Windows 10 boot problem + freezing after power outage

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Help and Support' started by CoolDudeClan, Mar 25, 2016.

  1. CoolDudeClan

    CoolDudeClan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    At first the power went out and the computer wouldn't boot, and kept trying to repair it but couldn't.

    Eventually booted it in safe mode and it froze after a minute or two, requiring a hard reset. When I restarted it, it was able to normal boot but continued to freeze after a few minutes and doesn't respond.

    It said "windows explorer has stopped responding" a few times as well.

    What are my options here?

    Computers is built by me, running windows 10. It has a SSD as the boot device and a hdd as file storage.
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,781
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    You need to check the usual suspects (if possible).

    Freezing can sometimes be attributed to heat so ensure your machine isn't full of dust and check your temps.

    Try checking for malware.

    Is your SSD updated firmware wise and running on AHCI?

    Have you updated anything recently or added new hardware?

    If you can get into the recovery console it might be worth trying system restore to point before the power outage?
     
  3. CoolDudeClan

    CoolDudeClan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can't really do much because it freezes even in safe mode. Can't check temps, at least don't know how I could.

    I ended up just choosing the option to reset the pc and reinstall windows but keep files. If it continues to freeze I think I can assume it\s hardware related. (ADATA 120GB SSD)
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,781
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Thanks for the update. Let us know how things go.
     
  5. CoolDudeClan

    CoolDudeClan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Update on things: the restore froze and ended up failing and it rebooting saying a bunch of random code. It's definitely corrupted and from here I have moved individual important files off the ssd and considering rma'ing it because it seems faulty.

    My last action I think is to format the drive and use my windows 8 disk to reinstall windows and see if it works.

    Probably not but want to try it before I RMA it. Trusted a crappy brand and it looks like it bit me. Back to only trusting Samsung. Had good luck for 5 years.
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,781
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  7. CoolDudeClan

    CoolDudeClan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the link, my SSD isn't on the compatible list though. I will try it anyway when I go at it again tomorrow.

    I put the drive in an enclosure and formatted it from a different computer, put it back into the computer in question, and then created a windows 10 media install usb. Booted from the usb and when I tried to choose the ssd as the target disk, it failed saying windows couldn't be installed on the disk. So basically it seems I can't even do a fresh install which is weird.
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,781
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Did you delete any partitions that were already on the SSD before trying the install? Whenever I clean install on my SSD I always remove everything using the set up screen. I don't try and choose a partition or similar.
     
  9. CoolDudeClan

    CoolDudeClan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah the SSD was totally wiped.

    I need some help with how to fresh install Windows 10. I have a legit version of Windows 8 with the discs and key and everything. Some months back I did the upgrade to windows 10 and have been using that.

    Will the \windows 8 key work when prompted to enter it when running the windows 10 usb I made with the media creation tool?

    How do I go about this situation?
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,781
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    If you upgraded to Windows 10 correctly then if you perform a clean install you do not need to input an activation key. This is because as of win 10 they are held in an online database. When you get prompted for the activation code simply click i don't have one and carry on. You'll find later that once windows has connected to the net it will activate without you noticing.
     
    holdum333 likes this.
  11. holdum333

    holdum333 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    147
    Sorry friend! I just have to comment! I think you are right on the money about this @kemical Every thing I have read, says you have it right.
    Very nice my friend!
     
  12. CoolDudeClan

    CoolDudeClan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Confirmed it was the ADATA SP550 120Gb ssd. Six months old, Can't find my receipt so I may be out of luck for a warranty claim.

    Bought a new SSD and installing windows now. Chose the don't have a product key option, will this still work despite a hardware change? (the ssd)? What criteria does the online activation use?
     
  13. holdum333

    holdum333 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    147
    #13 holdum333, Mar 31, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2016
  14. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,781
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    You should be fine, it's only when the motherboard is changed you have to worry.
     
  15. CoolDudeClan

    CoolDudeClan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Back up and running on the new ssd, accidentally installed windows 10 home and it wouldn't activate. No wonder, considering after I realized it was windows 8 pro.

    Installed Pro and it activated fine.

    Does anyone know where I can find the old chrome bookmarks file and move to over to the new computer?
     
  16. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,781
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    If you sign back into chrome it should reappear.
     
  17. CoolDudeClan

    CoolDudeClan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was never signed in unfortunately. Didn't use an account and I believe it was local.

    Would there be a file on the old ssd I can find and import the bookmarks manually?
     

Share This Page

Loading...