"System Restore Is In Progress" Loop - Please help!!

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Chemoflys, Apr 26, 2014.

  1. Chemoflys

    Chemoflys New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I was using my Dell desktop earlier when all of a sudden it cut out. I re-booted it and it has gone to a 'System Restore is In Progress' page. Once the system progress has completed it says my computer should automatically shut down, which it has. It then says that I will be promoted to create a new user account, and that I need to accept the end user license agreement blah blah blah.

    Only this is not the case. It comes up with a little "completition" message, and then my PC shuts down. But when I turn it on, it goes to the System Restore page again, and does it all again.

    I bought this PC of a company off eBay and its been running fine for months, when I bought it they said that Microsoft have stopped distributing installation disks so the installation & system restore process is all on the PC.

    Can anyone help me resolve this issue please? I have tried in Safe Mode and no luck.

    This is what it looks like: http://oi57.tinypic.com/243fd3s.jpg
     
    #1 Chemoflys, Apr 26, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2014
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,840
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Try booting into the same place as you go when you enable safe mode but choose 'last good known config' instead.
     
  3. Chemoflys

    Chemoflys New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did that and it's gone back to the system restore again :(
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,840
    Likes Received:
    1,568
  5. Chemoflys

    Chemoflys New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Since the process would appear to be an OEM utility, are there any more boot key options you could use to get into the Dell Repair area?

    I supposed what ever caused it to think it need a Factory Reset might be involved in the problem.... How old is the system?
     

Share This Page

Loading...