Connects to router but no internet access.....

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Networking' started by benitez, Jan 24, 2010.

  1. benitez

    benitez New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yesterday i got myself a samsung np x120 laptop, one of those small ones, and for some reason it connects to the router and everything seems to work fine,eccept that i don`t get internet access. I connect to a dlink wireless access point.
    I`m useless at computers so please keep in mind in replys that i wont understand much of hitech stuff:(
     
  2. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
  3. benitez

    benitez New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi. The router is working just fine. Have two other laptops with XP that is working just fine. But the new one with W7 doesnt work. It locates the router and connects to it and have great signal, but still I don`t get internet. I don`t manage the router because it is my landlords router. Frusterated about it as i can`t see what the problem is...
    Here is how i have dealt with pc problems before..
     
    #3 benitez, Jan 24, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 26, 2013
  4. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    could you please post a screenshot of you ip config ?

    this is done by going to start orb and type "cmd" then right click the top search result "cmd" and select "run as administrator" , then into that window type ipconfig /all (observe the space) and post a screenshot here of the ouptut :)
     
  5. benitez

    benitez New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, but that did not solve my problem.
     
  6. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    I think you misunderstood , to help you with your problem can you post a picture of your IPconfig ?
     
  7. Veremos

    Veremos New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for kicking this thread, but I'm having exactly the same problems.
    I'm on a fresh Win7 Professional (32bit, 6.1, build 7600) install with all new drivers installed. I'm running an Atheros AR928X wifi card trying to connect to a Belkin N+ wireless router. The setup of this router should be fine, I can browse the internet on WinXP, MacOSX and my cell phone. With Win7 I can connect to the network but I'm not getting any Internet from it. It keeps telling me "No Internet access" and I can't ping the router. When I connect to an unsecured network I am getting Internet.

    My ipconfig response:

    Code:
    Windows IP Configuration
    
       Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Server
       Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
       Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
       IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
       WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
       DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin
                                           home
    
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : Belkin
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR928X Wireless Network Adapter
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-23-09-27-49
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
       IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:c0a8:110:1234:d004:35b3:348a:58d5(Pr
    eferred)
       Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2002:c0a8:110:1234:f527:8c3e:d482:371e(Pr
    eferred)
       Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d004:35b3:348a:58d5%15(Preferred)
       IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2(Preferred)
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
       Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, February 22, 2010 12:00:39 AM
       Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, February 20, 2019 12:00:38 AM
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::222:75ff:fe43:4ca0%15
                                           192.168.2.1
       DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
       DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201335843
       DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-13-AE-CB-00-01-2E-27-B7-85
    
       DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
                                           192.168.2.1
       NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : home
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-01-2E-27-B7-85
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
       Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::69cc:dda1:586f:f669%11(Preferred)
       IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.10(Preferred)
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
       Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, February 21, 2010 11:45:43 PM
       Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, March 01, 2010 12:01:18 AM
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
       DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
       DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234881326
       DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-13-AE-CB-00-01-2E-27-B7-85
    
       DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
       NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    
    Tunnel adapter isatap.Belkin:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : Belkin
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    
    Tunnel adapter isatap.home:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : home
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
       IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:1cdc:124:3f57:fef5(Prefe
    rred)
       Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1cdc:124:3f57:fef5%13(Preferred)
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
       NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    
    
    Thanks in advance! It's driving me nuts! ;)

    offtopic: think this thread should be in Networking btw ^.^
     
    #7 Veremos, Feb 21, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2010
  8. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Can you explain why your wireless card is getting a .2 subnet address and your wired card is getting a .1 subnet address. Are there two routers involved. Is it possible that the wireless router is handing out an ip addressing scheme that doesn't support getting out through the actual default gateway which looks like it should be 192.168.1.1 This is quite common with two routers, when you forget to turn off or properly configure the DHCP scope for one of them.
    Maybe explaining how your network looks, from the computer to the world
    computer to switch/router, switch/router to isp provided device, isp provided device to the internet
     
  9. Veremos

    Veremos New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a wireless router connected to my modem. The router is connected to the ISP provided device (which has DHCP disabled) and my ethernet is currently (for testing purposes only) connected directly to the ISP provided device too on the .1 subnet. My router (on the .2 subnet) is the only DHCP server enabled at play here :).

    So my network is as following: Computer > Router on .2 subnet > ISP provided device > Internet. For testing purposes I have an ethernet cable connected: Computer > ISP provided device > Internet.

    When I'm connecting the ethernet to the router on .2 subnet I'm not having any connection problems at all. It's just connected to the ISP device so that I can access my router without losing the connection on making changes ;)
     
    #9 Veremos, Feb 21, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2010
  10. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    So you have an ISP provided device, which is capable of DHCP but under normal circumstances you have DHCP disabled on that device is that correct?
    Then I assume that you then plug that device into the WAN port on your wireless router that has DHCP enabled and that is providing the .2 network resolution to the rest of the computers on your network is that correct?
    When you do this can you tell me what the WAN address is on the router, I don't need to know the exact ip address just trying to determine if it receives a public address from the ISP device or is it getting a .1 private address and the computers are getting addresses that are double natted.
    In either case maybe try disabling ipV6 in the properties of your network adapter(s).
    Continue your ping diagnostics, you said that you can ping the router, make sure you can ping both the inside edge and the outside edge (WAN ip Address), ping your ISP's DNS servers or ping google (64.233.169.99) and www.google.com.
    If the google ip works and the FQDN doesn't then perhaps there is an issue with DNS resolution.
     
