Win8 Shows connected to internet, but unable to load any webpage/app

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Networking' started by neok182, Oct 28, 2012.

  1. neok182

    neok182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is an Asus Zenbook UX32VD, it came with Windows 7 and i upgraded to Windows 8 on friday through the windows upgrade adivsor and everything went just fine.

    I connected to my network and internet with no problems on friday, saturday, and even this morning.

    Then upon opening the laptop a couple hours ago, i noticed my live tiles were not updating, then i tried to open a couple of them and they would not update, or not load. Then going to the desktop i opened chrome, firefox, IE, and a couple games, none could connect to the internet.

    Now according to the computer, it's connected to my network and it says "internet access" i've done all the troubleshooting and nothing comes back with an error.

    i opened an elevated command prompt and tried to ping my router and a bunch of websites and they all pinged just fine.

    Then i tried restarting the router, restarting the computer, doing a system restore since it installed a couple updates yesterday.

    no matter what i have done it's the same result. Windows shows connected to the internet and internet access, and pings work just fine, but nothing will actually load.

    So i put this to you all here, help me please!
     
  2. neok182

    neok182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Quick update. I've done a dozen google searches with no help.

    I also just tried to use my USB/Ethernet adapter and it does show me being connected to the network with internet access, but nothing actually loads.

    tried pings again, worked fine.

    tried uninstalling my anti-virus, no change. tried another system restore to the start of W8 instal, no change.
     
  3. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Sounds like you may possibly have a DNS issue perhaps.
    Trying opening your browser and type this
    74.125.225.179
    into the URL address bar (not the search bar) and hit enter.
    Let us know if Google loads as a result or not.
     
  4. neok182

    neok182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    webpage is not available
    error 118 (net::ERR_Connection_Timed_Out): The Operation Timed Out.

    tried in chrome, firefox, and IE.
     
  5. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Open a command prompt and type]
    ipconfig /all | clip

    Then click the Post Quick Reply at the bottom of this post and click in the reply box and then Ctrl + V (paste)
    and we'll have a look
     
  6. neok182

    neok182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    hopefully this is it:


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : NeoUltra-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C4-85-08-3C-79-6E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Hosted Network Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C4-85-08-3C-79-6E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C4-85-08-3C-79-71
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6235
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C4-85-08-3C-79-6D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d0d4:d30f:6b05:5b6f%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.105(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, October 29, 2012 10:38:13 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 12:04:19 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 331646216
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-E4-93-FF-C4-85-08-3C-79-6D
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.42.47.67
    198.4.75.69
    198.4.75.100
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{974179B3-8B9D-41F8-ADD6-A13EDB9CCA48}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:1823:fbff:47df:4a1d(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1823:fbff:47df:4a1d%16(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  7. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Which Anti Virus product were you using that you say that you have uninstalled?
     
  8. neok182

    neok182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm using Eset Smart Security. uninstalled it, no change. so i just reinstalled it.
     
  9. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
  10. neok182

    neok182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    installed the driver, no change at all.
     
  11. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Open device manager
    Expand Network Adapters
    Select then right click the problem adapter and choose uninstall, if prompted choose to remove the associated drivers.
    Reboot the computer and let the found new hardware wizard install the wireless adapter again, if prompted for the location of drivers point it to the one you just downloaded from Intel.
     
  12. neok182

    neok182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well i went and uninstalled it and now i can't get past the lockscreen. Asks me for my password but i can't select the box to put it in. also can't shut it down or do anything other than move the mouse.

    I have to force it off and same thing happens when it reboots. so yeah....

    *edit* somehow was able to login. Reinstalled drivers. no change.

    Network is connected, shows internet access and everything showing it working fine, but can't get any access to internet anywhere.
     
    #12 neok182, Oct 29, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 29, 2012
  13. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    You uninstalled your Intel Wireless Adapter and now you're unable to input either with your keyboard or pointing device. Don't believe I've ever heard of anything like that happening before.
    Do you have a spare USB mouse you can connect to the PC. Then launch the On Screen Keyboard.
    Any key on the keyboard will dismiss the lock screen and tab or shift tab should get you to the password box.
     
  14. neok182

    neok182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    mouse was working and moving around but the system itself seemed to be locked up, wouldn't let me put in my password.

    rebooted into safe mode and i could login and then rebooting normally seemed to fix it.

    so i rebooted then installed the drivers again and no change.

    everything shows that i'm connected and have internet access but still nothing can actually access the internet.
     
  15. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Can you use a browser to open your router's web interface http://192.168.1.1
    If not you may want to try
    1: shutting down everything and resetting your entire network. All computers, your ISP's device, and reset the router to factory defaults (usually a pin hole on the back or bottom) Make sure you device is trusted and not firewalled at the router.
    2: Make sure the native Windows 8 Firewall is not blocking either port 80 or http protocol
    3. Attempt to run you router without encryption briefly to test and see if that results in any different results. Then turn security back on. And experiment with WEP, WPA, WPA2, (AES vs. TKIP), etc.,
    4. Consider removing Eset again maybe even follow up with the vendor specific proprietary removal tool just to be sure that all remnants are gone How do I manually uninstall my Windows ESET security product? - ESET Knowledgebase
    5. Make sure there are no other 3rd part firewall products or security suites in play.
    6. If you have experimented with any third party software like Connectify or even the Native Microsoft Hosted Network setup (turns you wireless adapter into a hotspot) please remove it.

    You said earlier that you can ping other hosts including websites. Can you ping by name or only by IP address
     
  16. neok182

    neok182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    1) done. no change
    2) checked, nothing blocking and windows 8 firewall is disabled
    3) no change
    4) no change
    5) made sure. nothing other than ESET, all built in windows disabled.
    6) haven't done anything like that.

    I can ping by name and address. just tested with the IP address you posted and facebook, yahoo, google, twitter all worked. but can't load them in any browser.

    And since i haven't mentioned it before, i have 3 other computers on windows 7, an xbox, android tablet, android phone and two DirecTV boxes that are showing no issues.
     
  17. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Check here
    C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc\hosts
    See if you have any entries in the hosts files that may be creating a local host loop an unaltered typical host file will look something like this
    Close all browser. Open control panel, change view by: (upper right corner) to small icons. Open Internet options, select the Connections tab, Click the LAN settings button, uncheck all check boxes, OK your way back out of there and open IE and see if that makes a difference
     
  18. neok182

    neok182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    host file looks just like that.

    Followed instructions and no change. still connected with internet access, pings in CMD work and just get waiting for 'site name'...
     
  19. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Open Task Manager (may have to click the more details arrow)
    Under the processes tab look to see if you have something called mDNSresponder.exe running.
    If so let us know.
    If you open a command prompt and type
    ping "www.google.com" without the quotes, you get for replies with zero packet loss?
     
  20. neok182

    neok182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    I do not see anything with that name running. rebooted and checked again, still not there.

    I get four replies with varying times and 4 packets sent, 4 received lost =0 (0% loss)
     

Share This Page

Loading...