Atheros ar5009 loses connection...

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by sazhron, Nov 8, 2010.

  1. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Looks like mDNSresponder.exe again.
    Open services console by typing services.msc into the search box and hit enter
    look for this string
    ##Id_String1.6844F930_1628_4223_B5CC_5BB94B879762##
    double click it
    choose stop and change the startup type to disable.
     
  2. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    lol how did you open that, with WinZip?

    I tried my default WinRar and also Windows Explorer itself and both said it couldn't be opened.

    Anyhow, good find. If that doesn't fix it which it very well might, then check on all the other driver dates and update them as well, like for video, input device, audio, lan network etc...
     
  3. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    7zip.
    I really like it when you do all the hard work and I get to jump in near the end with a probable solution, NICE.:D
    I'll bet that's it, it's starting automatically as a service and was of course in the running tasks. Great work as usual TG, I just saw that you were pretty busy with the BSODs and thought I'd jump in on this one.
     
  4. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Heck yeah, no doubt, it's for sure appreciated. :) Same to you and thanks!
     
  5. sazhron

    sazhron New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Testing this, should I restart too or should it work at instant ?
    Gonna trying pinging hope I won't get timeouts !
     
    #25 sazhron, Nov 9, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2010
  6. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Reboot after.
     
  7. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    clear dns cache
    command prompt
    ipconfig /flushdns
    ping this
    64.233.169.99
     
  8. sazhron

    sazhron New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, seems it reduced a bit the timeouts, now from 100 pings I get only less than 5% loss. And delays around 100ms which is okay. And normal time delays. I am happy at least its reduced :)
    Hope this will work out now when playing games. I will give it a try.
     
  9. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Open the services console again
    type services.msc into search box and hit enter
    scroll as needed to find IP Helper
    double click and choose stop and set the startup type to manual.
    Also consider disabling (unchecking) IPv6 in the properties of your adapter. If you're not using homegroups or direct access or tunneling to a Windows 2008 r2 server, chances are you're not using it.
     
  10. sazhron

    sazhron New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Giving it a try !

    **EDIT: still getting few timeouts, not as first time but still out of 100 5~6 timeouts... and around 20 huge delays.**
     
    #30 sazhron, Nov 9, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2010
  11. sazhron

    sazhron New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did a long time pinging...

    Ping statistics for 62.119.189.4:
    Packets: Sent = 3345, Received = 3268, Lost = 77 (2% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 7ms, Maximum = 858ms, Average = 23ms

    Seems kinda okay, but still weird !
     
  12. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    ping the outside edge of your router. Go to whatismyipaddress.com and ping the ip address that it returns as yours. What are the results?
     

Share This Page

Loading...