Win8 Shows connected to internet, but unable to load any webpage/app

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Networking' started by neok182, Oct 28, 2012.

  1. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Internet connection issues seem to be one of the more common faults as Os's progress.
    I have to conclude that, in many cases, it is a confliction between Microsoft Oss and the hardware manufacturers, right up to the motherboard people. I have, on a regular basis, two laptops and two desktops in my home. I also have access to several other family computers. The component in my attached picture has been a default installation since, at least, Vista. I have from time to time encountered problems with connections. Without exaggeration, I must say that in every case, disabling this item has always solved the problem. I do not even bother to enquire what, exactly, it does. By default now, on completing a new install, I disable it. - works for me!


    Net.
     
  2. BIGBEARJEDI

    BIGBEARJEDI Honorable Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,778
    Likes Received:
    214
    Hi Neok:

    This is quite a thread, and it appears you've moved on, but I noticed when you uploaded your IP configuration for Trouble to help you with there was a problem in your IP configuration:

    **************************************************************************************************
    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6235
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C4-85-08-3C-79-6D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d0d4:d30f:6b05:5b6f%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.105(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, October 29, 2012 10:38:13 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 12:04:19 PM

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 331646216
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-E4-93-FF-C4-85-08-3C-79-6D
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.42.47.67
    198.4.75.69
    198.4.75.100
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    *************************************************************************************************

    I noticed that your DHCP lease obtained and expired 1 year ago! Your Posts were all in Oct.2013 this year. It seems that your CMOS real-time clock on your ASUS laptop is off by 1 year. This laptop is probably about 3-4 years old, and CMOS batteries can fail during that time. You need to resolve that problem and get the date/time corrected on that laptop. Since your DHCP lease has expired 1 year ago, you're never getting a new IP lease since it's after the Lease Expiration date of Oct. 30, 2012. That little problem can really screw up your networking and especially Wireless networking since it release heavily on DHCP assigned IP addresses.

    As a test, have you tried MANUALLY assigned an IPv4 IP address to your Wireless Adapter? something like 192.168.1.104? that should be within the range specified according to this report. If everyting works with the wireless adapter then I am correct about the Lease expiration issue, and you can never properly get Internet access through DHCP auto-address assignment until you can correct the date/time problem with your netbook's CMOS clock! I've run across this once or twice, and it's a $5 fix for a new Battery. Unless of course you are unlucky like my one Customer I replaced their Battery for in their laptop, and the Motherboard still couldn't keep the date/time as the Motherboard circuitry was toasted. Assuming you don't have this problem, that should fix things for you. :teeth::fdance:

    This is a really weird problem, but I have seen it twice and both times it was in laptops running wireless connections. o_O

    If you decide to try it, please let us know the result so we can share the solution if it works with others here.

    Good Luck, :clover:
    BIGBEARJEDI
     
  3. AK111

    AK111 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, having the same problem but my browser does load the google search page once I type the IP address above. Still no relief. Any assistance is highly appreciated.
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    So, for now try assigning static values manually
    Hold the windows logo key and strike the R key and type ncpa.cpl.
    select then right click the network adapter that you are currently using and choose properties
    select IP version 4 and click the properties button
    near the bottom choose the radio button that says use the following DNS servers and type
    8.8.8.8
    and
    8.8.4.4
    OK your way back out of there and see if that helps
     
  5. Durre

    Durre New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for this! I had exactly the same problem: fine internet connection, pinging worked but webpages did not load. I read your post and went to check out the components listed under the properties of my internet conenction. Even though I have never had Comodo installed, I thought it wouldn't hurt to go ahead and have a look. In the list I noticed that 'OA helper driver' from 'Online armor' (firewall program) was checked. I unchecked this and kabam! My webpages loaded faster and more reliable than ever. I CAN NOT believe that a driver helper from Online Armor had been messing up my DNS, I thought I had finally found some decent firewall software which would not take up half of my processor and would work fine. Their driver is REQUIRED to be installed with the installation of Online Armor on windows 7 (which I have installed).

    I'm going to go over to the forums of emsisoft and try to get the developers of Online Armor to pick up on this issue and debug it. Just to prevent other people with the same issue spending hours and hours trying to find out what's going on. I do not remember having troubles initially when installing Online Armor though, so I wonder why the helper driver did not interfere with DNS back then.
     
  6. xapxinh

    xapxinh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you very much !
     
  7. hami

    hami New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had a similar issue with internet connection. All https pages load but not http websites. Tried everything but no luck. Finally noticed that my browsers were set up to use an automatic proxy. I guess it happened when I tried to connect to a secure network recently. Removed the proxy and everything was back to normal.
     
  8. Dangermouse007

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    What sorted it with me seems to be (its been a few hours since I made the changes)...I've hunted for days about this similar issue to come up with a solution. I entered manual DNS settings of my ISP into my Tp-link TL4300 and it has solved all page loading issues which has only affected my new laptop loaded with win 8!? I have no idea why this would have made a difference. But hey, it seems to have worked so far...
     
  9. CinqMaisons

    CinqMaisons New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it is possible i'd like to know if my choice, legal or illegal win8.1 has anything to do with my problem.All the solutions written above me and my dad tried, the result nothing changed. I got a Samsung 3 series laptop, and multiple devices on our network at home. I got wireless connection but I am not able to do anything on the internet. I've tried to connect to the home-network of my friend. Same problem. Could u guys help me out?

    I look forward to your answer(s)
    Patrick.

    ps i am sorry for my English, Netherlands 15 years old ;-)
     
  10. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    Never use illegal software.


    ...
     
    #50 badrobot, Jun 4, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2014
    davehc likes this.
  11. CinqMaisons

    CinqMaisons New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    well I know that but when i have to pay all the programs i use(d) I would have to pay at least a thousand Euro.
    thanks for the reply, do you have also an answer on the quesion if it matters legal or illigal with this problem.

    \ps al my drivers are up-to-date\
     
    #51 CinqMaisons, Jun 4, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2014
  12. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    Sorry can't help you.
     
    davehc likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...