Internet Usage Issues After Update

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by Snip3xD, Dec 11, 2014.

  1. Snip3xD

    Snip3xD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's the ipconfig /all now.
    1418330088453581840535.
     
  2. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Can I just confirm you have other devices connecting via the router with no problem.
     
  3. Snip3xD

    Snip3xD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes. My phone is connecting with no issues at all.
     
  4. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Have you got/had Norton on your pc - and whilst scraping barrels/looking for the obvious (please don't hit me!) is there a wireless switch on the laptop?
     
  5. Snip3xD

    Snip3xD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I do have Norton Studios which came with the laptop itself but am currently using Bitdefender if you're talking about anti-virus softwares. Also, there is a wireless button binded to function f12 and it's turned on. It has never caused me any issues since the purchase of this laptop almost one year ago.
     
  6. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    If you delete local area connection 3 does it return?
     
  7. Snip3xD

    Snip3xD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it does come back after I restart my laptop.
     
  8. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Can you access the router and see what ip address allocations it has recorded and to what devices?
     
  9. Snip3xD

    Snip3xD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I searched google but cannot find a way to search for ip address allocations (too confusing for me). I am using a D-Link router and am currently staring at the router page, not knowing what to do...
     
  10. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    If you have "setup" on the top menu and "network settings" on the left those two should show ip addresses allocated at the bottom of the page.
     
  11. Snip3xD

    Snip3xD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found "Number of Dynamic DHCP Clients" at the bottom with IP Addresses. I'll send a photo.
    14183347638761580246311.
     
  12. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Nothing questionable there. Running short of ideas - try removing the wireless adapter from device manager and rebooting to see if Windows picks up on it and re-installs - assuming windows 8 finds it this will overwrite the drive which we installed earlier which presumably wasn't working but see what happens!
     
  13. Snip3xD

    Snip3xD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well Windows definitely reinstalled it, but the problem still persists. Also, I noticed that Hamachi is in my hidden icons most of the time when I restart my laptop even though I specifically disabled it in the startup section of the task manager. I don't think it has anything to do with the issue, but it starts out disconnected.
     
  14. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Using your wired connection can you get a reply using either of the following two commands at a command prompt:

    ping yahoo.com

    ping 98.139.183.24
     
  15. Snip3xD

    Snip3xD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I received a ping from the ip address but not from yahoo.com.
    1418337272320581840535.
     
  16. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    try ping 192.168.0.1
     
  17. Snip3xD

    Snip3xD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got the same amount of replies with 0ms for all values.
     
  18. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Looks like dns lookups are failing. Try setting the dns server address for your wired ethernet connection to 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 the try the two pings again:

    ping yahoo.com

    ping 98.139.183.24
     
  19. Snip3xD

    Snip3xD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exactly the same results as before.

    Update : When I pinged for my own ip address, 198.186.0.1, 4 were sent, none received and all requests were timed out.
     
  20. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    So can we confirm the outcome is:

    We have a lenovo pc with a wired ethernet which can access the internet using IP addresses but cannot handle DNS lookups either using the router address of 192.168.0.1 or the google dns service using either 8.8.8.8 or 8.8.4.4 as DNS server. The lenovo recognises the wireless adapter hardware and installs the driver for it but it cannot connect to the router at all. In summary wired ethernet connects to the router but DNS lookups fail, wireless connection to the router fails completely.

    Three other devices (all phones?) are connecting wirelessly to the router and can all fully access the internet implying that the router is capable of wireless connection and resolving DNS lookups
     

Share This Page

Loading...