I REALLY NEED HELP.

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by disha, Mar 22, 2014.

  1. disha

    disha New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    HEY

    MY WINDOWS LAPTOP HAS STOPPED WORKING.

    ITS STUCK IN THE AUTOMATIC REPAIR LOOP.

    I TRIED F8 AND F12 BUT THEY ARE USELESS.

    PLEASE HELP.
     
  2. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Try this....turn off laptop, unplug AC power cord, remove battery. Let it set for 5 minutes then put in the battery and see if it will boot up.
     
    Sonny likes this.
  3. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    If Bass is suggesting a power drain, while the battery is detached and other peripherals, press and hold the power button for 30sec to drain all residual power then put everything back together and try to boot.
     
    disha and Sonny like this.
  4. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Nah...I wasn't suggesting the root cause to be a power drain. Just from personal experience with laptops/netbooks....where they were stuck in a loop like that, no matter the type of loop, that trick has worked for me every time. I don't know why or for what reason but removing the battery for 5 minutes seems to clear the loop. I've had it work for the repair loop and a update loop.
     
  5. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    It's actually a standard troubleshooting procedure when a PC is somehow stuck. You need to power drain it to refresh the "memory" and get past the error.

    Here's is the exact procedure sent to me by Acer Tech support (but this is for desktop PC, should be the same for laptops):

    1.Turn off computer and unplug power cord.

    2.Disconnect everything except monitor, mouse and keyboard.

    3.Press power button and hold for 30 seconds.

    4.Plug power cord back into computer and press power button.

    5.Check front panel LEDs (lights) on bezel (front face) or optical drives and listen for power supply fan.

    6.If LEDs are on or power supply fan starts spinning, watch for boot screen on monitor.

    7.If computer begins to start, turn it off.

    8.Reconnect any external devices.

    9.Press the power button and make sure the computer starts.


    Cheers!
     
  6. disha

    disha New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    THANKYOU

    WILL TRY AND GET BACK TO YOU.

    :)
     
  7. disha

    disha New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    THANKYOU

    WILL TRY AND GET BACK TO YOU.

    :)
     
  8. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    I hope the OP fixed his problem.

    Last night I performed a Malwarebytes full scan on my ASUS 10-incher and it picked up 4 threats. So I cleaned it up. Upon restart, I also got stuck in repair loop. The Startup Repair also did not help. But since this is a tablet and it will take hours before I can do a complete power drain (and I don't want to pry it open to get the battery out), I just decided to do an image recovery. It was an easy decision for me to make because most programs I have are portable versions (because it only has 32GB storage capacity and I just added a 64GB micro-SD). Plus my desktop configuration is synced online so I got back to my original settings after a 10-minute image restoration like nothing happened.
    The question I have in mind is why Malwarebytes gave me such a problem?

    Sorry, I don't mean to hi-jack this thread. It's the same issue with the OP who is not reporting back anymore. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...