  11. Veremos

    Veremos New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    First: correct Second: correct. The WAN-address is 192.168.1.16 (connected to the ISP device). I've tried disabling IPv6 but that didn't get me further unfortunately. About the ping diagnostics, all my requests on the router's IP time-out.

    btw thanks for your quick replies! ;)
     
  12. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    You said all the other computers on the network are working fine is that correct? Can they ping (64.233.169.99) and www.google.com?
    How are they connected wired or wireless?
    If so examine their ip addressing scheme by doing an ipconfig /all and compare them to the ip addressing scheme on the problem Windows 7 machine.
    Post back a screen shot of the ipconfig /all from the problem machine
     
  13. Veremos

    Veremos New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    All my other computers are wirelessly connected and have full internet access. I can ping google both on ip and on domain name. The ipconfig seems to match my WinXP machine (with wireless Internet access), only IP-routing is enabled on my WinXP but is not on the Win7. Could that be the problem?

    Renewed ipconfig of problem machine:

    Code:
    Windows IP Configuration
    
       Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Server
       Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
       Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
       IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
       WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
       DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin
    
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : Belkin
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR928X Wireless Network Adapter
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-23-09-27-49
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
       IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2(Preferred)
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
       Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, February 22, 2010 10:53:59 AM
       Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, February 20, 2019 10:53:59 AM
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
       DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
       DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
                                           192.168.2.1
       NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : home
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-01-2E-27-B7-85
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    
    Tunnel adapter isatap.home:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    
    Tunnel adapter isatap.Belkin:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    The ipconfig of one of my WinXP machines:
    Code:
    
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    
    Windows IP Configuration
    
            Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ALWINVAST
            Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
            Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
            IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
            WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
            DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin
    
    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    
            Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : Belkin
            Description . . . . . . . . . . . : IEEE 802.11g Wireless Cardbus/PCI Adapter
            Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-F4-F5-C7-85
            Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
            Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
            IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.4
            Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
            Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
            DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
            DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
                                                192.168.2.1
            Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, February 22, 2010 10:23:26 AM
            Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, February 20, 2019 10:23:26 AM
     
    #13 Veremos, Feb 22, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2010
  14. Veremos

    Veremos New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm suspecting the problem lies on the router side. I just hooked up an old b/g router on the same cable from the ISP device as the Belkin N+ is, and that one is giving me perfect internet. When I hook up the Belkin N+ again, no internet at all. I tried setting the router in b/g mode (although my wireless card is b/g/n) but that doesn't help either. I have installed the latest firmware for the Belkin router.
     
  15. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Just a guess and a wild shot in the dark at that, (since I don't have one and haven't had the opportunity to thoroughly check it out) but is the Belkin, one of those routers that has some sort of special sync (or whatever) button on the side or corner, that you have to use to join a new node/computer wirelessly to an existing profile or something like that. Again just a wild gues.
     
  16. Veremos

    Veremos New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, there isn't. This clearly isn't a Win7 problem as Ubuntu won't connect to the router either with that wireless card (Just tested it from an USB-drive). I'm going to bug Belkin with this problem. For now I've added my old b/g router to the setup so at least I have wireless Internet on the machine. Thanks for you excellent help though! I'll post back when I have any response from Belkin.
     
  17. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Yes, please let us know, I for one would be interested in hearing the response from Belkin.
    Thank You
    Randy
     
  18. ruggb

    ruggb Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have a similar issue

    2 wireless on dsl router - XP connects just fine
    vista connects to router but router doesn't give IP = 169.xxx.xxx.xxx
    device manager shows 2 network adapters wired & wireless
    Manage adapters under Network & Sharing shows no adapters.

    WHY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I spent an hour on phone with AT&T and it is not in the router
    no security on router
    no MAC filtering
    everything was reset, released, renewed, rebooted, ....
    brand new wireless adapter/vista drivers installed - it should not even connect to router if drivers were bad.
    I suspect if I connected a cable to the router it would not work either since that adapter does not appear under Manage Adapters either.

    System has never been connected to the router wired or wireless.

    where to go from here??
     
  19. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    The last two times I saw something like this in was caused in one instance by a service that was not starting. So take a look at the services console. Type services.msc into the search or run dialog box scroll down to where you see services starting with the word Network and light em up.
    Network Connections
    Network List Service
    Network Location Awareness
    Network Store Interface Service.
    See if that helps, I hope so, because the other time I saw it the problem had to do with some corruption in the registry and I think that that member resorted to a clean install.
     
  20. LuckMelo18

    LuckMelo18 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [langtitle=pt]Re: Connects to router but no internet access.....[/langtitle]

    [lang=pt]Meu NotBook é windows 7 e tem conexão a cabo...minha internet esta aparecendo conectada e enviando e recebendo... mas não estou conseguindo navegar, diz que esta sem conexão com a rede. resumindo ele conecta com a internet mas fica sem acesso. Alguém pode me ajudar? Agradeço desde já![/lang]
     

Share This Page

Loading...