Need help deciding on 2 components for new pc build

Discussion in 'General Computing' started by brkkab, Dec 1, 2015.

  1. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    81
    They apparently put out a new version this morning. I uninstalled the old one and installed the new one.
    kemical: I never really used it either, until now. On my first pc I upgraded from WD version to the full one and used it for awhile.
    nmusk: In the WD version of Acronis, where is the incremental located at ? Do I have to create a new backup and select incremental?
    When I click on it's Backup tab it shows the full backup I did Wednesday night.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    In the options for the backup there should be a schedule section, in there it does incremental backups
     
  3. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    81
    I'm not seeing it in the new version Western Digital released of the Acronis WD Edition today. Hold on a second and I'll make a screenshot of it.I can't get the options in it to stay open while I open the Snipping Tool. The options listed are Entire PC, Disks and partitions and Files and folders. No other options appear.
     
  4. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    In my Acronis 2015 it looks like

    options1.PNG options2.PNG
     
  5. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    81
    The version Western Digital give you doesn't have that in it.
     
  6. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    81
  7. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
  8. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    81
    I don't have those options. I only have the three I listed previously. Nothing shows up at the top like in your screenshots.
     
  9. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    WD must use a cut down version. A pity as acronis is a really good backup solution.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Windows Forums mobile app
     
  10. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    81
    Yeah, that's what I'm thinking. It may be better for me to uninstall it and reinstall Macrium/EasUS ToDo Backup free. I'm not gonna waste 10+ hours for every backup like I did with the first one.
     
  11. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    315
    thats what I would do... better off with software you know
     
  12. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    81
    I have Macrium Reflect & EasUS ToDoBackup free reinstalled.
    Formatted my external hd and made a image with Macrium.
    I started doing a backup with EasUS afterwards. I fell asleep for a few hours and apparently the power went out again.
    Starting fresh with EasUS and deleted the first backup. I've got it backing up my documents, downloads, favorites, music, pictures, saved games and videos now.
    After the first are done, I'll start doing each on a weeklybasis. Probably on Sunday's from now on.
     
    BIGBEARJEDI likes this.
  13. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    Off topic and all but I've just got a ultra widescreen gaming monitor. Will take some getting used to. Have learned do not look at the sun in game. HDR enabled and it's blinding :D
     
  14. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    315
    thats a worry... has the system been powered off like that a lot?
     
  15. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    As Norway say's, the above is a little alarming, do you mean the power in the house failed probably due to the meter running out?? Or did the machine just turned itself off?
     
  16. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    81
    No it's power issues from the hurricane last week. I guess it's taking Florida Power & Light a while to work it all out.
     
  17. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    81
    Yes, it was all the power in the house and area. Neighbors lost it, too.
     
  18. BIGBEARJEDI

    BIGBEARJEDI Honorable Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,791
    Likes Received:
    216
    >>>Hi, brkkab: Hey, that's good to know about the backups. A few people here like and have tested the EASE ToDo backup including Mike H. who introduced me to it. He swears by it! I'm going to give it a go in the next few weeks on some of my Test Machines and see how it does. The other reason for the reply was to mention you might consider using CrashPlan (Cloud automated backup) for your incremental backups. I have recently just bought it and am using it for a customer who recently suffered a devastating Ransomware attack. It's $5/mo. per PC [$60/yr.]or $12/mo. for 10 PCs (I got this one since I have a lot of machines). Might be worth looking into as a backup to your Macrium/EASEToDo. You can never have too many backups.;) I think this was a saying attributed to Alan Turing. Anyway, let us know how you like the EASEToDo. It's on our recommended list of tested W10 Image Backup software (at least mine!) here along with Macrium & Acronis both of which I've used quite successfully.
    Anyway, I'll let you get back to building that new PC of yours. Hope the hurricane didn't do too much damage to your home or neighbors.:nerves:<<<
    Cheers!

    BBJ
     
  19. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Phew... :)

    Damned weather.. ;)
     
  20. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    81
    Yeah, F.P.L. has kind of sucked during this hurricane.
     

Share This Page

Loading...