Slow Wireless Internet with 7 Home Premium

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by Peterg, Oct 26, 2009.

  1. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    No Microsoft will not help at all if you tell them you nay have virus.. that;s you're own doing and you have to take care if it.

    Would you consider a "clean" install.

    You;ll need to save all your Documents, Music, videos, favorites, Pictures to a flash drive

    This will clean out everything a start fresh. Be aware, you will have ti reinstall all you 3rd party software.
     
    #41 reghakr, Dec 19, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2009
  2. youneek28

    youneek28 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a full version of windows 7. I just didnt want to reload all of my stuff. Plus I can't find my ms office cd to reload that. This just sucks. sucks bad.
     
  3. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    You can choose not to format your HDD and setup will put all your files in a folder named windows.old
    And as for office you can grab the 2010 beta from www.office.com/beta.
     
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    How did this thread go to slow Internet activity to installing Office. Why install Office and add yo your problems.

    Somethings not right here.

    Did you purchase your copy on Windows 7?
     
  5. youneek28

    youneek28 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where did you get lost?

    My internet is slow after I installed windows 7 that I bought from microsoft at a student price of 29.99. As you know I have been on here trying to get help to figure it out. I installed it by just upgrading so that I didn't lose everything thing that I have on the computer. One of the things I dont want to lose is MS office, which I have misplaced the disc that I bought for that program. There are a few other programs I don't want to lose either but didn't mention them here. I only mentioned this because people suggested a clean install, which I always thought I would lose all of my current files that way.

    Hope this helped.

    Here is where I purchased windows 7 Microsoft Student - Windows 7
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Yes, it helped, but I sure can't find your misplaced disks for you.
     
  7. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    Oh this is great :p
     
  8. youneek28

    youneek28 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    So do you all think that a clean install will help this problem or should I just restore vista and try to get my money back from microsoft? I am very tired of dealing with this.
     
  9. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    I'd go with a clean install, I'm fairly sure that should fix the problem, and remember if you don't reformat the hard drive, the setup will put all your files in a folder called windows.old in your root drive where you can do whatever you want with 'em
     
  10. youneek28

    youneek28 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did a clean install and it didn't help. It was a good plan and I wish it would have worked; so is there any other suggestions?
     
  11. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    Well, at least you'll notice better overall performance.
    Have you tried another browser? I'm not sure if reghakr has already asked this question, but if not, try downloading Chrome or Firefox and trying them out.
     
  12. youneek28

    youneek28 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried aol but don't know if there is anything good about that browser. I will try right now.
     
  13. youneek28

    youneek28 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Chrome didnt work either.
     
  14. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    OK.
    I'll get back to you on this issue first thing tomorrow morning.
     
  15. Mike

    Mike Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8,488
    Likes Received:
    783
    They do offer tech support for something outrageous at like $250/hr. This is like the red phone option if the computers at the Pentagon go down I guess.
     
  16. Mike

    Mike Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8,488
    Likes Received:
    783
    I can suggest to you that you continue to use Windows 7 and look into the problem areas you are having. Specifically, you've lost your stuff. May I recommend Dropbox.com, an online backup solution for your problems? You can backup important documents and files. It is a folder that resides in your Documents called "Dropbox". They offer 2GB of free storage on the Amazon Elastic Cloud. No catch. They just want you to bite and buy their premium service for extra storage. This is like having a USB flash drive and being able to use it on multiple computers at the same time. Its great for synchronizing work between computers, but also for backup reasons. You don't even have to have the application installed to get to your stuff; you can simply access their online website to initiate the downloads.

    Furthermore, I would seriously recommend that you invest in a backup/imaging program for your computer. More recently, I would recommend Paragon backup for this purpose. It works quite well, uses the Windows pre-load environment for bare-metal restore and recovery. It can partition your local drive if you don't have a removable or external one to keep the backups in a safe partition. It uses the Microsoft volume shadow copy service first, and if that doesn't work, it uses its own copy service to do full backups while your machine is online. This is better than Dropbox since you can restore your entire system with a recovery CD, and its more reliable than the built in Windows Backup.

    If can safely load all of your stuff, and invest just a little bit of time (and money) into backing up your stuff, I believe you will start to get used to Windows 7 and not feel as nervous about the learning curve. I refer people to Dropbox all the time because every time someone buys extra storage I get an additional .25GB of space or something, but its well worth it. I use it all the time for work. If you use Dropbox on multiple computers on your home network it will now access the LAN first to synchronize your files to save you and them bandwidth. It is a great solution for backing up documents, passwords, and software installers -- you name it. You could also try Carbonite for a full, online backup of the files on your system. But it won't let you restore the OS if it fails: just the files. So applications will get lost, but you'll still have the data. Its a paid solution that offers unlimited storage.

    For the full image backup, go for Paragon. I have always thought its funny that gamers save their progress in a video game all their time, but never think about backup & recovery of their computer when it could contain so much important information. I hope for once my suggestions help you.
     
  17. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    Did you say you have tried another adapter?
     
  18. youneek28

    youneek28 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    No I haven't tried another adapter I was thinking about taking one out of another computer to try it. It is a d-link I think.
     
  19. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    Try that for sure.
    I'm really thinking it's a compatibility issue with your network card, whether we realize it or not.
     

Share This Page

Loading...