Need help deciding on 2 components for new pc build

Discussion in 'General Computing' started by brkkab, Dec 1, 2015.

  1. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    You can still get drivers for 3-4 gpu systems but they are not for gaming really. Apparently they are to be used if your benching a 3/4 card system but other than that main stream support will now only be for 2 card setups.
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
  3. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    81
    I received my backplate and 4 brackets yesterday. That's the package that was in Florida last weekend. They pulled a fast one on me and for the first time ever, they shipped my Asus motherboard from Tennessee. First time I've gotten a Asus product from Newegg that didn't come from the Newegg in City of Industry, California. Anyway, it's in Orlando, Florida right now.
     
  4. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    81
    The GTX 760 was announced earlier today. No SLI on it like the 1080 or 1070. $249.00 stock and $299.00 Founders Edition. So far they only announced a 6GB version of it.
     
  5. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    81
  6. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    81
  7. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    81
    I finally got around to pulling my Arctic Liquid Freezer 240 out of the case and putting in the new front panel lightingting control switch. Now after the motherboard arrives, I'm gonna put the cpu and my M.2 ssd in it. Then I'm gonna unhook all the wires.
    Then tomorrow or Sunday, I'll finish everything up.
    I never got to do the stuff on Wednesday or Thursday like I had planned.
    My dog's vet wasn't opened Tuesday, like they said they were going to be and then my dog hurt his leg yesterday, so he had veterinary visit's two day's in a row. Apparently he needs surgery on his left hind leg, thanks to his old owner, that I rescued him from. He used to kick him and he almost broke his leg kicking his leg. I through a ball to him and when he ran some how his back left leg's knee area gave out and he's been limping since.
    Now, between building the pc, I have to price around for getting his leg operated on. His veterinary doesn't do any surgery.
     
  8. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    81
    Motherboard arrived. Put the cpu in , my M.2 ssd and put the motherboard in my case.
    Tomorrow, I'll wire everything put the Arctic Liquid Freezer 240 back in (in push/pull) and my XFX Radeon HD 5700.
    I've been up for 1 1/2 day's, so I need to go to bed now.
     
  9. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    81
    I have my new pc working now. However, I'm not using it right now. It's got some serious issues going on right of the bat. Issue #1: It came with them most up to date UEFI for my board. UEFI # 1701. The UEFI is so blurry pretty much nothing is readable. The only way I know it has # 1701, is from the label on the motherboard.
    Issue #2: Because the UEFI is so blurry, I can read anything in it, to find where to select my flash drive that has Windows 10 Pro on it as the boot device, so I can install it.
    Right now, I'm back on my old pc, as it's the only way I can do anything.
    I'm liking the red led lights in it. The case surprised me, after I put the new led light controls on the cases front panel, I was expecting to have to configure them again. The case remembered my settings from before the other motherboard broke.
     
  10. XAOS

    XAOS Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    18
    Nearly put money on it being a CPU seating issue. Bent pins you can't see possibly.
     
  11. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    81
    I'll have to check later on today. I may have put too much Arctic MX-4 on the cpu. I did get the uefi to set XMP and overclock the cpu for me. It's just too blurry in the UEFI to be able to read anything. The only reason I know it has the 1701 UEFI, is from the boxes label that has the serial number on it
    I hit F% before I loaded XMP and let it automatically overclock my cpu.
     
  12. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Hi,
    I can't believe another issue has arisen.. Wow Dude I feel your pain and to be honest I would have imploded with rage by now probably.. ;)

    When you say it's blurry in the uefi bios, have you tried setting a different resolution? Your bios may not have this option although all it is really is the option to run uefi in 1080p, might be worth a look.

    Until it's sorted out though I wouldn't mess with any overclock settings until you can see exactly whats what.
     
  13. XAOS

    XAOS Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    18
  14. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    81
    I can't see clear enough in the EUFI to really make out what anything says. I was tired at the time, though. I just woke up. In a few hours I'm goimg to reseat and repaste the cpu and see what happens.
    I think I'm going to unplug my Intel ssd and Seagate Barracuda, too.
     
    #554 brkkab, Jul 9, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2016
  15. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    81
    **SOLVED** I have my pc working properly, Windows 10 Pro x64 and I ran Asus 5-way Optimization and have it overclocked per core.
    It took roughly 6 hours to get Windows 10 to install.
    It was my fault I think. When I setup my Arctic Liquid Freezer 240, I accidently plugged the waterblock in CPU Optional and the fans into CPU.
    I reversed them into waterblock- CPU & fans- CPU Optional.
    Windows 10 then installed & ran properly.
    With it hooked up the first way it was freezing at the Asus screen after the first restart to finish installing Windows 10.
    kemical: CPU pins weren't bent and it was seated correctly.
    Now the fun of installing my software begins.
     
    kemical likes this.
  16. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    81
    The Samsung 850 EVO 500GB M.2 ssd kicks my other pc's Samsung 840 Pro 256GB ssd's ass.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Wow that's fast!
     
  18. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    81
    I did one with Samsung Magician on my Intel 530 Series ssd. It only got 520 and 48*.
    I'm still having a few weird issues.
    Issue #1. My LiteON Blu-Ray RE isn't detected in the pc.
    It worked when I put it in the case back in April.
    Wires are all plugged in and I tried new ones, too.
    Issue #2. When I put it on my bed to pull it out and change cables, my Seagate Barracuda & Intel 530 Series both slid out of the back of the cases hdd bays. Lucky both only fell on my bwd,
    ssue #3. This one's becoming a pain in the ass. My AI RoboForm Everywhere that I renewed on Friday, keeps losing it's activation. Like 3 times, just today.
     
  19. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    81
    I was almost done installing my software when all those happened. I did a system restore and Windows 10 beforehand got a update that gave me the new start menu look. I'm not in the Insider Preview and 10 has been weird after the update.It took away most of the software I had installed, but left the software's folders in the start menu with web links for each.
     
  20. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Try other SATA ports and change cables. Is it possible to test the drive in another machine? (unless you have a spare psu lying around)

    There are usually attachment points where you can use small screws to keep the drive fixed in place. Even if you don't use them all (some can be difficult to reach) having one or two is better than nothing.

    Sounds like an upgrade to a new version.
     
    #560 kemical, Jul 11, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2016

Share This Page

Loading...