Windows cannot access \\network error code 0x8007035

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by jimbo45, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. jimbo45

    jimbo45 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    41
    Why is it always such a hassle to be able to share files across a LAN
    4 Computers on a Local Lan.
    A) BLACKDOG running VISTA X-64
    B) REDFOX running W7 X-64 (test machine)
    C) BROWNBEAR Running XP Sp3.
    D) BLUEBOAR running W7 X-32
    Workgroup name JIMSVPN
    ALL FIREWALLS and AV software switched off.
    All members of same workgroup with file and printer sharing enabled. Network discovery turned on.
    No duplicate computer names or "Duplicate IP addresses".
    Computer A) the Vista machine can see and access everything on computers B) ,C) and D)
    Computer C) the XP machine can see and access everything on computers A), B), and D)
    Computer D) the W7 X-32 machine can see and access everything on computers A), B) and C).
    Computer B) the W7 X-64 machine can see computers A), C), and D) but can't access anything on them

    Get message for example Windows Cannot access \\BLACKDOG Error code 0x0070035 Network path is not found
    or Windows cannot access \\BROWNBEAR error code as before

    Of course the stupid Diagnostics can't find anything.

    I can Ping computers A), C) and D)
    I can even RDP computers A) and D) from computer C).

    HELP -- any ideas here -- I've even switched network adapters around (Wireless / PC express / USP==>Lan just to eliminate any problems with the LAN card).

    Networking shouldn't be this difficult for a simple home LAN.

    Any ideas anyone.

    Cheers
    jimbo
     
    #1 jimbo45, Feb 3, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  2. llama

    llama New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    let me help

    Easiest way I found is to go to the drive's Properties, select the Security Tab and enable Full Control for Everyone. This worked for me and my buddy also running Win7.
     
  3. cmn

    cmn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    45
    Deleted my post because OP has Turned Off ALL FireWalls which I missed .Regret my oversight.
     
    #3 cmn, May 3, 2009
    Last edited: May 3, 2009
  4. GreyHades

    GreyHades New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well can you ping any computers adress from it?
    if so try typing "\\192.168.1.10" <-- example IP from destination computer could be different.
    just type it in the adress bar instead of "\\BLACKDOG"

    IP should be blackdog´s adress.
     
  5. cmn

    cmn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    45


    On re-reading your well documented post I have two steps to offer
    1. Restart Computer Browser service
    2. Enable NetBIOS over TCP/IP
    Sometimes shutting down all the computers and restarting them would re-establish the function if the problem occurs in a previously normal functioning network. This is the problem of Master Browser "sleeping while on guard duty" situation. The numbered steps above are for a new network setup especially after making a lot of changes.
     
  6. Menno

    Menno New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had the same problem, here's how I solved this: under network properties check if Client For Microsoft Networks is installed or checked. If not use the install button and restart your PC.
    Hope this helps.
     
  7. pdougmc

    pdougmc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you very much. Checking "client for Microsoft Networks" did the trick for me. I had be looking for resolution to this problem for two weeks.
     
  8. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Jimbo45:
    From your original post "B) REDFOX running W7 X-64 (test machine)" "Computer B) the W7 X-64 machine can see computers A), C), and D) but can't access anything on them" Excellent problem....I'm assuming, based on your original post that everything is fine with (netbios over tcp/ip enabled, computer browser service set to auto and running, client for microsoft networks is good) so I'm betting it's either corruption in the local netbios cache on the 64bit win 7 machine, to eliminate this as a potential problem try using \\192.168.nnn.nnn and see if that produces a different result, or try from an elevated command prompt typing nbtstat -RR that should (but not always) purge and reload the local netbios cache. Or finally and probably more likely as cmn hit on in post #5 it is a "Master Browser" election war and you might try bringing the Win7 64bit machine up first, then the Win7 32bit machine leaving off the other two and see if just those two play nice, then introduce the Vista machine and check again, then finally the XP machine if it's pro I know they sometimes insist on being the "Master Browser" and can complicate things. I know there is a way to set behavior for browser/master browser relationships, but I'll have to do some googling to refresh my memory.
     
  9. Adama

    Adama New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check you Helper netbios over Tcp/ip, it must be running. Otherwise if your networking is fine, uninstall and then reinstall client for ms network from your nic.
     

Share This Page

Loading...