win8 starts in "Administrator" not in my acc.

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by nichosi, Mar 16, 2015.

  1. nichosi

    nichosi Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    this morning win8 booted in "Administrator" not in my User acc. ,Tried a few times with no change.

    I cannot find an option to change "User".

    Note: I have transferred everything from my 500gb HD to a new 1 Ter. WD HD.

    I just changed HDs to my old 500gb & it booted to my user's acc as it normally did.

    can anybody help? ......thanx .....nick


    Home build, Asus P5K Premium WiFi,Intel,
    Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 95W 2.4GHz, OCZ Vendetta Cpu Cooler, 2x2GB,
    240-pin DIMM, DDR2 800 (400mhz) PC2-6400, EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX KO 512MB
    GDDR3 (PCI-E), WD 1Terra , Corsair TX750M Psu, X45, XPhome/win8.1 64
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    How did you accomplish this task? What method / software did you use to transfer?

    I assume you mean, when you connect the "New" 1 terabyte hard disk that, that is what is booting into "Administrator", and by that I also assume you mean the normally disabled and typically hidden, real "Administrator's" account and not a user account that is a member of the local "Administrators Group".
    AND
    When you replace that drive with your original 500 gigabyte drive everything works as you expect?

    What happens when you log off, do you see a lock screen and then do you see a welcome screen with multiple user accounts which includes "your" user account?

    What happens when you go into Control Panel->Users->Manage Another Account?
    Do you see "your" user account there?
    What happens when you look in C:\Users? Is "your" user profile folder there?
     
  3. nichosi

    nichosi Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you,

    I have to change to the 1Ter. HD to check your question won't be a mo. ........nick
     
  4. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    I was having a similar problem in Windows 10 recently.
    My computer was booting directly into my Administrator account without giving my any options to chose my regular account.

    After checking to see that my personal account was shown in User Accounts I disabled the Administrator account and it then booted into my normal account.

    If it's booting into the hidden Admin account you could try and disable it by opening the Command Prompt as Administrator and typing in...

    net user administrator /active:no

    It's worth a shot.

    Mike
     
  5. nichos

    nichos Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanx Noob

    I think it was Acronis but all worked fine for the last 7 months.
    Yes the WD 1tr. boots into admor.
    Users->Manage Another Account gives admin & guest only.
    Yes original works OK as before.
    Yes in C:\Users is mine "Nick" witheverything in it.
    when I Lock off & wnt to lock in again only Admin again.

    Thanx Mike I typed it in & at once said successful.

    I am in Admin's acc. now , I will reboot & post again the result. ....nick
     
  6. nichos

    nichos Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    On restart only the Admin showed saying is switch oo, contact you admintr ...nick
     
  7. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    If that is the case you won't want to disable the admin account.
     
  8. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    My guess is that somehow your account got disabled.
    Hold the windows logo key and strike the R key and type
    lusrmgr.msc
    and hit enter.
    Double click the users folder and see if there is a down arrow on your account.
     
  9. nichos

    nichos Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Then booted in my dualboot XP & typed it with :YES, rebooted but still cannot get in w8 Admintr .
     
  10. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    If you've done that
    AND
    If I understand correctly..... you can no longer boot into Windows 8
    THEN
    My suggestion would be to boot with the Windows 8 installation media and perform a
    "System Restore" from there to an earlier point in time before you did that.
    not a Reset nor Refresh
    Hopefully that will return your Windows Registry settings and correct the problem.
     
  11. nichos

    nichos Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Tried that & System restore says:- No restore points have been created on your PC 's system drive.

    I have done 7 points & the last 2 in Jan & Feb 15.

    which is the list painfull of the other two?
     
    #11 nichos, Mar 16, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2015
  12. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    We seem to have a bit of a language barrier.
    AND
    That would appear to be a contradiction. You either have them or you don't.
    AND
    With a dual boot system we may be getting into an uncertain area if you proceed from here.
    Dual boots and what they seem to do to restore points always confuses me.
    Of course the most recent one is generally likely to be the most painless but I was hoping for something a bit more current.

    There is another method that you can use to re-enable the hidden Admin Account. It's a bit complicated and involved but it may be worth examining to see if it is something that you are comfortable doing. You may want to print it out as the step by step is very important.
    Have a look at Option Two in this article here .....
    http://www.eightforums.com/tutorials/9650-built-administrator-account-enable-disable-windows-8-a.html
     
  13. nichos

    nichos Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry if I confused you.

    1. I I tried the System Restore but it could not find any Restore Point, although I did created a number of them recently.

    2. Which is the least damaging of these two : Reset nor Refresh

    3. I can not regedit as I can not boot in w8 administrator, I am locked out.

    Any other ideas please?
     
  14. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    You can do the same thing under the repair options -> Trouble Shooting -> Advanced -> Command Prompt
    When you boot with the Installation Media

    EDIT:
    I just did it on my Windows 10 64 bit installation, using a Windows 8 64 bit DVD.
    Worked flawlessly.
     
  15. nichos

    nichos Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    I will try with my DVD as I did for system restore & will post back.

    EDIT, open the C.Prompt now but, how do the regedit editing in the link you gave me earlier.

    Or did you mean you did something else?
     
  16. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    OK.... by all means, keep us posted.
    Just follow the steps exactly in that article I linked to and you shouldn't have a problem.
    As I said, I just did it to test and it worked fine.
     
  17. nichos

    nichos Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Using the advansed options C.Prompt I did earlier the "net user administrator /active :no" but

    I changed it to "yes" & nothing happened, is putting "yes" correct ?
     
  18. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Unfortunately you can't do that from the installation media. It doesn't impact the underlying OS when you perform that command from the DVD
    You need to follow the steps for editing the registry that I linked to and suggested that you print out in my earlier post.
     
  19. nichos

    nichos Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    We crossed postings again.

    I cannot do your link, I cannot get in w8 & use regedit.
     
  20. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Read the article.
    You can simply type "regedit" at the same command prompt from the installation media as you are attempting to correct the net user administrator /active:yes from.
    The net user command won't work for you.
    The registry editor will. If you follow the steps exactly.
     

Share This Page

Loading...