SimPE utility for Sims 2 - Preferences dialog crashes on build 7000; now works on RC1
    SpecialForce Online - Crashes after login; has known compatibility issues with Vista, as well as GameGuard anticheat software conflicting with W7
    Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Pandora Tomorrow - works; projected shadows would not appear with newer Nvidia video cards, most notably in the Jerusalem and other levels. It is still possible to finish the game, though.
    Garry's Mod - works, much like Counter-Strike Source and other HL2 mods
    Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Double Agent - works; seems to have some issues with Vista as well as 7, can be partially fixed using -ll parameter
    Red Alert 2/Yuri's Revenge - works with some slight issues; people with high-res displays may adjust the ra2.ini or ra2md.ini to match the monitor's native resolution.

    I'll post some more after the break...
     
    #59 blakegriplingph, May 17, 2009
    Last edited: May 28, 2009
  20. Ppchkn

    Ppchkn New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi, new member, just want to throw away my 2 cents....

    Build 7100

    working.-

    Age of empires 3
    Racer Grid
    Burnout Paradaise
    Marvel ultimate alliance
    Ultimate spiderman

    And a friend of mine tried:

    Empire total war
    Call of duty 4
    HAWX
    Demigod

    -that system is extremly equal to mine-

    XFX 9800GTX+
    quadcore q6600 2.40 ghz
    4 gigs ram

    All working flawlessly =), at least not a problem... will report tomorrow with wolverine origins, mirrors edge, and some NFS that i am getting.

    cheers


    PS.- sorry for the english!
     

Share This Page

Loading...