Window 8 activation problem

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by William Viger, Mar 6, 2014.

  1. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    314
    1. is a server or nat harddrive,
    2. is the internet &
    3. is a disc or other harddrive.
    If you need a backup right now then the best would be BD (back-up drive) like Mike suggests.
     
  2. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,046
    Likes Received:
    300
    #42 MikeHawthorne, Mar 22, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2014
  3. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,046
    Likes Received:
    300
  4. William Viger

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello there, so I just bought 2 DVD-R 4.7GB to make the restore,
    While it was copying the files on my CD a page appeared that I needed to change to the second CD (I think) So thats what I did, and then an I had an error saying it crashed and that I needed to close the restore & backup program.
    That is what I did, but now when I get to the Figure A on the tutorial you gave me, there is nothing (blank)
    So i'm kind of stuck there ...

    Thanks you!
     
  5. William Viger

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    314
    Sorry William but I don't know what Figure A is or which tutorial you are referring too. Are you using the windows backup function, acronis or something else?

    Screenshots?
     
  7. Kervin

    Kervin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hi, we shared the same issue before but after i visited sites that offer free technical support that issue was already been resolved. Those sites are tek-micro.com, softwarespeedy.com and software-direct.com, check it out guys and hopefully this one will help you.
     
  8. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,046
    Likes Received:
    300
    Hi Everyone.

    I'm looking at a new Backup Program right now, so far it looks good, I'll report back in a day or two when I've completed my tests, and gotten some feedback from other users.

    It's called EaseUS TODO backup and recovery.

    It looks very easy to use, creates a bootable recovery CD, USB whatever and so far it looks good.
    I've gone as far as making the bootable disk and it works fine.
    It doesn't give you a lot of confusing options just does the basics in simple language.

    I'll let you know.

    Mike
     
  9. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,046
    Likes Received:
    300
    Hi

    After testing EaseUS Todo backup, I'm going to recommend that you try it.
    This was by far the easiest backup software to use that I've seen.

    It gets good reviews, and I made a complete backup of my C:\ drive in 24 minutes.
    It creates a recovery DVD and it booted my computer no problems.

    I would not try and back up your computer to DVDs.

    For me that would be about 20 DVDs even with the compression, it's just not practical.

    Get an external hard drive, at least 500 Gigabytes and back you computer up to that.

    http://download.cnet.com/EaseUS-Todo-Backup-Free/3000-2242_4-10964460.html

    Mike
     
  10. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    314
    Both would be fine but just be aware that these types of drive usually come with their own back up software.
     
  11. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,046
    Likes Received:
    300
    Hi

    They are the same drive, but I often buy stuff at Amazon cheaper then locally.
    I have Amazon Prime so I get free 2 day shipping on everything.

    This drive should work fine, I have a couple of WD external drives and they've always been reliable.

    Once you have your computer backed up to the drive, unplug it and leave it off until you want to update your backup or copy other data to the drive.

    That will protect it from any kind of surge, or malware attack.

    Remember you should use the backup software to make the image of your C:\ drive, but you should back up your important files like Photos, Music Files, Documents etc. by just copying them to the external drive so they can be recovered individually or by folders at any time.

    If you create a master Photo Folder on your computer and put all your photos in subfolders under it, you can update the backup by just copying the master folder to the external drive and telling it to only copy the new files when it asks.

    It will bring the folder up to date with what ever you have added since the last time.

    Mike
     
  12. shristhi jain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. shristhi jain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. shristhi jain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. William Viger

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. William Viger

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I just received my external hard drive, and I made what you asked me to.
    Thanks you for your help guys, I really appreciate it !
     
  17. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,046
    Likes Received:
    300
    Hi

    Good Luck going forward.

    Mike
     
  18. saroj ojha

    saroj ojha New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    when i turn my laptop it shows the follwoing.how to solve it ..
     

    Attached Files:

  19. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    314
    1. You need the internet.

    2. Press [windows key] + [pause]… there will be a activate prompt towards the bottom.

    activate.
     

Share This Page

Loading...