Help With Registry!

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by Ninjacatman2009, Apr 25, 2014.

  1. Ninjacatman2009

    Ninjacatman2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    Im just going to jump right in.

    so i was editing the registry to try to fix all of my downloads going to my ssd instead of my hdd and now to cant download anything because it says path not specified and i cannot open certain programs (even the registry itself!) I cannot find anything on how to fix it!

    PLEASE i need urgent help

    thanks
     
  2. Ninjacatman2009

    Ninjacatman2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you need me to explain more just ask
     
  3. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    318
    1. The registry is dangerous place to play around in and has nothing to do with changing where windows puts your downloads… if you really must then always make a backup before changing anything.
    reg.

    2. If it is the registry you edited then the bad news is that there is no simple fix without a backup… have you got any backup image software to work with, even a basic windows system restore point?

    I'd be happy to talk you thought it but first we need to know what you actually are using i.e. windows 8 (64bit) on a such and such laptop... which backup software you have etc.
     
  4. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    Playing around in the registry without a registry backup or system image often ends poorly. Did you try system restore yet?
    Joe
     
  5. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Can you tell us what you did in the registry?

    Have you rebooted after making the change.. If you have not, there may be a way to use the Last Known Good recovery option to replace the registry with a good copy. I just can remember right now if or how you get there is Windows 8.
     
  6. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    I suspect you went here:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer

    If so,and you are in dire straits - no backup,etc, there are a couple of desperate measures you could try.
    First, open "programs and features" in the Control Panel. Up on the left, click "Turn Windows Features on or off"
    Scroll down and untick IE(x -Whatever version you have) Ok it and wait until the action is complete.Reboot and, if the OS does not start the sequence automatically, repeat the above procedure and tick the IE item. Ok again and reboot. See if this has sorted the problem.

    If not, here is a reg file which will return IE registry to its original settings.First export your registry to a known location, so that you can recover it back to the original. Open the attached .zip and click the unzipped file, agree to the warnings. No guarantees, so at you risk. But if your OS has developed serious faults, then maybe worth a try.
    Note. This is only going to have any effect, if it was the entry above that you tampered with.
     

    Attached Files:

    #6 davehc, Apr 26, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2014
  7. Ninjacatman2009

    Ninjacatman2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for all the quick answers i am on a windows 8 computer and running 64bit i went into hkeylocalmachine and thats all i remember sorry. i will try what you guys suggested real quick
     
  8. Ninjacatman2009

    Ninjacatman2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    it wont let me do system restore
     
  9. Ninjacatman2009

    Ninjacatman2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am also using my custom built pc
     
  10. Ninjacatman2009

    Ninjacatman2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes i have already rebooted
     
  11. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    318
    To be blunt; at this point you are looking at a re-install of windows… reserve any important files first and consider it a lesson learnt i.e. always have a back-up plan!
     
  12. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    As long as the machine is booting......
    If you have the installation media (a condition which seems to be getting more and more rare), then you can attempt an inplace upgrade repair. I've done it once on Windows 8 and it worked pretty much the same way it has since Vista.
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2255099
    Takes a while but it might be worth a try.
     
  13. Ninjacatman2009

    Ninjacatman2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    will an inplace upgrade take away my applications?
     
  14. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Generally speaking..... an inplace upgrade repair is non-destructive. So the short answer is no.
    BUT.... I make no guarantees!
     
  15. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    Will the the Windows 7 SP1 disk work with so many Windows updates? In XP if your disk wasn't close to what you had installed the Repair Install would fault. That's how I got into slipstreaming.
    Joe
     
  16. Ninjacatman2009

    Ninjacatman2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok thanks ill try
     
  17. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Since this was posted in the windows 8 sub forum, I thought that the topic involved Windows 8...
    Of course the install media you use for an inplace upgrade repair should be equal to or better than the version you have installed.
     
  18. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    My fault I was thinking of another thread involving Windows 7 and repairing that. Still it would be interesting to know how far out of date the install disk can be from Windows 7 and 8 from Windows Update and still work for the in place upgrade. In XP you had to be within a couple of months to succeed.
    Joe
     
  19. Ninjacatman2009

    Ninjacatman2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    it wont let me open setup in the disk folder
     
  20. Ninjacatman2009

    Ninjacatman2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    do i have to reset to factory?
     

Share This Page

Loading...